Derry to Win
44 (54.3%)
Draw after extra-time
1 (1.2%)

Total Members Voted: 80

marty88

Quote from: Bogball XV on July 12, 2007, 10:43:45 AM
Quote from: marty88 on July 12, 2007, 12:47:06 AM
Paddy bradley's shite, dont even bother marking him lads. We're a fella wilkinson, he's a top top player, thats who you want to be marking.

Seriously, is the game on setanta??
Paddy's not that bad, but you shouldn't be giving the game away Marty, ffs, now they know about our secret weapon, what're we going to do?? 
If Derry lose on Saturday perhaps you'd like to shoulder some of the responsibility and go away and have a long hard look at yourself.

Im glad someone picked up on that bogball XV!!

So os there any chance the game will be on setanta?
"paddy bradley has got that killer instinct a forward wud commit murder for"- Mick O' Dwyer

Quote from: Bogball XV on July 12, 2007, 10:43:45 AM
Quote from: marty88 on July 12, 2007, 12:47:06 AM
Paddy bradley's shite, dont even bother marking him lads. We're a fella wilkinson, he's a top top player, thats who you want to be marking.

Seriously, is the game on setanta??
Paddy's not that bad, but you shouldn't be giving the game away Marty, ffs, now they know about our secret weapon, what're we going to do?? 
If Derry lose on Saturday perhaps you'd like to shoulder some of the responsibility and go away and have a long hard look at yourself.

Feck it Bog
you spilt the beans there- We would have had mayo double team wilko if he was on and free up one of the other boys until you let the cat out of the bag!
:o

Paddy Bradley is probably the best forward in Ireland when he's match-fit, I can see a big performance coming from him on Sunday. Dont think Mayo are a great side they are short in the very important positions.  In saying that Heaney's one of the best defenders about, if he's moved into full-back he'll do a good job on Muldoon.  Still think Derry should just about scrape a tight game sayin we've home advantage.

From BBC

Derry have recalled goalkeeper Barry Gillis for Saturday's All-Ireland qualifier against Mayo at Celtic Park.
Gillis lost his place for last weekend's win over Armagh and his return in place of Shane O'Kane is the only change from that game.
Enda Muldoon does not earn a recall despite his recovery from 'flu with Paddy Crozier keeping faith with Paul Murphy and Colin Devlin.
Conleith Gilligan is also included after being an injury doubt.
However, Oak Leaf captain Kevin McGuckin remains out because of a fractured leg sustained in April.
McGuckin is on his way back after the injury but the qualifier has come too soon for the defender.
Team manager Paddy Crozier rotated the goalkeeping position between Gillis and O'Kane during the National League and he appears to be continuing with that policy judging by his selection on Thursday evening.
The forward line does include a number of positional switches.
Gilligan moves from centre half-forward to top of the left with Paul Murphy taking the number 11 jersey.
Barry McGoldrick switches from left full-forward to right half-forward.
Derry edged out Armagh 0-10 to 0-9 in a thrilling all-Ulster encounter at the weekend.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Derry: B Gillis, M McGoldrick, K McCloy, G O'Kane, L Hinphey, SM Lockhart, F McEldowney, F Doherty, J Conway, B McGoldrick, P Murphy, M Lynch, C Devlin, Paddy Bradley, C Gilligan.

Really fancy Derry to pull this one out of the bag

Looks a string line up with Muldoon to come in if he doesn't start this week.

criostlinn

Clarke, Cunnife,O'Malley, Howley, Heaney, D.Killcullen, T.Mortimer, Harte, D.Brady, Padden, Hanley, Dillon, Mortimer, B.Moran, A.Moran

An awful lot of Ros men playing for Mayo these days >:( >:(
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Bod Mor

Quote from: Rossfan on July 12, 2007, 10:55:26 PM
An awful lot of Ros men playing for Mayo these days >:( >:(
:D They've earned their green and red stripes though!
Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.

Bod Mor

Quote from: criostlinn on July 12, 2007, 10:52:46 PM
Clarke, Cunnife,O'Malley, Howley, Heaney, D.Killcullen, T.Mortimer, Harte, D.Brady, Padden, Hanley, Dillon, Mortimer, B.Moran, A.Moran

Not many surprises there in fairness, Harte was always going to get his place back. Is this the end of Peadar Gardiner now,when was the last time Mayo started a championship game without a Crossmolina man on the pitch? It seems odd that last years county champions don't have a representative on the field, I wonder how many other counties in the country have that boast!

Everyone knows why Padden keeps his place, he tracks back, can tackle, sweeps up loose ball around the middle and provides a link up between backs and forwards.

Its tough to call this match at the weekend. The key battle will be between Conor Mortimer and S M Lockhart, whoever comes out on top of that battle will decide the fate of the match.

Ar aghaidh linn!!

An unusual angle, but Mayo may benefit from the fact that they a playing a team, who six days ago played armagh, in what by all accounts could be described as a tight phyiscal game. Not too many teams have played Armagh in the past ten years and had not a few players sore for a few weeks. (no indicement of Armaghs style, I wish for their sheer intensity, that they were still in. well worth paying to see in my mind)

Any resonable Mayo fan that left croke park last September, did not expect Mayo to win an all-ireland within the next two-to three years, I hope all the tinkering around has at least brought us a little closer to that goal. We will know a lot on Saturday evening.

Not convinced by Howley, cannot get it out of my head, how last year in the league semi-final v Galway in Castlebar, he made some crazy runs up the field and was within 35 yards of the goal , but had no idea what to do and more than once doubled back out the field and lost the ball.

Thankfully, JOM has finally figured out that Gardner is not senior standard. We are still lacking in size,

is macdonald fit enough to play any part in the game.

Bod Mor

Quote from: joemamas on July 13, 2007, 02:16:25 AMNot convinced by Howley, cannot get it out of my head, how last year in the league semi-final v Galway in Castlebar, he made some crazy runs up the field and was within 35 yards of the goal , but had no idea what to do and more than once doubled back out the field and lost the ball.

Emm, this is why Howley is playing at corner back.
He is not there for making runs up the field. I have heard from many who were at the Cavan game that Howley had a stormer, was not afraid to tackle and was solid. This is what we are lacking in our back line for quite some time and it looks like Howley is the answer to alot of our problems. We need someone who can give a good hard fair shoulder and who can tackle.

Quote from: joemamas on July 13, 2007, 02:16:25 AM
is macdonald fit enough to play any part in the game.

If he's not fit enough to start the game its pointless bringing him on, thats the way I look at it. Then again this could be his last championship game involved with the panel  >:(

muscles magoo

Quote from: criostlinn on July 12, 2007, 10:52:46 PM

Who will captain the team in the absence of Gardiner & O'Neill?

What worries me about Howley is that he commits himself early and sometimes gets caught out. I have felt since the All ireland u21 Final against Armagh when he gave an outstanding display that he was definitely one for the future. At least in himself Cunniffe, Trevor, and Heaney we have four backs that are not afraid to get stuck in and will tackle hard. Expect Billie Joe to play in front of the full-back line to compensate for O'Malleys lack of aerial ability.

To me the key to this game is whether Derry score goals. If they score 1 or less I think we will win, 2 or more and we're toast.

StoneWall

I'd be surprised if Heaney doesn't start full back with O'Malley going to the corner and Cunnife to wing back. That would be a big improvement.

David Brady is going to have to seriously up his work rate from the last day. McCabe had way too much time to deliver good quality ball to the full forward line.

muscles magoo

Quote from: Barney on July 13, 2007, 08:07:51 AM
What worries me about Howley is that he commits himself early and sometimes gets caught out. I have felt since the All ireland u21 Final against Armagh when he gave an outstanding display that he was definitely one for the future. At least in himself Cunniffe, Trevor, and Heaney we have four backs that are not afraid to get stuck in and will tackle hard. Expect Billie Joe to play in front of the full-back line to compensate for O'Malleys lack of aerial ability.

To me the key to this game is whether Derry score goals. If they score 1 or less I think we will win, 2 or more and we're toast.

Disagree about Heaney there Barney, I think he is quite poor in the tackle and tends to be drawn into giving away too many frees.