All-Ireland Series Sam Maguire 2026

Started by Blowitupref, May 03, 2026, 06:11:05 PM

cavanmaniac

Quote from: square_ball on May 21, 2026, 12:32:34 PMI can't be the only one to enjoy cavanmaniac appraisals of the state of Cavan football. You can't fault your honesty anyway.

Ah here, sure I can't even say I enjoy them meself!

Quote from: twohands!!! on May 21, 2026, 12:30:02 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on May 21, 2026, 12:17:45 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2026, 08:52:05 AMWestmeath couldn't ask for a better draw, if it was another team you could see the highs of the weekend and the celebrations taking their toll but they should have too much quality for Cavan especially in front of a sold out home crowd.

The only tiny variable that a psychologically brittle and gutless team like Cavan have in their favour, is that they'll be far more comfortable and motivated when dismissed and written off as underdogs, under zero expectation or attention. It'd be in keeping with our ingrained low self-confidence and spiritlessness to locate the fire and gumption we otherwise lack, in external circumstances that the fates construe for us occasionally. They will relish this even more against a neighbouring county whose tails are up, and having a chance to take them down a peg or two (there is no real rancour between the counties, but still). It's also worth remembering that awful though we were against a Monaghan team that rightfully gained a lot of admirers that day and later on, we were somehow still alive in that game until its final knockings.

I'm not in any way saying Cavan will win this, far from it, as Westmeath have been operating on a different celestial plane entirely. But I expect the above, along with our very, very experienced core of players (albeit experienced in failure, mostly) to make Westmeath work hard for it, and it might be a more searching outing for them than the coronation and homecoming most predict.

I might look very foolish after that mouthful a little further down the road, but there it is regardless. 

The other thing is that Westmeath wouldn't be the first "surprise" provincial winner to turn in a flat performance the next day out after their provincil win.

True, but they will be playing in a sold out Cusack Park and will want to put in a performance for the home fans. The likes of Senan Baker and Heslin will be pushing for a start.
Cavan have a number of players carrying injuries including Oisin Brady. He has been Cavans best player this year.

Kerry team named, can imagine a few named on the bench will start come throw in.

downgael2065

Suprising to not see gavin whyte in the squad at all?

AustinPowers

Did Paudie Clifford and Joe O'Connor play in the  Munster final?

jb77

Paudie came off or was forced off at half time, don't think Joe played.

That only 8 of their starting team last year?

Dunneroyal

Long drive tomorrow. But been too long since a game so will be worth, see we gone from slight underdogs to slight favourites. Why the bookies think that I don't know
Hon the royal

Quote from: Dunneroyal on May 22, 2026, 08:20:32 AMLong drive tomorrow. But been too long since a game so will be worth, see we gone from slight underdogs to slight favourites. Why the bookies think that I don't know

That's the money moving the market you lads must be very confident and lumping on!!

jb77

Must be Keegan coming out and saying yous thumped Mayo in a challenge game

Yeah apparently beat Mayo, Wicklow and Tyrone in challenge games over the last few weeks. Obviously you don't want to read too much into it but we know Costello was back playing. Ronan Jones injured again. Jack Flynn and Kinsella are both doubtful. Team will probably be named today L.

Meath:

1. Seán Brennan,

2. Donal Keogan,
3. Seán Rafferty,
4. Brian O'Halloran,

5. Seán Coffey,
6. Bryan Menton,
7. Ciarán Caulfield,

8. Cian McBride,
9. Adam O'Neill,

10. Jack O'Connor,
11. Jordan Morris,
12. Cathal Hickey,

13. Mathew Costello,
14. Eoghan Frayne,
15. Aaron Lynch

Subs: 16. Billy Hogan, 17. Ronan Ryan, 18. Killian Smyth, 19. Charlie O'Connor, 20. Ronan Jones, 21. Keith Curtis, 22. James Conlon, 23. Oisín Martin, 24. James McEntee, 25. Jamie Murphy, 26. Seamus Lavin

- Flynn and Kinsella out
- 3 midfielders Menton, O'Neill and McBride
- Largely the same back line as before is a bit of a worry
- James Conlon still on the bench behind Aaron Lynch is a bit of a head scratcher.

Murphy supposedly starting, Jason McGee, Langan and Gallen on the bench.

Take from that what you will.

Quote from: J70 on May 22, 2026, 12:03:49 PMMurphy supposedly starting, Jason McGee, Langan and Gallen on the bench.

Take from that what you will.

Jimmy's doing colour vision tests now.