Leinster Senior Championship 2026

Started by Dunneroyal, April 05, 2026, 10:18:25 AM

SCFC

Leinster looks wide open for the next few years.
Dublin will improve with O'Callaghan, Murchan, Boylan back.
Meath, Kildare not a million miles away.
Westmeath and Louth will both be out to prove they weren't one hit wonders.
Kinda think we (Laois) aren't terrible either (we hammered Westmeath a couple of months ago!) but terribly inconsistent.

MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Not that I give a shite about any other world events outside Clones but fair play to Westmeath, enjoy it anyone on here. Special special feeling

Dunneroyal

Fantastic scenes in Westmeath last night. Great for football. Hurling gets all the talk but football is truly the crown jewel of the gaa
Hon the royal

Well done to the neighbours. I cannot help but wonder, had they not scored 5 lucky goals in the first half agin us, would the story be somewhat different?

Doyler1

Quote from: Dunneroyal on May 18, 2026, 07:42:29 AMFantastic scenes in Westmeath last night. Great for football. Hurling gets all the talk but football is truly the crown jewel of the gaa
Hardly. Football pays the bills with gate receipts though.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 18, 2026, 07:49:09 AMWell done to the neighbours. I cannot help but wonder, had they not scored 5 lucky goals in the first half agin us, would the story be somewhat different?

mup

Apologies to all the Westmeath fans on here. I wrongly thought the Dubs would beat ye handy.

Congrats on the win. Very refreshing watching you play.

Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 17, 2026, 10:47:05 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 17, 2026, 10:36:53 PMIs that Dessie Dolan's missed sitter free kick v Dublin to win Leinster consigned to the back pages now?

Are you thinking of Dessie Dolan's missed free against Meath ?
That was a Leinster Quarter-Final in 2003.

Congratulations to Westmeath - they won it twice today.

Also think it was against Meath.

Joeythelips

It was a great occasion and well deserved win for Westmeath but was very surprised at the poor standard especially in the first half.

Westmeath were wide open at the back and a ruthless team would have put a few goals on them. I was shocked how poor Dublin were also, they kicked passes straight to Westmeath men and we hitting wides with fisted efforts. The likes of Kerry would murder them.

In fairness to Westmeath it was a huge occasion for them so that probably had a effect and the win will bring them on a lot. I was very impressed with their No 5 who is a very tidy footballer who read the game very well.

JollyGreenGiant

Quote from: Joeythelips on May 18, 2026, 06:41:47 PMIt was a great occasion and well deserved win for Westmeath but was very surprised at the poor standard especially in the first half.

Westmeath were wide open at the back and a ruthless team would have put a few goals on them. I was shocked how poor Dublin were also, they kicked passes straight to Westmeath men and we hitting wides with fisted efforts. The likes of Kerry would murder them.

In fairness to Westmeath it was a huge occasion for them so that probably had a effect and the win will bring them on a lot. I was very impressed with their No 5 who is a very tidy footballer who read the game very well.

Wallace looked as good as any half-back in the country as he marauded forward. Senan Baker was also a game changer for them. And Heslin was the "old dog for the hard road". Connellan also won the midfield battle.

At the game yesterday. Could not believe the fall off of support for the Dubs. The official attendance was down for 36,536. And the vast majority of the fans were from Westmeath.

For a game on their doorstep - it is an incredible fall off in support.

Quote from: From the Bunker on May 18, 2026, 07:42:19 PMAt the game yesterday. Could not believe the fall off of support for the Dubs. The official attendance was down for 36,536. And the vast majority of the fans were from Westmeath.

For a game on their doorstep - it is an incredible fall off in support.

Dublin should go back to playing league games in Parnell Park next year. No need for them to be in Croke Park. They could sell Parnell in the future and develop a bigger ground. No room to expand at Parnell.