The UK Labour Party

Started by lurganblue, November 04, 2025, 11:59:47 AM

Quote from: Hand of God on November 10, 2025, 06:45:28 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 09, 2025, 10:47:09 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on November 09, 2025, 10:10:05 PMThere are many billionaires on this planet. I would say most of them were born into wealth. Certainly when you look at high profile ones, their story is similar. Musk had millionaire parents, his father owned an emerald mine. Bezos grandfather owned 25k acres of land, his parents were able to invest 250k in their son's business 30 years ago. Bill Gates was privately educated and born into a very rich family. Zuckerbergs father owned a dental practice, he was also the recipient of private education.

You really like to perpetuate the cult of a billionaire, that they are people so much smarter and savvy than your average people. They are generally just horrible people who got a head start in life and we're ruthlessly driven in their quest to become as rich, powerful and influential as they have....that's what sets them apart.

Thth couldn't give a damn about screwing people who helped them along the way over. They don't care about shafting their workers, making them and their families homeless or scraping by as they burst their ass for them as they only care about profits.

There's many successful people who entered the world of business who were probably every bit as smart and insightful as these billionaires, only they weren't as horrible of human beings as them.

You keep going on revering these billionaires. I think that level of wealth is grotesque personally.

So as much as your conscience is on point, you are castigating a group of people based on the circumstances they are born into. Broad brush stroke, but hopefully you get an A in your politics exam in the summer.

How am I castigating them? There's just a correlation there that the majority of those who become billionaires had an advantage in life, they have financial support, connections, access to education etc that is beyond the reach of the ordinary person. That's not a castigation, that's a reality. Guys like Trilleac and Milltown clearly like trumpeting the cult of the billionaire - that these guys were just extraordinary people and that is what separates them from the rest.

They don't like you relaying the facts that their origins actually weren't so humble.

Is it unclear?

Hand of God

Quote from: Puckoon on November 10, 2025, 03:23:07 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on November 10, 2025, 06:45:28 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 09, 2025, 10:47:09 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on November 09, 2025, 10:10:05 PMThere are many billionaires on this planet. I would say most of them were born into wealth. Certainly when you look at high profile ones, their story is similar. Musk had millionaire parents, his father owned an emerald mine. Bezos grandfather owned 25k acres of land, his parents were able to invest 250k in their son's business 30 years ago. Bill Gates was privately educated and born into a very rich family. Zuckerbergs father owned a dental practice, he was also the recipient of private education.

You really like to perpetuate the cult of a billionaire, that they are people so much smarter and savvy than your average people. They are generally just horrible people who got a head start in life and we're ruthlessly driven in their quest to become as rich, powerful and influential as they have....that's what sets them apart.

Thth couldn't give a damn about screwing people who helped them along the way over. They don't care about shafting their workers, making them and their families homeless or scraping by as they burst their ass for them as they only care about profits.

There's many successful people who entered the world of business who were probably every bit as smart and insightful as these billionaires, only they weren't as horrible of human beings as them.

You keep going on revering these billionaires. I think that level of wealth is grotesque personally.

So as much as your conscience is on point, you are castigating a group of people based on the circumstances they are born into. Broad brush stroke, but hopefully you get an A in your politics exam in the summer.

How am I castigating them? There's just a correlation there that the majority of those who become billionaires had an advantage in life, they have financial support, connections, access to education etc that is beyond the reach of the ordinary person. That's not a castigation, that's a reality. Guys like Trilleac and Milltown clearly like trumpeting the cult of the billionaire - that these guys were just extraordinary people and that is what separates them from the rest.

They don't like you relaying the facts that their origins actually weren't so humble.

Is it unclear?

None of those cover the circumstances they were born into. They cover their actions as human beings. You are being obtuse and conflating two different things.

Most billionaires were born into families of material wealth and had resources, connections and assistance that ordinary people never had to get to where they are now.

Most billionaires are ruthless and shameless in how they earn they billions. They don't care who they screw over for the power and wealth they gain.

These are 2 completely separate points.

Jesus Christ it's like going round in circles on this thread.

Sean Quinn Didn't come from money, well that i know, and fit make away for himself. Badly over extended himself.Sometimes the chase for power/wealth just becomes a goal in some people's lives.

Hand of God

I'm sure the billionaires appreciate the solidarity from the middle aged squeezed middle GAA dads. They are putting up a brave fight and sacrificing their dignity for the cause.

playwiththewind1st

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 10, 2025, 04:00:44 PMJesus Christ it's like going round in circles on this thread.

Sort of sums up the state of this entire board nowadays.

The whole show has gone to shite & it's a wonder that any sane person engages or bothers with it any longer.

I had asked a while back how to delete my account, but never got an answer. Clearly whoever set it all up, or is supposedly still running it, doesn't even bother anymore.

The original topic was "the UK Labour Party", but look what it has descended into now.

Quote from: Hand of God on November 10, 2025, 12:59:18 PM
Quote from: trileacman on November 10, 2025, 12:42:55 PMHand of God, you're twisting the debate to suit yourself. You said that the billionaires only got success because they came from money and had nothing to do with innovation. That's just bullshit.

You're telling lies. I never said it was ONLY down to that. I said it was a major reason and the correlation is clear, backed up by examples. You are doubling down on misrepresentations now. This is not the first time I've corrected you on that.

The notion that these guys deserve their money and are where they are as they took risks and were innovators etc is preposterous. Musk, Bezos, Trump etc were all born into riches.

Hand of God

Quote from: trileacman on November 10, 2025, 07:21:00 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on November 10, 2025, 12:59:18 PM
Quote from: trileacman on November 10, 2025, 12:42:55 PMHand of God, you're twisting the debate to suit yourself. You said that the billionaires only got success because they came from money and had nothing to do with innovation. That's just bullshit.

You're telling lies. I never said it was ONLY down to that. I said it was a major reason and the correlation is clear, backed up by examples. You are doubling down on misrepresentations now. This is not the first time I've corrected you on that.

The notion that these guys deserve their money and are where they are as they took risks and were innovators etc is preposterous. Musk, Bezos, Trump etc were all born into riches.

And where does that mention only?

Lads to quit arguing over semantics- long story short Trump, Musk, Bezos and the rest are a shower of pricks who screwed plenty of people over to get where they are and are benefitting from other peoples labour. They pay f**k all in tax and give even less of a f**k about me or you.

Stop defending them.

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 10, 2025, 08:21:43 PMLads to quit arguing over semantics- long story short Trump, Musk, Bezos and the rest are a shower of pricks who screwed plenty of people over to get where they are and are benefitting from other peoples labour. They pay f**k all in tax and give even less of a f**k about me or you.

Stop defending them.

No one is defending them.. my brain hurts..

For the craic

Jeff Bezos' tax payments vary, with recent estimates suggesting he paid approximately $2.7 billion in tax for 2024 due to selling a significant amount of Amazon stock. Over a 2014-2018 period, his reported "true tax rate" was about 0.98% on nearly $99 billion in wealth growth, and historical reports note he paid no federal income tax in some specific years like 2007 and 2011.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 10, 2025, 08:45:59 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 10, 2025, 08:21:43 PMLads to quit arguing over semantics- long story short Trump, Musk, Bezos and the rest are a shower of pricks who screwed plenty of people over to get where they are and are benefitting from other peoples labour. They pay f**k all in tax and give even less of a f**k about me or you.

Stop defending them.

For the craic

Jeff Bezos' tax payments vary, with recent estimates suggesting he paid approximately $2.7 billion in tax for 2024 due to selling a significant amount of Amazon stock. Over a 2014-2018 period, his reported "true tax rate" was about 0.98% on nearly $99 billion in wealth growth, and historical reports note he paid no federal income tax in some specific years like 2007 and 2011.
That should annoy people more than it does.

I'd say we'd all love to pay less than 1% tax lol 

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/politics/2025/11/10/rachel-reeves-tax-rises-or-deep-cuts/

Rachel Reeves has hinted she will scrap the two-child benefit cap as she prepares to raise billions of pounds with a manifesto-breaking raid on income tax.

Stop defending them.

For the craic

I would like to know how that was calculated. If it's 99 billion growth in the value of his shares in Amazon business then it's wealth growth that isn't actually taxable. It's only taxable when he goes to sell those shares as that statement notes. Is there a difference in federal income tax and state income tax over in America? I always thought Texans paid no income tax?

Quote from: trileacman on November 10, 2025, 09:31:39 PM

Stop defending them.

For the craic

I would like to know how that was calculated. If it's 99 billion growth in the value of his shares in Amazon business then it's wealth growth that isn't actually taxable. It's only taxable when he goes to sell those shares as that statement notes. Is there a difference in federal income tax and state income tax over in America? I always thought Texans paid no income tax?
Looks to be growth in Amazon/whatever other investments he would have yeah. Anything over 1 billion surely should be taxed to f**k. Who needs it.

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 10, 2025, 10:03:02 PM
Quote from: trileacman on November 10, 2025, 09:31:39 PM

Stop defending them.

For the craic

Looks to be growth in Amazon/whatever other investments he would have yeah. Anything over 1 billion surely should be taxed to f**k. Who needs it.

Depends on the circumstance to be honest. If the business is worth a billion and the owner is pulling down a million a year then tax that million at 40-60%.

The fact many of the American rich list avoid income taxes by taking out loans and living off that debt is just f**king nuts. It's a loophole that should have been closed years ago.