The UK Labour Party

Started by lurganblue, November 04, 2025, 11:59:47 AM

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 08, 2026, 07:22:50 AMWhat time will Starmer resign so?

he is like a cockroach. Would survive a nuclear holocaust that boy

Quote from: tonto1888 on May 08, 2026, 08:33:08 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 08, 2026, 07:22:50 AMWhat time will Starmer resign so?

Get the feeling he's there to take the blame for the tanking they'll get in the locals, problem is who the feck replaces him.

JollyGreenGiant

It's a poor local election result. Leaders survive these all the time. The "Get Starmer Out" is a Reform canard that they deliberately whipped up, even though local elections have zero to do with national leaders. It's misleading at best as even if Reform won every seat, it wouldn't oust Starmer as PM. At very best, it turns up the heat under him.

Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on May 08, 2026, 10:26:21 AMIt's a poor local election result. Leaders survive these all the time. The "Get Starmer Out" is a Reform canard that they deliberately whipped up, even though local elections have zero to do with national leaders. It's misleading at best as even if Reform won every seat, it wouldn't oust Starmer as PM. At very best, it turns up the heat under him.

I don't believe that at all.

JollyGreenGiant

Quote from: RedHand88 on May 08, 2026, 10:38:57 AM
Quote from: JollyGreenGiant on May 08, 2026, 10:26:21 AMIt's a poor local election result. Leaders survive these all the time. The "Get Starmer Out" is a Reform canard that they deliberately whipped up, even though local elections have zero to do with national leaders. It's misleading at best as even if Reform won every seat, it wouldn't oust Starmer as PM. At very best, it turns up the heat under him.

I don't believe that at all.

Reform decided to lead this charge in turning these local elections into a matter of national agenda. If you look at their literature the majority of the pledges are national issues that local councils have no control over (or cannot enforce change from).

Perhaps a bellwether of popularity, rarely enough does a leader step down after a poor set of locals. "Lessons learned" etc.

Snapchap

Quote from: Armagh18 on May 08, 2026, 09:56:29 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 08, 2026, 08:33:08 AM

Get the feeling he's there to take the blame for the tanking they'll get in the locals, problem is who the feck replaces him.

Isn't it obvious who? Just some other horrible, snivelling, morally bankrupt, zionist, tory-esque shill, bought and paid for by Israel, who would quite literally throw his/her granny under a bus in a heartbeat in order to climb the ladder.

And they're off....

"As of early 2026, Reform UK is establishing "Reform Friends of Israel" (RFI) and the "Reform Jewish Alliance" (RJA) to strengthen ties with Israel and engage the Jewish community, positioning itself as a strongly pro-Israel party."

Turquoise Tories as some are calling them, but they are anti-establishment...innit

JollyGreenGiant

Quote from: JoG2 on May 08, 2026, 11:03:42 AMAnd they're off....

"As of early 2026, Reform UK is establishing "Reform Friends of Israel" (RFI) and the "Reform Jewish Alliance" (RJA) to strengthen ties with Israel and engage the Jewish community, positioning itself as a strongly pro-Israel party."

Turquoise Tories as some are calling them, but they are anti-establishment...innit

They are also totally untrustworthy in terms of aiding Ukrainian resistance.

tiempo

Reform have went from 2 council seats to 509. And we're not even halfway there yet.

A sea change, no other way to put it.
Reform are no longer a fringe party, they are completely mainstream with supporters from every walk of life.

Wouldn't it be great if we were completely detached from the intricacies of UK politics and the whim of Tory/Labour and likely Reform governments. If only there was a way to do that.
UI anyone?

playwiththewind1st

Quote from: RedHand88 on May 08, 2026, 01:55:18 PMReform have went from 2 council seats to 509. And we're not even halfway there yet.

A sea change, no other way to put it.
Reform are no longer a fringe party, they are completely mainstream with supporters from every walk of life.

It just shows you how thick as champ & how totally politically illiterate the English truly are. Farage promised them that Brexit would solve every one of their woes & they actually believed him. Meanwhile, he scoops £5 million for his "personal security" from some boy who appears to be domiciled in Thailand & thon other spiv Tice is  running around actively dodging every penny of tax that he can. They really are an extremely unsavoury rabble. The UK is rapidly becoming completely ungovernable.

tiempo

Britain outs itself as a culturally complicit in racism, again

More things change the more they stay the same me thinks

Jews have Israel. It's the future of Britain that I fear for
Successive governments have put placating the country's most bigoted minorities over protecting the most patriotic ones

Gift this article free
Add us as preferred source

A protest organised by the 'Campaign Against Antisemitism' outside Downing Street Credit: TOLGA AKMEN/EPA
Jake Wallis Simons

Jake Wallis Simons is a columnist, broadcaster and foreign correspondent. See more

Published 01 May 2026 4:37pm BST
A Jewish joke. Some years ago, during the "stabbing Intifada" in Israel – during which ordinary Arabs had started knifing their Jewish neighbours at random – I visited an old schoolfriend who now lives with her husband and children in Jerusalem. It was a Friday afternoon, and I asked her about her plans for the evening. "We were going to pray at the Western Wall," she said, "but then we just decided to stab ourselves at home."

That wave of knife violence came to an end around 2016, after rapid security adaptation by Israel. This involved the heavier deployment of police to hotspots; quicker intelligence sharing between agencies; checkpoints and movement restrictions; and fast-response tactics that prevented multiple assaults. Efforts were also made to disrupt online incitement and mobilisation, with content quickly removed from social media, followed by arrests. Deterrents included home demolitions for anybody responsible.

Israeli border police patrol a street following a Palestinian stabbing attack, September 19, 2016 Credit: MENAHEM KAHANA/AFP
Can you imagine Keir Starmer's Britain responding so effectively? Me neither. Thus, after so many years of "globalise the intifada" ringing out across streets and campuses all over the country, is this the beginning of a "stabbing intifada" of our own? And where does that leave the Jews?

After he was heckled in Golders Green yesterday, Starmer emphasised that the community was "scared". I'm sure he meant well, but this only stripped them of their dignity as well as their safety. In truth, the Jews didn't want his sympathy, his platitudes, his "funding" or his tears. They wanted him to grow a spine.

After October 7, 2023, I sent my friend in Israel a message to see how she was coping. According to my phone's records, this was two weeks before Israeli forces invaded Gaza. Even so, the marches were already disgracing London, with police officers posing for pictures with the activists.

"We are fine thank God," she replied. "Bit busy. Work, home schooling and arming ourselves, alongside our neighbours, in case we have to defend ourselves. Kids are helping people who survived or women whose husbands have been called up. At night, it's hard to sleep because I have nothing to distract my mind from going back to the horrific events that started it all. But we are an adaptable lot."

An adaptable lot. Last night, I interviewed Guy Gilboa-Dalal, who was held captive by Hamas for two years, at an event at a Jewish school in London. After the stabbings, security was even tighter than usual. The former hostage, who had been seized at the Nova music festival, described how he was held in a tunnel the width of a chair and starved almost to death, being fed one pitta a day, and on one occasion a bowl of uncooked pasta and cold, brown water.

He described in awful detail how he was beaten by a jihadi he called "no-name". He spoke of how at night – or what he took to be night, as there were no clocks – he would have wonderful dreams of his family, only to awake in despair. The dreams made it all harder, he said.

But he survived, and his message to London's Jews was that we all hold far greater strength than we thought. "We are family," somebody called out from the audience.

Guy Gilboa-Dalal waves to well wishers upon arriving at Beilinson Hospital in central Israel on October 13, 2025 Credit: MENAHEM KAHANA/AFP
Gilboa-Dalal was still in the tunnels in September 2025 when, 2,000 miles away, our Prime Minister recognised a State of Palestine. Starmer did not demand the release of the hostages before appeasing their captors; neither did he require Ramallah to stop paying reward money to convicted terrorists, nor to remove anti-Semitic textbooks from their schools. Britain's prize was offered cost-free. Hamas officially thanked Starmer, calling Britain's decision "the fruits of October 7". Eleven days later, two Jews were murdered in Manchester and David Lammy was heckled when he offered his condolences.

So to Golders Green. As I write, Husam Zomlot, the State of Palestine's ambassador to Britain, has not responded to the attacks on X. Instead, he has shared a video of himself being named "Diplomat of the Year" at a ceremony in London.

This was the heart of the community in which I grew up. One of the stabbings took place outside Hager's, a synagogue I recall from my childhood. The victim on that occasion, Shloime Rand, is a friend of a family member and they had studied together the night before the attack. He sustained a wound to the chest, while the other victim, Moshe Shine, was stabbed in the neck. By that evening, however, both were walking and talking in hospital. There are hopes that they will be discharged in time for Shabbat.

Moshe Shine, 76, was stabbed in the neck in Golders Green
What can I tell you on behalf of Anglo-Jewry? Many in the community feel that they don't have a voice, particularly the Orthodox. Of course, Jews are no monolith, and they span a wide spectrum of political and religious views, with the Left-wing fringes even supping on the Zack Polanski Kool-Aid. But if the centre of gravity lies anywhere, it is in the square mile where I lived as a child, among the so-called "visibly Jewish". These are the people who are first in the firing-line. These are the ones who are emigrating the fastest. And these are the people who heckled the Prime Minister.

Jews, as the late Rabbi Lionel Blue once remarked, are "like everyone else but more so". Everybody is everybody's business. Social conventions dominate every aspect of life – I hear he's changed his velvet kippah for a knitted one. I hear they're going to Israel for Passover. I hear they're getting married finally. Yes, I know a good builder. Is that for charity? Are Mrs Ellwood's pickles kosher now? Can you move out of the way please? People talk louder, open their front doors wider, have more children, celebrate communally and look over their shoulders in the street.

Some people say they're rude, and perhaps that is sometimes true, but the best way to understand it is that they tend to treat you like family.

Jews are also deeply patriotic. My Jewish grandfather, who was hugely proud of serving for the RAF in the War, was typical. It has been some years since I attended a Sabbath service, which invariably takes place against the hum of gossip (and the occasional SSSSH!), but once you have passed through security and sat through the Torah reading, there is always a prayer for the Royal family, the only part that is recited in English.

These are the people who have been betrayed by Britain. The awful truth is that successive governments have preferred to placate the country's most bigoted minorities rather than protect its most patriotic ones. Can nobody draw a line between the jihadis of Hamas and those who blew up the Manchester Arena and the Tube, or who stabbed people on London Bridge? Does nobody draw the obvious conclusion when the statue of Winston Churchill is defaced by Gaza thugs, or when they attack RAF Brize Norton? Did the Prime Minister, who expended far more energy criticising Israel during the war than condemning Hamas, not understand that he was emboldening the enemy?

Sir Keir Starmer, Sir Mark Rowley and Shabana Mahmood speaking with members of the Jewish community during a visit to Golders Green Credit: Stefan Rousseau/PA Wire
Truly, Britain has been fanning the flames with one hand and funding more fire extinguishers with the other. In addition to Israeli-style security measures, we need a counter-propaganda campaign to overcome incitement in universities and schools, the NHS, the media and the arts, the Civil Service and even Parliament. We need to suppress the hate marches, starting with a moratorium, as Jonathan Hall KC, the independent reviewer of terror legislation, has argued.

We need systemic reform – a dedicated anti-Semitism unit for the CPS, for instance, as former attorney general Michael Ellis has proposed – and we need no-questions-asked deportations of foreign nationals who offend. We need an end to uncontrolled immigration, both legal and illegal, a robust programme of assimilation, and careful measures to suppress extremist entryism. We need to crack down on dodgy charities. We need to ban the Muslim Brotherhood, the Revolutionary Guards and other terror groups, and a revolution in education that restores our sense of national pride.

But now I'm doing Starmer's job for him. Don't get me wrong: it isn't the Jews who need all this. They may be first in the firing line, but there is a reason they have survived for thousands of years. We've got Israel. It is the future of Britain and the West that is the worry.

Politics
Incisive analysis on the state of the nation with Annabel Denham and Allister Heath, delivered to your inbox Monday to Saturday

Zionism is malignant narcisst

The zmodel is Darvo
Deny attack treverse victim and offender. So they attack the Greens. Israeli Jews become victi  and greens are the Nazis

Genocide Organ

Quote from: tiempo on May 08, 2026, 02:55:42 PMBritain outs itself as a culturally complicit in racism, again

More things change the more they stay the same me thinks

Yawn.

Glad to see Restore got 10 seats out of 10.