Ulster Club IFC/JFC 2025

Started by DownFanatic, September 22, 2025, 01:57:28 PM

Dreadnought

Quote from: general_lee on November 24, 2025, 11:30:36 AMArva playing Division 1 and winning Junior All Ireland, (then reaching the Ulster IFC final the following year) Glenullin playing Intermediate and winning 3 out of the last 4, including back to back.

I don't care if individual counties let clubs continue to play in lower championship grades relevant to their league status, if it works in that county then fair enough... but there should be some basic prerequisites at provincial level to stop teams that are clearly decent senior sides within their own county getting easy runs at junior/intermediate provincial level
Furthermore Arva got relegated to Junior in 2021, lost a Junior final in 2022. No matter what way you try and spin League results (obsessed) they deserved to be in Junior when they were there. All that happened was they got a few lads back from injury and emigration, a few youth and that's it. It's a tiny club really and not a big panel and your words here and saying cheating is pure filth against players who had to pull themselves up from there. You actually need to wise up here, years now after it. Just drop it now and stop

bringbackdregish

Quote from: Dreadnought on November 24, 2025, 11:34:00 AM
Quote from: general_lee on November 24, 2025, 11:30:36 AMArva playing Division 1 and winning Junior All Ireland, (then reaching the Ulster IFC final the following year) Glenullin playing Intermediate and winning 3 out of the last 4, including back to back.

I don't care if individual counties let clubs continue to play in lower championship grades relevant to their league status, if it works in that county then fair enough... but there should be some basic prerequisites at provincial level to stop teams that are clearly decent senior sides within their own county getting easy runs at junior/intermediate provincial level
Blah blah blah blah

You still won't listen. IT'S BASED ON CHAMPIONSHIP RESULTS. WHAT CAN'T YOU UNDERSTAND?

Cavan man gets annoyed because they have sandbaggers playing in lower divisions. Relax

Dreadnought

Quote from: bringbackdregish on November 24, 2025, 11:53:50 AM

Blah blah blah blah

You still won't listen. IT'S BASED ON CHAMPIONSHIP RESULTS. WHAT CAN'T YOU UNDERSTAND?

Cavan man gets annoyed because they have sandbaggers playing in lower divisions. Relax
They don't though, that's the point

The only thing that is clear from this thread is that the vast majority of the people posting on it have not watched ANY of the games in either Junior in intermediate this year. Or any other year for that matter.

Blah blah blah blah

Imagine the team that finished fourth in Division 1 in Tyrone (Loughmacrory) Armagh (Crossmaglen) Monaghan (Scotstown) or Down (Clonduff) were allowed to play intermediate. At least these counties have some integrity.

SouthOfThe Bann

If Cavan sent their strongest team from each league division like you guys are proposing; the quality of team would be arguably alot higher.

Best team in Divison 3 this year would be Denn; who won Ulster Junior 3 or 4 years ago; they would be a significantly better team than the Munchies who won it this year.

And instead of Cuchullains we could get Division 2 Kilygarry to Represent us or Division 2 Ballyhaise who have both been in Senior County Finals and Ulster Intermediate Finals in recent years.

Division 2 Ballyhaise threw away a 12 point lead v Kingscourt in the Senior championship quarter final who were the eventual winners this year. Would you prefer if we got them to represent us at intermediate?

Dreadnought

Quote from: general_lee on November 24, 2025, 12:12:48 PM

Blah blah blah blah

Imagine the team that finished fourth in Division 1 in Tyrone (Loughmacrory) Armagh (Crossmaglen) Monaghan (Scotstown) or Down (Clonduff) were allowed to play intermediate. At least these counties have some integrity.
Why the League obsession? That seems to be your only comeback. League. That's all you have?

Look-Up!

I see no one was brave enough to answer my question direct but that's ok.

I've tried reading through the posts and I'm trying to understand the seeding but Tyrone logic is not easy. But by my reckoning Clonoe were relegated to intermediate based on 2024 league results, 4 competitions ago. Even though they very obviously would have gave the AI senior a rattle last year and ran away with the league this year? Strange in a charming/quirky way I suppose.

Genuine question. Is it always the year before league determines or do they put random years into a pot and draw lots? I think that could be a very interesting format. Maybe someone could look into this.

Duine Inteacht Eile

As it happens, they were beaten in the relegation playoff after Errigal put them out of the championship.

Surely it's standard for clubs to know what championship they are in at the beginning of the season? Does this not happen in Cavan?

ClubScene13

Quote from: Look-Up! on November 24, 2025, 12:25:47 PMI see no one was brave enough to answer my question direct but that's ok.

I've tried reading through the posts and I'm trying to understand the seeding but Tyrone logic is not easy. But by my reckoning Clonoe were relegated to intermediate based on 2024 league results, 4 competitions ago. Even though they very obviously would have gave the AI senior a rattle last year and ran away with the league this year? Strange in a charming/quirky way I suppose.

Genuine question. Is it always the year before league determines or do they put random years into a pot and draw lots? I think that could be a very interesting format. Maybe someone could look into this.

You are an absolute clown sir no harm to you. Dreadnought and SotB I would take your points all day here, I'd also be willing to get my head round how your system works. What I wouldn't have is Tyrone county board are supposedly cheating with their 17th best team playing in Ulster, are you dense?

The county men play 10 league games out of 15, that's how a good team can go down after giving it hell for leather for 15 games trying to survive. Are you suggesting teams are taking the league in second gear when they know it will determine what grade they play their championship football in? A league that county men don't participate in I would hear your point, but you're a wind up merchant who hasn't a clue

Look-Up!

Quote from: ClubScene13 on November 24, 2025, 12:33:35 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on November 24, 2025, 12:25:47 PMI see no one was brave enough to answer my question direct but that's ok.

You are an absolute clown sir no harm to you. Dreadnought and SotB I would take your points all day here, I'd also be willing to get my head round how your system works. What I wouldn't have is Tyrone county board are supposedly cheating with their 17th best team playing in Ulster, are you dense?

The county men play 10 league games out of 15, that's how a good team can go down after giving it hell for leather for 15 games trying to survive. Are you suggesting teams are taking the league in second gear when they know it will determine what grade they play their championship football in? A league that county men don't participate in I would hear your point, but you're a wind up merchant who hasn't a clue
Oooohhhhh

Quote from: Dreadnought on November 24, 2025, 12:21:26 PM

Blah blah blah blah

Why the League obsession? That seems to be your only comeback. League. That's all you have?
Do you think Division 1 counties should be allowed to play in the Tailteann Cup?

Dreadnought

Quote from: general_lee on November 24, 2025, 01:07:47 PM
Quote from: Dreadnought on November 24, 2025, 12:21:26 PM

Blah blah blah blah

Do you think Division 1 counties should be allowed to play in the Tailteann Cup?
Is that the only option? It's 2 Championships, and 4 League Divisions. It's nothing comparing like for like with county structures for theirs. You can't come talking about 3 Divisions and 3 Championships in Counties and then try and compare 4 Leagues and 2 Championships to try make a point. Also very telling you avoided my question and point about the Cavan Championship being so transparent

Also, are Division 1 counties playing games without a set number of players?

Furthermore, if you are making this point, you need to look at it backwards too. Why are some Senior Championship level teams dropping a level only due to League placings? Again, you cannot have this both ways

Look-Up!

Stop engaging with these WUMs Dreadnought, they're not on the level. Poor auld Clubscene13, after straining himself. Years of trying "to get his head around" our system he's after blowing a gasket.

General_lee massive piss taker.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 23, 2025, 07:47:21 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on November 23, 2025, 07:36:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 23, 2025, 06:24:48 PMYou keep coming back so all good, shite Ulster campaign as usual  ;D
Did I see you slagging state of Omagh pitch?  :D  :D   :D  move it to Casement  8)

Casement in its current form would still be better than that bog lol
Omagh is a bog no doubt but has hosted load games this year... Casement a reflection of the state of Antrim club and county standard.. tumbleweed.