Club Championships 2025

Started by SouthOfThe Bann, July 29, 2025, 11:06:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

highorlow

#810
All talk about frees and handing ball back is irrelevant when what is certain is the ref only brought the free up 40 yards. Go to the video and count the refs steps 32 steps, he also ran straight from where he was so it should've been a free from inside the arc and closer to sideline.

A draw would've been a fair result and it's not surprising Dingle haven't offered a replay when every other team in the country would have. That's the Kerry lads for ya!

https://x.com/SmallerFishGAA/status/1998027107180712176?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet


Also, were Barrs better off having another protest at the ref before the free was taken? Would the rule then have been a 14 yard free in front of posts?

Hindsight but if that is the rule it'd have been a guaranteed draw and another day out for them at least.


They get momentum, they go mad, here they go

Rossfan

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Captain Obvious

Quote from: blanketattack on December 09, 2025, 11:14:15 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 08, 2025, 11:19:33 PMThe Barrs player with the ball chucked the ball over the Dingle player's shoulder who came to get it, it caused at most a split second delay, if any. Regardless, doesn't the rule only refer to the player who did the foul and was in possession of the ball, who must hand it back to the nearest opposition player, it doesn't refer to other players who just happen to have the ball in hand.


The 50m punishment wasn't for handing the ball back too slowly, it was because after the ref blew a free for Dingle and the ball was loose, the Barrs player grabbed the ball.
This is one of the reasons the rule was brought in in the first place - it was very common, when the ref blew for a free and the ball was loose, the opposition player would grab the ball to stop the opponent taking a quick free.

You could argue the Barrs player thought the whistle was for a free for his team, but intent doesn't come into it, every player could argue "Oh! I thought it was our free".
Plus the ref was very clear. He immediately signalled the over-carrying gesture and pointed to the Barrs goalposts.
With the current rules, every player should have the discipline not to pick up a loose ball after the whistle has been blown until they've checked which team has received a free.
Under the current rules, the ref got the decision correct w.r.t. moving the ball 50m forward. He even measured the distance spot on.
However the free for overcarrying is dubious, not that I think he was fouled- I just don't think Maguire took too many steps.

You also can't barge into a player after a free is given under the current rules. Measured the distance spot on? Watch it back, highorlow has already pointed out that error.

Milltown Row2

Quote from: highorlow on December 09, 2025, 11:47:11 AMAll talk about frees and handing ball back is irrelevant when what is certain is the ref only brought the free up 40 yards. Go to the video and count the refs steps 32 steps, he also ran straight from where he was so it should've been a free from inside the arc and closer to sideline.

A draw would've been a fair result and it's not surprising Dingle haven't offered a replay when every other team in the country would have. That's the Kerry lads for ya!

https://x.com/SmallerFishGAA/status/1998027107180712176?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet


Also, were Barrs better off having another protest at the ref before the free was taken? Would the rule then have been a 14 yard free in front of posts?

Hindsight but if that is the rule it'd have been a guaranteed draw and another day out for them at least.




The rule for 50m for infringement, if the free is outside the 40m arc the the ref can bring it in as far as the 14 if that is within the 50m.. but the player has the option to take the free from outside the arc if he chooses to have a go at a two pointer.

If a free or infringement happens inside the arc it cannot be brought outside the arc, it can be from where the free is or if an infringement inside the arc brought to in front of the goals on the 14.

If we don't know the rules at this stage I don't know what to say!!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

tonto1888

Quote from: highorlow on December 09, 2025, 11:47:11 AMAll talk about frees and handing ball back is irrelevant when what is certain is the ref only brought the free up 40 yards. Go to the video and count the refs steps 32 steps, he also ran straight from where he was so it should've been a free from inside the arc and closer to sideline.

A draw would've been a fair result and it's not surprising Dingle haven't offered a replay when every other team in the country would have. That's the Kerry lads for ya!

https://x.com/SmallerFishGAA/status/1998027107180712176?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet


Also, were Barrs better off having another protest at the ref before the free was taken? Would the rule then have been a 14 yard free in front of posts?

Hindsight but if that is the rule it'd have been a guaranteed draw and another day out for them at least.




what team wouldhave offered a replay

JoG2

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 09, 2025, 01:48:44 PM
Quote from: highorlow on December 09, 2025, 11:47:11 AMAll talk about frees and handing ball back is irrelevant when what is certain is the ref only brought the free up 40 yards. Go to the video and count the refs steps 32 steps, he also ran straight from where he was so it should've been a free from inside the arc and closer to sideline.

A draw would've been a fair result and it's not surprising Dingle haven't offered a replay when every other team in the country would have. That's the Kerry lads for ya!

https://x.com/SmallerFishGAA/status/1998027107180712176?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet


Also, were Barrs better off having another protest at the ref before the free was taken? Would the rule then have been a 14 yard free in front of posts?

Hindsight but if that is the rule it'd have been a guaranteed draw and another day out for them at least.




The rule for 50m for infringement, if the free is outside the 40m arc the the ref can bring it in as far as the 14 if that is within the 50m.. but the player has the option to take the free from outside the arc if he chooses to have a go at a two pointer.

If a free or infringement happens inside the arc it cannot be brought outside the arc, it can be from where the free is or if an infringement inside the arc brought to in front of the goals on the 14.

If we don't know the rules at this stage I don't know what to say!!

I think you've picked him up wrong.. If the ref had taken the ball in closer, say to the 20m, the Player would have most likely tapped it over and taken the draw, rather than risk the 2 pointer and lose

Armagh18

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 09, 2025, 01:48:44 PM
Quote from: highorlow on December 09, 2025, 11:47:11 AMAll talk about frees and handing ball back is irrelevant when what is certain is the ref only brought the free up 40 yards. Go to the video and count the refs steps 32 steps, he also ran straight from where he was so it should've been a free from inside the arc and closer to sideline.

A draw would've been a fair result and it's not surprising Dingle haven't offered a replay when every other team in the country would have. That's the Kerry lads for ya!

https://x.com/SmallerFishGAA/status/1998027107180712176?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet


Also, were Barrs better off having another protest at the ref before the free was taken? Would the rule then have been a 14 yard free in front of posts?

Hindsight but if that is the rule it'd have been a guaranteed draw and another day out for them at least.




The rule for 50m for infringement, if the free is outside the 40m arc the the ref can bring it in as far as the 14 if that is within the 50m.. but the player has the option to take the free from outside the arc if he chooses to have a go at a two pointer.

If a free or infringement happens inside the arc it cannot be brought outside the arc, it can be from where the free is or if an infringement inside the arc brought to in front of the goals on the 14.

If we don't know the rules at this stage I don't know what to say!!
I suppose if they'd yapped more then the ref couldve brought it to the 14 and at least left the choice there to take a handy point for a draw or opt to go for a tough kick for a win.

Main Street

#817
Quote from: blanketattack on December 09, 2025, 11:14:15 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 08, 2025, 11:19:33 PMThe Barrs player with the ball chucked the ball over the Dingle player's shoulder who came to get it, it caused at most a split second delay, if any. Regardless, doesn't the rule only refer to the player who did the foul and was in possession of the ball, who must hand it back to the nearest opposition player, it doesn't refer to other players who just happen to have the ball in hand.


The 50m punishment wasn't for handing the ball back too slowly, it was because after the ref blew a free for Dingle and the ball was loose, the Barrs player grabbed the ball.
This is one of the reasons the rule was brought in in the first place - it was very common, when the ref blew for a free and the ball was loose, the opposition player would grab the ball to stop the opponent taking a quick free.

You could argue the Barrs player thought the whistle was for a free for his team, but intent doesn't come into it, every player could argue "Oh! I thought it was our free".
Plus the ref was very clear. He immediately signalled the over-carrying gesture and pointed to the Barrs goalposts.
With the current rules, every player should have the discipline not to pick up a loose ball after the whistle has been blown until they've checked which team has received a free.
Under the current rules, the ref got the decision correct w.r.t. moving the ball 50m forward. He even measured the distance spot on.
However the free for overcarrying is dubious, not that I think he was fouled- I just don't think Maguire took too many steps.

I think it's more obvious that the nr5 was penalised for not "handing the ball back in full" to the nearest opposition player, it was when the ball (clumsily) hit the floor  that the ref made the bring the ball forward motion.
The least likely is that nr 5 was penalised for picking the ball up of the ground.


Re the hand it back rule, on hearing the whistle the  player in possession should just have to  simply place the ball on the spot on the ground and get the hell out of dodge if the foul is against him.




Blowitupref

Quote from: JoG2 on December 09, 2025, 01:58:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 09, 2025, 01:48:44 PM
Quote from: highorlow on December 09, 2025, 11:47:11 AMAll talk about frees and handing ball back is irrelevant when what is certain is the ref only brought the free up 40 yards. Go to the video and count the refs steps 32 steps, he also ran straight from where he was so it should've been a free from inside the arc and closer to sideline.

A draw would've been a fair result and it's not surprising Dingle haven't offered a replay when every other team in the country would have. That's the Kerry lads for ya!

https://x.com/SmallerFishGAA/status/1998027107180712176?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet


Also, were Barrs better off having another protest at the ref before the free was taken? Would the rule then have been a 14 yard free in front of posts?

Hindsight but if that is the rule it'd have been a guaranteed draw and another day out for them at least.




The rule for 50m for infringement, if the free is outside the 40m arc the the ref can bring it in as far as the 14 if that is within the 50m.. but the player has the option to take the free from outside the arc if he chooses to have a go at a two pointer.

If a free or infringement happens inside the arc it cannot be brought outside the arc, it can be from where the free is or if an infringement inside the arc brought to in front of the goals on the 14.

If we don't know the rules at this stage I don't know what to say!!

I think you've picked him up wrong.. If the ref had taken the ball in closer, say to the 20m, the Player would have most likely tapped it over and taken the draw, rather than risk the 2 pointer and lose

Correct, Conor Geaney didn't have the option of a one point free from where the ref brought the ball up to.
Is the ref going to finally blow his whistle?... No, he's going to blow his nose

gallsman

Yes, the argument people are putting forward is that the ref didn't bring it forward enough, and consequently, if he had brought it forward enough, Geaney would have been content to tap over a one pointer.

Milltown Row2

The ref brought it to where he thought was 50 meters, but we don't know what Geaney would have done had the ref brought it further, as he still could have opted for the 2 pointer with the wind, they did take a few in the second half so within their range.

If you had a player in your team capable of taking a two pointer, and this one to win the game, do you take the safe option of a one pointer or go win the Munster final?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Armagh18

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 09, 2025, 04:21:21 PMThe ref brought it to where he thought was 50 meters, but we don't know what Geaney would have done had the ref brought it further, as he still could have opted for the 2 pointer with the wind, they did take a few in the second half so within their range.

If you had a player in your team capable of taking a two pointer, and this one to win the game, do you take the safe option of a one pointer or go win the Munster final?
Impossible to know what he'd have done- you'd need to be a ballsy f**ker to go for the 2 pointer!!

Main Street

Quote from: Armagh18 on December 09, 2025, 04:25:23 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 09, 2025, 04:21:21 PMThe ref brought it to where he thought was 50 meters, but we don't know what Geaney would have done had the ref brought it further, as he still could have opted for the 2 pointer with the wind, they did take a few in the second half so within their range.

If you had a player in your team capable of taking a two pointer, and this one to win the game, do you take the safe option of a one pointer or go win the Munster final?
Impossible to know what he'd have done- you'd need to be a ballsy f**ker to go for the 2 pointer!!
I thought it was the equivalent of the ref asking a leading question by stopping his forward run before the arc.
There is no way to guess what Geaney would have chosen to do had the ref dandered a bit further with the ball, in the same vein we don't know what would have transpired in Dingle's last play  had the ball not been brought forward.
The ref called it as he saw it, I don't think he did a lot wrong, the Cork player was going to ground before he was helped by a push on his way down, nr 5 didn't hand the ball back to the nearest player and should a ref be required to have a natural laser measuring ability for exact 50m measurement?





Joeythelips

Rules are there to be implemented by the ref and he has to use some discretion. To me it was an horrendous call. The Barrs lad picked it up after the whistle was blown (but it was not totally clear which side it was blown for). Even then he essentially released the ball immediately.
I know people will say rules are rules, but if you look at any game of hurling or football and blew for every infringement on the pitch by the letter of the law, then the whistle would never leave your lips. A referee has to use their judgement and some cop on, it was lacking for that call in my opinion.

Rossfan

Ref saw rule being broken and implemented the penalty.

C'est le vie....
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.