Laois SFC 2025

Started by Karate kid, July 21, 2025, 11:22:00 AM

The PRO

Saw Rosenallis v Ballyfin online.
Ballyfin look to be in big trouble. Hard to see where they get a win from unless they do like last year and take out someone in the relegation final.
Rosenallis unlucky to draw Port - think they'd have given a good account of themselves against the likes of Killeshin or Courtwood.

Junior Ex Laoistalk

Quote from: redsetanta on August 11, 2025, 01:00:08 PMFair play to Graigue on their win.

The big thing for Graigue is to repeat that sort of a performance/result at the business end of the championship and get to a final and win one.

True, they are the most underachieving club in Laois for the past 30 years or so. When you think of the footballers they have produced throughout the years yet nothing to show for it, it really strange how they havn't won at least one title. It seems to be a mental thing with them at all levels. I don't have figures but they have reached numerous semi finals and finals from minor up to senior yet you could count on one hand the number of titles they have.
Personally I wouldn't begrudge them winning it this year and the way they are playing they have every chance. They need to get Forbes into the game a lot more, he is a confidence player and could add an awful lot more to the team if he got going.
Winners are not those who never fail, but those who never quit!

Tintin84

Clifford Ward is definitely the worst referee in the championship absolutely horrendous today, if Killeshin had of lost that game today 100% blame him...

Hon d parish

Quote from: Tintin84 on August 24, 2025, 03:32:50 PMClifford Ward is definitely the worst referee in the championship absolutely horrendous today, if Killeshin had of lost that game today 100% blame him...

He gave the heath nothing in the first half but i suppose the killeshin supporters are hard listen too he had to give them something.In fairness he is not the worst. Des Cooney is the worst in the county by a country mile.

Smellyball

Quote from: Smellyball on August 11, 2025, 01:51:32 PMI had my predictions typed up last week but forgot to post them, here they are.
Didn't see any results over the weekend, must go check how accurate my scores were.

Stradbally v Emo - Emo by 4
Crettyard v O'Dempseys - ODs by 8
Ballyfin v Rosenallis - Rosenallis by 22
Arles Killeen v Killeshin - Arles by 1
Portlaoise v St Joseph's - PLaoise by 1
Courtwood v Ballyroan Abbey - BA by 2
Portarlington v Graiguecullen - Graigue by 2

Only catching up on the action now, by jaysus some goin with those predictions

The PRO

Poor enough stuff across the four Round 3 games this weekend.
Joseph's and Port comfortable on Saturday.
Killeshin and Courtwood much the better teams on Sunday but both made hard work of it.

Ballybrittas Boy

Emo gave it a right lash on Saturday. Fair play to them. Down Davy Costello and Paddy Hosey hardly able to walk, they went toe to toe with Joseph's but probably just ran out of steam. Keogh is some footballer for Joes. Really wonder how he never quite made it at senior inter county. Pat Kirwan showed his class too but Emo's defence was far too porous.
O'Dempseys have gone back a lot unfortunately. The manager not coming on board until the end of the Laois under 20 campaign was a bad start. League was poor too.
Mark Barry tried hard but well held by Courtwood defence. Fionn Holland also gave a good display and Stevie Lennon.
For Courtwood, thought Tyrell was exceptional. O'Flynn too but he's always an 8 out of 10 player. Be interesting to see how they get on against Portlaoise.

Karate kid

Quote from: Tintin84 on August 24, 2025, 03:32:50 PMClifford Ward is definitely the worst referee in the championship absolutely horrendous today, if Killeshin had of lost that game today 100% blame him...

I didn't see this game but I won't agree with anyone's opinion on the worst referee unless it's Mick Tarpey. End of discussion.

SCFC

Quote from: Karate kid on August 26, 2025, 02:56:28 PMI didn't see this game but I won't agree with anyone's opinion on the worst referee unless it's Mick Tarpey. End of discussion.

Ah lads - having a pop off refs from behind an anonymous name is really poor. Refs have good and bad days too but those two lads are in the top7 or 8 refs in the county and that's why they're getting senior games.

Joeythelips

Quote from: SCFC on August 29, 2025, 01:19:09 PM

Quote from: Karate kid on August 26, 2025, 02:56:28 PMI didn't see this game but I won't agree with anyone's opinion on the worst referee unless it's Mick Tarpey. End of discussion.

Ah lads - having a pop off refs from behind an anonymous name is really poor. Refs have good and bad days too but those two lads are in the top7 or 8 refs in the county and that's why they're getting senior games.

It's not a closed shop lads, the county board are crying out for refs if anyone fancies it.
I would not do it myself for love nor money as you do a good job no one notices yet you have a make a few bad calls in a match and you get dogs abuse in person and online.

Laois Rising

Quote from: Karate kid on August 26, 2025, 02:56:28 PM

I didn't see this game but I won't agree with anyone's opinion on the worst referee unless it's Mick Tarpey. End of discussion.

Karate Kid would you let us know what games you are down to ref this weekend so we can all head to the game to learn from you as to how to ref games properly.

Just be grateful lads give their time to reffing games. Mistakes will be made etc. Regardless of how good or bad a ref is, I very much appreciate the fact that they are doing it. It is a thankless task.

Karate kid

Look lads apologies for naming someone shouldn't have brought it to that level. I have the utmost respect for almost every referee and that's genuine but will never see eye to eye with him, only one. Won't mention it again.

Junior Ex Laoistalk

Any sign of Zack Touhy making an apperance with Portlaoise this year or is he gone back to Aus. He always said he wanted to give it a go with Port and maybe Laois before he retired altogether.
Winners are not those who never fail, but those who never quit!

SCFC

LAOIS SFC QUARTER FINALS
Portlaoise v Courtwood - Portlaoise should have enough to win by around 7 or 8
Ballyroan-Abbey v St Joseph's - Could be a hard watch. Joes by 4
Arles-Killeen v Portarlington - Port by 6
Graiguecullen v Killeshin - The local derby factor makes this one interesting. Graigue seem to win this game year in, year out. Graigue by 5

LAOIS SFC B QUARTER FINALS
Ballyfin v The Heath - Ballyfin struggling but might have a win in them but not this time. Heath by 7
Emo v Clonaslee-St Manman's - Could be tasty. Emo by 4
Stradbally v O'Dempsey's - Not where either of these wanted to be. Strad by 1 after extra time.
Crettyard v Rosenallis - Rosenallis by 6. Cretty will struggle to say up.

les Antiques

LAOIS SFC QUARTER FINALS
Portlaoise v Courtwood - Portlaoise by 2
Ballyroan-Abbey v St Joseph's - BA by 1
Arles-Killeen v Portarlington - Port by 4
Graiguecullen v Killeshin - Graigue by 3

Expect all close affairs especially with the soft ground.