All Ireland Hurling Final 2025, its on next weekend you know

Started by Muck Savage, July 14, 2025, 11:47:41 PM

Quote from: Gael-in-exile on July 24, 2025, 11:46:47 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on July 24, 2025, 11:07:09 AMIt sounds like rubbish to me, why would there have been any aggro in a changing room 6 points up at half time in an AI.

I'm dubious over the legitimacy of it all but the points made are certainly not overly unrealistic.
The wanted to replace Downey at 3 as he was on a yellow card.
Players disputed that.

I think it's easy to start stories or for the truth to gather moss and evolve into complete nonsense. But cancelling homecoming has probably added to the ability for these stories to be considered legitimate.

I heard there was a scuffle also at the team hotel after the game.

Capt Pat

Pat Ryan has stepped down as Cork manager. Cork wanted him back but he has decided he has had enough.

Quote from: Capt Pat on August 23, 2025, 06:36:44 PMPat Ryan has stepped down as Cork manager. Cork wanted him back but he has decided he has had enough.

Seems like a decent lad who hasn't had it easy the last while.

Ben O'Connor favourite to take over, he'll need to be strong enough to put the player power shite to bed.

There was no coming back after the humiliation of the AI final.

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 23, 2025, 10:51:34 PMThere was no coming back after the humiliation of the AI final.

He brought them as far as he could.

"My impression of Cork is that when they are on they are awesome but deny them momentum and they can "spin their wheels"."

u

Quote from: seafoid on August 24, 2025, 11:44:33 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 23, 2025, 10:51:34 PMThere was no coming back after the humiliation of the AI final.

He brought them as far as he could.

"My impression of Cork is that when they are on they are awesome but deny them momentum and they can "spin their wheels"."

A bit like Galway footballers.

Lamps

This was always on the cards. There was talk that Pat had indicated at the start of the year that it would be his last.

However, it sounds like the county board made sure he wasn't staying on by demanding changes up his backroom team. That made sure his position was untenable.

It's being lined up for Ben O'Connor. He would have many detractors within Cork. Him and his family have a tendency to fall out with people. What happened in the 2nd half on July 20th 2025 has shocked many in Cork hurling.
Even those who dislike Ben's manner are conceding that his abrasive style is now needed.

Fair play to Pat.

Always came across well when interviewed and sounded like a decent genuine guy.

I'm sure he has still a lot to process after the brother, would have been a tough year all round for them as a family. Never mind the hurling.

Quote from: Lamps on August 24, 2025, 02:30:09 PMThis was always on the cards. There was talk that Pat had indicated at the start of the year that it would be his last.

However, it sounds like the county board made sure he wasn't staying on by demanding changes up his backroom team. That made sure his position was untenable.

It's being lined up for Ben O'Connor. He would have many detractors within Cork. Him and his family have a tendency to fall out with people. What happened in the 2nd half on July 20th 2025 has shocked many in Cork hurling.
Even those who dislike Ben's manner are conceding that his abrasive style is now needed.

he came across as a very odd fella in that Laochra Gael episode on him and Jerry. I'm sure he's a good coach and an alright fella etc but he didn't appear to me to have a great way with him.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 29, 2025, 08:05:18 AM
Quote from: Lamps on August 24, 2025, 02:30:09 PMThis was always on the cards. There was talk that Pat had indicated at the start of the year that it would be his last.

he came across as a very odd fella in that Laochra Gael episode on him and Jerry. I'm sure he's a good coach and an alright fella etc but he didn't appear to me to have a great way with him.

What was his opening line on that? "If I don't want to speak to someone, I won't!"...

Sure Brian Lohan doesn't speak overly well in the press, but evidently can get his messaging across to the Clare lads alright.

Saffrongael

Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Quote from: Saffrongael on August 29, 2025, 04:08:20 PMDid he not fall out with Newtownshandrum as well ?

He's up for ratification tonight;

Cork senior hurling mgmt team to be ratified tonight - Ben O'Connor with Ronan Curran, Terence McCarthy, William Biggane & Niall O'Halloran.

He's been ratified.

His TV interviews will be interesting in a dour sort of a way especially if they struggle for results.

Will he offload Harnedy, Lehane and god almighty himself Patrick Horgan???

Quote from: johnnycool on September 03, 2025, 11:08:23 AMHe's been ratified.

His TV interviews will be interesting in a dour sort of a way especially if they struggle for results.

Think he needs to start blooding the players through, and change the mindset a bit, would not surprise me he retires those lads and go with a 2/3 year plan

I think Cork have strength in depth throughout the county and he'll have to find the right team, as getting out of Munster is as difficult never-mind winning Liam!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 03, 2025, 01:25:22 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 03, 2025, 11:08:23 AMHe's been ratified.

Think he needs to start blooding the players through, and change the mindset a bit, would not surprise me he retires those lads and go with a 2/3 year plan

I think Cork have strength in depth throughout the county and he'll have to find the right team, as getting out of Munster is as difficult never-mind winning Liam!

There'll be no 2/3 year plan with this Cork team.

They've won a Munster final and got to the last 2 AI finals, progress can only be measured in lifting the Liam McCarthy in 2026.