Cork v Tipperary - 2025 All Ireland Final

Started by Joeythelips, July 08, 2025, 10:39:34 AM

Quote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.

Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!

I like Jarlath.

He's a bollix. 

"Today is the icing not the cake. You are the cake".  ::)

Treats every speech like it's a graveside oration.

Well it was the AI Hurling Final.  :)

Joeythelips

It's hard to see how Cork recover from that. I know Tipp put them in their place but the 2nd collapse was incredible. Tipp hit a lot of silly wides first half and Cork got a goal before half time but it masked their issues. 2 points in the 2nd half is beyond belief

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2025, 05:45:07 PMAnyone thinking that Tipp are on a role will be disappointed as they also dip badly after wins.
Main talk/thoughts on Tipperary should be how they managed to go from a group stage exit without winning a game last year to that today winning All-Ireland final by 15 points against a strong favourite who gave them a trimming in Munster and the league this year.

Good tribute to Dillion Quirke in the after match speech.

Can Tipp do a Limerick is really what people will say, and all the underage success (look at how Galway did fit many years) doesn't necessarily mean longevity

Be interesting to see though as the talent is there and as much as Cork arrogance is mentioned Tipp also have that in spades..

Back to the drawing board for the rest and the target is clearly on Tipp for next year
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

AustinPowers

I noticed DJ wasn't  lined out with the Kilkenny jubilee  team today. Probably a  wise decision

Quote from: gallsman on July 20, 2025, 06:11:45 PMArmagh people defending Burns at all cost, I'm so shocked.

First half of the speech was awful, second half was great.

not just armagh ones. I think he talks too much

Joeythelips

So the second half score was 3-14 to 0-2 to Tipp, surely one of the most one sided halfs in either code at an All Ireland final, does anyone know of similar margins?

Some of those Mayo Kerry football games would have been very one sided.

(very) unfortunately antrim tipp in 89 maybe close to that too.

Quote from: Joeythelips on July 21, 2025, 08:57:47 AMSo the second half score was 3-14 to 0-2 to Tipp, surely one of the most one sided halfs in either code at an All Ireland final, does anyone know of similar margins?

KK only scored 2pts in a half in the early 2000's.

But at that time, the games were very low scoring so it's all relative.

A complete collapse by Cork in 2nd half.

As I said last night, the worst thing that happened to Cork was getting that goal right on half time. They thought it was over and Hoggie then missed a relatively handy free at start of 2nd half, it gave Tipp the belief to drive on and get a few scores.

I thought that, for long spells in the1st half, that Tipp were the better team but their shooting let them down. Needed just 1 more pass to get them closer to goal to make it an easier shot.

Tipp won all the 50/50 balls in 2nd half. Totally dominated and used the ball well. Plus they got the goals.

They also carried the ball better in the second half and took that extra pass (which they didn't do in the first half). Some shooting in the second hlf.

Strange we can say that Tipp played unreal AND Cork collapsed. Usually it's one or the other but seldom both.
Cahill played O'Mara as 'sweeper' and he got on some ball. But his main role was not to let O'Mahony etc. run through the middle. I'd say Cahill and Bevans would have been delighted privately with the 1st half performance - especially with only conceding that late goal.  Cork never had their normal goal threat and were blunt as a result.

But it was Tipp's day. A masterclass by them and their management. I didn't realise that Herrity is on one of their main coaches and not a goalkeeping coach. Good man to have in there.

Where do Cork go now? Horgan, Harnedy and Lehane? Will they be back - great servants to Cork.

Remember Meath batin the daylights out of Kerry in 2001 Semi Final and then getting hammered by Galway in the second half of the Final?

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

A brilliant hurling final gets half a page, 5 from the back page, of the Belfast Telegraph.

Quote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 06:20:14 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.

Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!

I like Jarlath.

He's a bollix. 

"Today is the icing not the cake. You are the cake".  ::)

Treats every speech like it's a graveside oration.

Well it was the AI Hurling Final.  :)

Have to agree with Tony here.
I used have a different opinion of him and was glad to see him get the top job, but has a serious case of power going to his head imo.

Quote from: AustinPowers on July 20, 2025, 10:30:23 PMI noticed DJ wasn't  lined out with the Kilkenny jubilee  team today. Probably a  wise decision

It would have taken some nerve for him to show his face at that. Did they call his name even?

Quote from: marty34 on July 21, 2025, 09:16:55 AM
Quote from: Joeythelips on July 21, 2025, 08:57:47 AMSo the second half score was 3-14 to 0-2 to Tipp, surely one of the most one sided halfs in either code at an All Ireland final, does anyone know of similar margins?

KK only scored 2pts in a half in the early 2000's.

But at that time, the games were very low scoring so it's all relative.

A complete collapse by Cork in 2nd half.

As I said last night, the worst thing that happened to Cork was getting that goal right on half time. They thought it was over and Hoggie then missed a relatively handy free at start of 2nd half, it gave Tipp the belief to drive on and get a few scores.

I thought that, for long spells in the1st half, that Tipp were the better team but their shooting let them down. Needed just 1 more pass to get them closer to goal to make it an easier shot.

Tipp won all the 50/50 balls in 2nd half. Totally dominated and used the ball well. Plus they got the goals.

They also carried the ball better in the second half and took that extra pass (which they didn't do in the first half). Some shooting in the second hlf.

Strange we can say that Tipp played unreal AND Cork collapsed. Usually it's one or the other but seldom both.
Cahill played O'Mara as 'sweeper' and he got on some ball. But his main role was not to let O'Mahony etc. run through the middle. I'd say Cahill and Bevans would have been delighted privately with the 1st half performance - especially with only conceding that late goal.  Cork never had their normal goal threat and were blunt as a result.

But it was Tipp's day. A masterclass by them and their management. I didn't realise that Herrity is on one of their main coaches and not a goalkeeping coach. Good man to have in there.

Where do Cork go now? Horgan, Harnedy and Lehane? Will they be back - great servants to Cork.

That sums it up really. The sending off was the final nail in the coffin - and I did think it was harsh tbh. The full back was having his arm held, but technically I suppose he did foul.
Tipp were relentless in that 2nd half and Cork were shell shocked.
Always had a soft spot for Cork, but hard to beat an underdog story.

The full back was a red waiting to happen half the day. He wasn't focusing on the ball at all and was just at the man the whole time. Several times he could have cleared a breaking ball but instead turned away from his man to block him from getting the ball. He really should have been subbed. Robert was on a yellow too but was playing too well to be taken off.

Towards the end Alan Connolly had an effort prior to being taken off and it was as half hearted an effort as you would see an AI final - it just wreaked of I don't want to be here. That kind of seemed to be the general attitude but tbf that was very late.

Tipp had one of those days second half where everything just went over.