Leinster Senior Football Championship 2025

Started by Shamrock Shore, March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AM

Lazer

Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 07:11:51 PM
Quote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 06:03:10 PMWell done Louth!

Can we stop talking about getting rid of Provincials now?

Look at what this means to Louth..don't take this chance of silverware away!

The problem with the provincials isn't what they mean to those involved it's the disproportionate impact they have on the All Ireland. With the greatest amount of respect to Clare and Meath they aren't in the top 8 in the country and therefore don't deserve to be seeded second. For me they should be a standalone competition between the league and the all Ireland. Or the calendar should be reshuffled.

You have far easier routes for some counties to Sam than for others. It's inherently unfair.

They would never mean as much without the link to the all Ireland.

The seeding doesn't mean much in the current format anyway. Every team still has to get through the round Robin. (And 1st and 2nd seed are likely getting through these anyway)

Down for Sam!

Agreed I don't think the groups should be seeded either. It's shite if every group had 2 Div 1 teams and 2 Div 2 teams. You know the outcome of those groups before a ball is kicked.

Also with 3 teams progressing from a group of 4 no-one should be complaining about seeding. All you've to do is win 1 match ffs.

The Boy Wonder

Well done the Wee County.
No disrespect to Meath but most neutrals would be happy with the result today.

Well done Louth.

Back in the 1970's ( :o ) when Louth beat Armagh my Dad would say "They couldn't even beat Louth".

Different story now!

Louth in the Minor and U20 finals too. The likes of Dundalk and Drogheda would bd more soccer towns but success can change that.

Quote from: Lazer on May 11, 2025, 07:40:43 PM

The problem with the provincials isn't what they mean to those involved it's the disproportionate impact they have on the All Ireland. With the greatest amount of respect to Clare and Meath they aren't in the top 8 in the country and therefore don't deserve to be seeded second. For me they should be a standalone competition between the league and the all Ireland. Or the calendar should be reshuffled.

You have far easier routes for some counties to Sam than for others. It's inherently unfair.

The seeding doesn't mean much in the current format anyway. Every team still has to get through the round Robin. (And 1st and 2nd seed are likely getting through these anyway)

They do mean a lot though.  First of all they allow teams in the All Ireland ahead of potentially better teams, then they skew the groups which provides easier routes for some counties.  That's the issue I have with the link between the provincials and the All Ireland.  Happy enough if you seeded the provincial champions and left the other 12 spots open draw I think that would go along way.

Kerry and Louth will likely make it to the knock out stages without playing a division 1 team.  Armagh will have played 5 if they make it that far 

Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:20:48 PM

They do mean a lot though.  First of all they allow teams in the All Ireland ahead of potentially better teams, then they skew the groups which provides easier routes for some counties.  That's the issue I have with the link between the provincials and the All Ireland.  Happy enough if you seeded the provincial champions and left the other 12 spots open draw I think that would go along way.

Kerry and Louth will likely make it to the knock out stages without playing a division 1 team.  Armagh will have played 5 if they make it that far 
Clare, Louth, Monaghan and Down doesn't even have 1 division 1 team. Galway, Armagh,  Dublin and Derry has 4. #Arseways

Armagh have Derry relegated to Div 2 for next year are they really much different to having Monaghan or Roscommon in your group who are promoted to Div 1 for 2026?  As you said Meath aren't a top 8 team yet they earned a 2nd seed by taking out Dublin.  Taking that into account the Dubs shouldn't bring the same fear they once did for Armagh either.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2025, 08:33:57 PM

Armagh have Derry relegated to Div 2 for next year are they really much different to having Monaghan or Roscommon in your group who are promoted to Div 1 for 2026?  As you said Meath aren't a top 8 team yet they earned a 2nd seed by taking out Dublin.  Taking that into account the Dubs shouldn't bring the same fear they once did for Armagh either.

The difference is Derry are the worst team in their group, Monaghan and Roscommon are in the top 2 of their groups.  So yes the groups are highly unbalanced because of the provincial championships

lenny

Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:41:13 PM

The difference is Derry are the worst team in their group, Monaghan and Roscommon are in the top 2 of their groups.  So yes the groups are highly unbalanced because of the provincial championships

Provincial winners should be number 1 seeds but 2,3 and 4 seeds should be decided by league position. With the right draw in Connacht a team like Leitrim could be a number 2 seed. Even Clare being a 2 seed is ridiculous. I don't even think provincial losers should be guaranteed a place in the same maguire, only provincial winners along with the next top 12 based on the league.

Seeds smeeds...

To win Sam you've got to be the best and beat the teams in front of you.

Group stages at this point means the best teams generally get through to the knockout stages..

It's just a bitta revenue boost to Croke in my opinion
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: David McKeown on May 11, 2025, 08:41:13 PM

That's the luck of the draw and things balance themselves out with three teams in each group progressing to the knock out stages and if you happen to be in a weaker group you are more likely to face elimination in the 12 round tie.

I was there in 2010 and it felt like Louth missed a once a generation chance to snatch a Leinster.
I was delighted for them today. They hung on in the first half when Meath were scoring easier. Towards the end they got a couple of refereeing calls in their favour, especially when the Louth ball carrier had played himself into trouble.
Not that I'm complaining.

60k in Croke Park is a great fill up for the provincials and the Leinster council. 20 years the GAA strategy became to pump huge resources into Dublin to keep the blue wave moving and fill Croke Park to pay off the debt. It eventually backfired.
Now it looks like the next strategy should be to feed the angel dust to the commuter belt counties and have Louth, Meath, Kildare and Wicklow.

Quote from: Bord na Mona man on May 11, 2025, 09:26:44 PMI was there in 2010 and it felt like Louth missed a once a generation chance to snatch a Leinster.
I was delighted for them today. They hung on in the first half when Meath were scoring easier. Towards the end they got a couple of refereeing calls in their favour, especially when the Louth ball carrier had played himself into trouble.
Not that I'm complaining.

60k in Croke Park is a great fill up for the provincials and the Leinster council. 20 years the GAA strategy became to pump huge resources into Dublin to keep the blue wave moving and fill Croke Park to pay off the debt. It eventually backfired.
Now it looks like the next strategy should be to feed the angel dust to the commuter belt counties and have Louth, Meath, Kildare and Wicklow.

65,786 today was the Largest for a Leinster final since 2017 Dublin v Kildare 66,734

Fair play to Louth. Totally deserved. Our big lads didn't perform.

Sad to lose but a brilliant day in Croker. Atmosphere was fantastic. Great to witness it.