Joe McDonagh Cup 2025

Started by G@@, March 18, 2025, 01:18:35 PM

Blueforever

Sad weekend for gaa in the county footballers loosing to mighty Wicklow and hurlers been hammered by mighty hurlers of Kildare the complete neglect of underage in hurling and football a complete disgrace where we go from here I don' know ,when a poster suggested getting in help from Kilkenny he was savaged by a poster the can't even write in  English and other posts suggest we should refuse to play in Division 2 we are so good for i feel for the players who give there free time for shit shows like this
With our under 20 losing in football and hurling by average 20 points the future looks dire

les Antiques

That was deflating today . Everything about that was grim. That is  a full strength Senior Hurling panel . A bad day for Laois hurling .

Verbal

Yes bad day at the office. But I do think we are better than that.
Very tough encounter to come now v Carlow. We will need everything going our way. Any indication re Podge Delaney?

The infidel in exile

The man that received the brutal abuse was myself Blue forever, but I'm 53 years old and have suffered worst than one or two so called Laois fans, abusing me, although I believe one of them went too far with their constant abuse that the platform had enough and threw to individual off.

As for today, I actually thought that Laois Hurling was too good for Tier 2, but we didn't just get beaten, we were destroyed and I happened on the line.I don't believe that Tommy Fitzgerald is a bad Guy, But if Laois REALLY REALLY WANT TO OVERCOME TIER 1 Teams, then they need a tier 1 coach. Other than Eddie Brennan, No management team have come within 8 points of improving Laois Hurling and that Includes Cheddar, a Nice man yes, a great coach NO. THE PROBLEM IS THE COUNTY BOARD,we had people in the past robbing thousands from match money. Yet they state that Laois don't have the money to bring in top coaches. But the male and female who robbed God only knows how much, were never arrested.

If Laois don't beat Carlow next week then they are out of the Cup, on account of kildare and Carlow beating them.

I don't see Laois beating Carlow, and I will leave you with the personal opinion that Fitzgerald has constantly left Aaron Dunphy on the bench, a forward that Eddie Brennan once stated that would get onto any County team.

The Boy Wonder

Quote from: Blueforever on May 18, 2025, 04:53:09 PMSad weekend for gaa in the county footballers loosing to mighty Wicklow and hurlers been hammered by mighty hurlers of Kildare the complete neglect of underage in hurling and football a complete disgrace where we go from here I don' know ,when a poster suggested getting in help from Kilkenny he was savaged by a poster the can't even write in  English and other posts suggest we should refuse to play in Division 2 we are so good for i feel for the players who give there free time for shit shows like this
With our under 20 losing in football and hurling by average 20 points the future looks dire

Such a load of rubbish posted above !  Credit to Wicklow footballers and Kildare hurlers.

I did not read any posts suggesting we should refuse to play in NHL Division 2.
Nevertheless it is glaringly obvious that we are a level above this division.

Kildare have also beaten Carlow and Westmeath who both hurled at a higher level than Laois in recent times.

Wicklow are usually tough opposition in Aughrim and their victory was not a great surprise. We needed to be at full strength and the loss of Mark Barry did not help our cause.

Carlow V Laois in the hurling and Offaly v Laois in football will give us a better read on our standing.

bluespower

Just in case we were getting any ideas that result today will put that to rest. Its bad when a non hurling county like Kildare are able to come down to our own patch and show us how to hurl.
Sounds like we were not able for their physicality, and i think a bit of taking them for granted may also have been at play.

They are doing something right in Kildare and fair play to them.

Got to be some real soul searching now after that.

Blueforever

Jesus's wept W8cklow never won a senior Leinster final and Kildare only started taking hurling serious the last 10 years when a lad from Ballacolla took over Nass hurlers

The infidel in exile

Boy wonder!!!! Oh what's the point

Joeythelips

Jesus lads, I get we are disappointed as Im sure all involved with both setups are in hurling and football are, but we have no god given right to anything and given we have won so little in our history we hardly strike fear in the heart of others.

A bit of respect for Wicklow and Kildare please. They are both sides who are clearly working hard in recent years, Wicklow put 18 points on the Dubs in Leinster, losing by 9 in the end and Kildare gave Carlow a good beating (a Carlow side who beat Waterford in the league) the other week and have not just picked up hurls a few years ago as is almost suggested.

As boy wonder rightly suggests the focus now turns to Offaly in the football and Carlow in the hurling, both will be tough encounters and Laois will have to be at their best to prevail in either.

Proper knockout now, no time to feel sorry for ourselves.

The infidel in exile

Whether some of you like it or not, Laois Hurlers lost against a team that played in the Lori Meagher and Christy Ring Cup until this year. Boy wonder, what you wrote was totally disgusting and stupid. Under no circumstances should Kildare(who have almost zero history in Hurling, against a Hurling county that won an All Ireland 110 years ago.

Today was in my opinion the worst result in Laois Hurling history. It was an absolute disgrace.

Laois Hurling from top to bottom need to really look in the mirror.

This was absolutely disgusting. But I recognize thet all have an opinion, thus you have ever right to your statement as I have the right to call it out as wrong

Verbal

Quote from: Blueforever on May 18, 2025, 06:27:21 PMKildare only started taking hurling serious the last 10 years when a lad from Ballacolla took over Nass hurlers

Ah Jaysus. Such nonsense.

Quote from: The infidel in exile on May 18, 2025, 07:09:07 PMToday was in my opinion the worst result in Laois Hurling history. It was an absolute disgrace.

It's not. We have been beaten in the past by teams who were going nowhere. Meath in 2002 comes to mind. Eliminated from the championship by them.

Kildare are actually going places. They will be as close to Kilkenny, Wexford, Dublin & Galway as anybody else in Leinster within 10 years. Possibly Offaly excepted. But I'll hold judgement on that.

Things have changed dramatically for Carlow after today. Looked in bad shape until Kildare's win today.

Joeythelips

Laois hurling has has plenty of dark days in the past 109 years (Cork scoring 10-20 in O'Moore park 15 years ago springs to mind). Again I think you are being disrespectful to Kildare, Laois and Carlow might not be world beaters but most would see them as a level above Kildare, but the lillywhites have clearly got their act together and were full value for their wins against both. Laois now must beat Carlow and the winners of that will get another crack at Kildare in the final.

From a hurling pov I think its actually a good thing that the Joe McD is not just a yo yo competition. We all expected it to be a formality with Carlow v Laois final but Kildare have shown its more competitive than that. Again its knockout from now on so we will really see what both our county sides are made of now. Thats what championship is all about.

The Boy Wonder

Quote from: Blueforever on May 18, 2025, 06:27:21 PMJesus's wept W8cklow never won a senior Leinster final and Kildare only started taking hurling serious the last 10 years when a lad from Ballacolla took over Nass hurlers

Go and look up the Leinster Senior Hurling Championships of 1975 and 1976 on Wikipedia.
I'm old enough to have seen Kildare playing in the mid-70s and to have respect for their current upturn after years in the doldrums.

The infidel in exile

Fine, but in my opinion, Kildare will NEVER COME NEAR, LEINSTERS TOP FOUR. And neither will us, Kildare are in a final now, so whatever happens they will play a qualifier, and I guarantee that whomever they play will annihilate them, because that Laois Hurling team today was even worst than the one I saw in Belfast 10 weeks ago.

If Fitzgerald doesn't start Aaron Dunphy against Carlow after today, Aaron should never play for them again

The Boy Wonder

You're a bit of a yo-yo merchant Infidel, swaying back and forth depending on the latest result.

With most of us hope springs eternal but we are all realists and know we're quite far from the top table in both hurling and football at the moment.