All-Ireland QFs: Armagh/Roscommon, Dublin/Galway, Donegal/Louth, Kerry/Derry

Started by GAABoardMod5, June 22, 2024, 07:21:59 PM

Quote from: bennydorano on June 30, 2024, 09:47:04 AM
Quote from: ardtole on June 30, 2024, 08:14:12 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 30, 2024, 06:53:30 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 30, 2024, 01:15:49 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 29, 2024, 11:34:31 PMRTE with a good few angles of the second Fallon yellow. A clear foul and yellow card. "Shoulder to shoulder" my hole.

Parkinson, the f**king eejit, was calling it the worst red card decision ever  ;D

Having seen it again I think it was harsher than I first thought but at the same time was an awful and unnecessary risk for Fallon to take. He made the referee make a decision and he had no need to.

I think the first one was a clear black card as well not yellow.

It was a frontal charge into his chest and stomach. For some reason Fallon decided to bea near double over. He also made sure he stuck the elbow in. How on earth was it harsh?!

It was certainly a yellow card, in between the 2 yellow cards that he got, there was another rash challenge, not a yellow card offence, but not far off it either. Only himself to blame.
Re the first yellow card - Greg McCabe got a straight red for the exact same type of challenge v Galway in the 2022 Q/F, a full frontal shoulder- how on earth can that be considered a black card yesterday?? Didn't see it clearly at the game but looked a straight red to me last night on tv, the 2nd looked softish at the game but yellow on tv, again he really can have no complaints- 2 shockingly poor executed 'shoulders', but conditions underfoot were poor - his only mitigation and I don't think that cuts it either tbh.
Which was a disgraceful call. Contact is being taken out of the game ffs.

Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on June 30, 2024, 12:09:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 29, 2024, 11:35:18 PMCan you arse the ball? Like block it with yer arse at the point of contact?

No that's a penalty 100% against the offending player and a yellow card for the Keeper....

An arse block is one of the most dangerous acts in football. The opponents foot could get caught in the crack of the arse, causing him to fall over and do both cruciates. Punishment is a straight red to the arse blocker, his nearest 3 team mates and the whole backroom team.

Good result for Armagh yesterday, not the best performance in the world but it didn't need to be and I felt like the result was never really in doubt.

Dublin getting beat was a surprise and opens the draw up now. I'd still have Kerry as favourites but Armagh, Galway and Donegal will all feel like they've a good chance now.

Quote from: Itchy on June 30, 2024, 10:20:35 AM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on June 30, 2024, 12:09:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 29, 2024, 11:35:18 PMCan you arse the ball? Like block it with yer arse at the point of contact?

No that's a penalty 100% against the offending player and a yellow card for the Keeper....

An arse block is one of the most dangerous acts in football. The opponents foot could get caught in the crack of the arse, causing him to fall over and do both cruciates. Punishment is a straight red to the arse blocker, his nearest 3 team mates and the whole backroom team.

I got me foot stuck up wan wan time match had to be abandoned

Dunneroyal

Totally wrong with my assessment at halftime, thought dubs were playing within themselves turned out that was them at full pelt  but credit must go to galway for a outstanding performance  congratulations to them  and commisseration to Dublin 
Hon the royal

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 30, 2024, 09:57:04 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 29, 2024, 11:34:31 PMRTE with a good few angles of the second Fallon yellow. A clear foul and yellow card. "Shoulder to shoulder" my hole.

Parkinson, the f**king eejit, was calling it the worst red card decision ever  ;D

Having seen it again I think it was harsher than I first thought but at the same time was an awful and unnecessary risk for Fallon to take. He made the referee make a decision and he had no need to.

It was a frontal charge into his chest and stomach. For some reason Fallon decided to bea near double over. He also made sure he stuck the elbow in. How on earth was it harsh?!

It was certainly a yellow card, in between the 2 yellow cards that he got, there was another rash challenge, not a yellow card offence, but not far off it either. Only himself to blame.
Re the first yellow card - Greg McCabe got a straight red for the exact same type of challenge v Galway in the 2022 Q/F, a full frontal shoulder- how on earth can that be considered a black card yesterday?? Didn't see it clearly at the game but looked a straight red to me last night on tv, the 2nd looked softish at the game but yellow on tv, again he really can have no complaints- 2 shockingly poor executed 'shoulders', but conditions underfoot were poor - his only mitigation and I don't think that cuts it either tbh.
Both were yellows.
So a stupid second tackle .

On a brighter note I wish our neighbours from Louth every success today.

I'd say today will be similar to yesterday in that the first game will be cagey enough and probably not as high of quality as the second. Best of luck to the Louth ones, free hit and enjoy it, days like this don't come too often.

Second game I think will be tight as well but Kerry to shade it in the end. If Clifford doesn't show up though Derry will do it. Best of luck to them and safe travels to all.

QuoteTo block or attempt to block with the boot when an opponent is kicking the ball from the hand(s).

The actual wording of the foot block rule - 2 important things to remember

1) with the boot - 
and
2) when an opponent is kicking the ball

Shoulder to shoulder is the only form of contact allowed. It's always been the case, which contact outside of that would you like in the game?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2024, 11:51:41 AM

Shoulder to shoulder is the only form of contact allowed. It's always been the case, which contact outside of that would you like in the game?

Kerry men seem to  be allowed  arse to head contact.

Quote from: AustinPowers on June 30, 2024, 12:11:34 PMKerry men seem to  be allowed  arse to head contact.

They use their brains when playing football in Kerry.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

The Hill is Blue

Fair play Galway. Great win yesterday, well deserved. No excuses from the Dublin side. The better team won. It was a memorable day for the Galway team and their loyal supporters. Best of luck in your remaining journey through the championship. :)
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

Quote from: The Hill is Blue on June 30, 2024, 12:23:57 PMFair play Galway. Great win yesterday, well deserved. No excuses from the Dublin side. The better team won. It was a memorable day for the Galway team and their loyal supporters. Best of luck in your remaining journey through the championship. :)

Much obliged. Any day you beat the standard-bearers is a day to be savoured. Second half on replay looked as if Dublin's legs were finally about to go. They owe ye nothing though.

Well done to Louth on being the last representative from Leinster. However, I'm going to write them off, which according to RTÉ means the draw for the semi is already decided:

Galway v Donegal
Armagh v Kerry/Derry