All-Ireland QFs: Armagh/Roscommon, Dublin/Galway, Donegal/Louth, Kerry/Derry

Started by GAABoardMod5, June 22, 2024, 07:21:59 PM

onefineday

Quote from: David McKeown on June 30, 2024, 01:15:49 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 29, 2024, 11:34:31 PMRTE with a good few angles of the second Fallon yellow. A clear foul and yellow card. "Shoulder to shoulder" my hole.

Parkinson, the f**king eejit, was calling it the worst red card decision ever  ;D

Having seen it again I think it was harsher than I first thought but at the same time was an awful and unnecessary risk for Fallon to take. He made the referee make a decision and he had no need to.

I think the first one was a clear black card as well not yellow.
I thought the first card merited a red card on its own - totally reckless challenge that could seriously injure an opponent.

Quote from: Armagh18 on June 30, 2024, 12:43:50 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on June 29, 2024, 11:39:17 PM
Quote from: Norm-Peterson on June 29, 2024, 09:52:59 PMPeople are viewing it as an end of an era but Dublin will still win more All Irelands this decade. I said the same after they lost to Mayo in 2021.
I think it will be a Donegal Kerry final.

In the next 3 to 4 years Dublin have to replace 13 players: Cluxton, Murchan, Fitzsimmons, J Small, Kilkenny, MccAffrey, McCarthy, Mannion, Costello, Basquel, Fenton, O'Callaghan, Scully.

And most of those will be in the next 1 to 2 years.
Plus they have to do that without successful minor or u20 teams to pluck from.
If they don't win in 2025, I expect they won't win again this decade.
Con is only a young buck yet is he not?? Or how old am I getting? :o

29 in next year's Championship so should be good for 3 or 4 more years.
A fabulous player but his performances in Dublin's biggest game of the season have been below par in recent years.
2021: 1 pt v Mayo, anonymous
2022: injured
2023: Scoreless in All-Ireland Final
2024: 1 pt from play v Galway, pretty decent but the old Con, or should I say the young Con would have buried the goal chance and kicked an equalising point at the end.

Quote from: Norm-Peterson on June 29, 2024, 09:52:59 PMPeople are viewing it as an end of an era but Dublin will still win more All Irelands this decade. I said the same after they lost to Mayo in 2021.

In the next 3 to 4 years Dublin have to replace 13 players: Cluxton, Murchan, Fitzsimmons, J Small, Kilkenny, MccAffrey, McCarthy, Mannion, Costello, Basquel, Fenton, O'Callaghan, Scully.

28 Con is now.  Eight of Dublin's outfield players was in their 30s today.  The youngest starters McMahon,Bugler. Howard 26.

onefineday

Quote from: screenexile on June 28, 2024, 09:22:07 AMMaybe I'm letting my heart take over my head here but if you take out the Donegal and Armagh performances we actually have a better team this year than we had playing Kerry last year!

Baker at corner back frees up McEvoy into HB and Lachlan Murray in Corner forward is an upgrade too.

Our bench is stronger as well with Toner/Loughlin/Bradley/Murphy/Gilmore to come in whereas we were a lot lighter in that department last year.

I'm not saying we'll win but if the lads aren't wrecked after last weekend I think we can give Kerry a right rattle again!

Whilst last week was massive improvement, we won't beat Kerry playing that sort of football. Last week was back to basics, defensive football with very limited attacking threat. The reason why we ran Kerry close last year was because we ran at them and were utterly positive from the get go. That requires a confidence which has been blown to pieces by Jim 8 weeks ago.
Our attack last week was similar to what we showed v Galway in the '22 semi, but we need more of what we showed v Kerry in '23 and on numerous occasions since.
We have to be brave, but sensible! What we've shown the last few months has been miles away from what is needed, but we know it's in there and maybe there'll come a moment tomorrow when it starts to click again, couple of early goals from clucky and mckinless and it'll all come flooding back ;)

Quote from: gallsman on June 29, 2024, 11:34:31 PMRTE with a good few angles of the second Fallon yellow. A clear foul and yellow card. "Shoulder to shoulder" my hole.

Parkinson, the f**king eejit, was calling it the worst red card decision ever  ;D

Having seen it again I think it was harsher than I first thought but at the same time was an awful and unnecessary risk for Fallon to take. He made the referee make a decision and he had no need to.

It was a frontal charge into his chest and stomach. For some reason Fallon decided to bea near double over. He also made sure he stuck the elbow in. How on earth was it harsh?!

GalwayBay1966

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on June 29, 2024, 11:57:01 PMI wouldn't be banking on it. There isn't a pile else out there.

I don't think the U20 All Irelands of recent years give you much insight into who is expected to be a dominant force at senior anytime soon.
6 Of The GalwayU20  All Ire Winning Team From 2020 Have Come Through  Mc Grath.Fitzgerald,Glynn,Hernon,Tierny,Culhane And also P Kelly another in Squad
Which is a Great no To bring Through.
The Exciting  Thing for Galway was the Younger Players were more than ready to carry the day.
The Majority of Galway Squad is 26 or under.

GalwayBay1966

Quote from: GalwayBay1966 on June 30, 2024, 07:38:45 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on June 29, 2024, 11:57:01 PMI wouldn't be banking on it. There isn't a pile else out there.

I don't think the U20 All Irelands of recent years give you much insight into who is expected to be a dominant force at senior anytime soon.
6 Of The GalwayU20  All Ire Winning Team From 2020 Have Come Through  Mc Grath.Fitzgerald,Glynn,Hernon,Tierny,Culhane And also P Kelly another in Squad
The Exciting  Thing for Galway was the Younger Players were more than ready to carry the day.

Also interesting to note Galway 21 Team Of 2017 That Lost The All Ire Final to Dublin Contained Mc Daid,Mc Hugh,K Molloy S Kelly,FinnertyC Darcy and Peter Coooke Who also would be there but for working  away a Great no again Who have Come Throug
The Dublin Team was Pretty Goood Comerford,S Mc Mahon,Murchan,C Murphy,Howard,C Basquel,O Callaghan,P Small
That W as a Vintage U21 Final for Sure The Last Sadly At U 21 Sadly

ardtole

Quote from: gallsman on June 30, 2024, 06:53:30 AM

It was a frontal charge into his chest and stomach. For some reason Fallon decided to bea near double over. He also made sure he stuck the elbow in. How on earth was it harsh?!

It was certainly a yellow card, in between the 2 yellow cards that he got, there was another rash challenge, not a yellow card offence, but not far off it either. Only himself to blame.

Quote from: Blowitupref on June 30, 2024, 01:29:00 AM

28 Con is now.  Eight of Dublin's outfield players was in their 30s today.  The youngest starters McMahon,Bugler. Howard 26.
Jesus I am getting old. Was it 2018 he gave Keegan the roasting?

They need some new blood badly then. It was strange yesterday they missed a proper leader bar Con to make something happen at the end whereas 5 years ago their would have been a team full of them.

Full credit to Galway though the defending was absolute savage late on. 

Good hit I thought maybe slightly frontal. But he had a challenge on Rian O'Neill before that which should have been yellow, ball was in the air and he doesn't even look at the ball and takes Rian out. First one was the definition of a black card I thought and a different ref could have given red so he can't really complain.

Quote from: onefineday on June 30, 2024, 01:22:38 AMGreat result for a Galway team operating with so many key men hobbled.
Walsh has always been hit or miss, but today was hit and showed plenty of fight even coming out for the 2nd half. Comer was excellent the last quarter, again, you can see he's not fully right, but played a great target man role. The worry with Galway will be the fitness of those guys in 2 weeks time.
Dessie's tactic of starting the big guns misfired badly and I think might have been complacence? He really didn't think Galway with their injuries would put it up to Dublin and figured that it would be a good chance to get minutes into the lads. Even as he was bringing them off, Dublin didn't look in real danger - Mannion was taken off to give basquel a run out, they were still a couple up. It looked like the dubs sort of sleep walked into defeat, thinking they'd pull away when they felt like it. Some super defending from Galway, half back line in particular was superb. Lose Kerry tomorrow and what a championship we could have!
Galway won't have any fear of Kerry and would probably love a cut at them after 2 years ago so I think we're going to have a great championship anyway, it is wide open now.

Quote from: GalwayBay1966 on June 30, 2024, 07:38:45 AM

Younger lads fair stood up today. There was a lad with a ropey enough haircut number 20 something who won a lot of dirty ball, was very impressed with him.

Fair play to Galway. Wish I had have stayed for the second half. Think that result will give Louth and Derry belief today

Quote from: Saffrongael on June 30, 2024, 12:07:21 AM
Quote from: Rebel84 on June 29, 2024, 11:48:37 PM

They appear to have a lot of players around the 31 mark. They could get one more out of that group of players but it would have to be in 2025.

You don't need to have successful U-20 teams, you can take a couple of players each year from those squads. It's not necessary for the team to win a competition to supply a senior team.

The 3 multi All-Ireland winning teams this century; Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin all had 8 or 9 players that had won u21 All-Irelands.

Quote from: ardtole on June 30, 2024, 08:14:12 AM

It was certainly a yellow card, in between the 2 yellow cards that he got, there was another rash challenge, not a yellow card offence, but not far off it either. Only himself to blame.
Re the first yellow card - Greg McCabe got a straight red for the exact same type of challenge v Galway in the 2022 Q/F, a full frontal shoulder- how on earth can that be considered a black card yesterday?? Didn't see it clearly at the game but looked a straight red to me last night on tv, the 2nd looked softish at the game but yellow on tv, again he really can have no complaints- 2 shockingly poor executed 'shoulders', but conditions underfoot were poor - his only mitigation and I don't think that cuts it either tbh.