Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Quote from: Dag Dog on August 27, 2025, 11:53:54 PMThe usual suspects (and their multiple aliases) are out in force tonight.  ;D
Firstly, Utd drew the match and lost a shoot out.
They played better than Arsenal on the opening day, and Arsenal may well go on to lift the title this year, since their rivals have gone backwards.
They were a rare Bruno penalty miss from beating Fulham.
All this with an entirely new front 3 just signed and not familiar with one another.

Liverpool gone backwards? Is that a fact?

Dag Dog

Quote from: Armamike on August 28, 2025, 03:29:47 PM
Quote from: Dag Dog on August 27, 2025, 11:53:54 PMThe usual suspects (and their multiple aliases) are out in force tonight.  ;D
They played better than Arsenal on the opening day, and Arsenal may well go on to lift the title this year, since their rivals have gone backwards.
All this with an entirely new front 3 just signed and not familiar with one another.

Yes. Since last Spring the fizz has gone out of Liverpool. They had the league wrapped up but got tamely beaten in the 3 cup competitions as another one of their 'quadruple attempts' fell asunder. 
Scroll back through the Liverpool topic if you don't believe me. Even the most deluded ones are commenting about how flat the team looked and wishing for the season to wrap up.
Now the new season has started and they're flying by the seat of their pants scraping results.

You can't keep up that level of fire fighting indefinitely though.
A couple of defeats and they'll be spiralling.

Been a while! My tuppence worth for what it is worth.

On the money thing - my understanding is Owners are allowed to put in a certain amount. The Glazers had put in nothing so there is scope for Ineos to put money in......hence spending 200m so far in this window which most wouldn't have though possible without sales.

Anyway....where the hell are things? Clearly not good. Like many I was very encouraged by the performance against Arsenal but it seems it's a case of playing to the level of your opponent. Which can only mean one thing - attitude, mindset is not right. This is what has contributed to other managers getting sacked and it seems to be at work again. I would not have greed with getting rid of LVG, Ole or Ten Hag when they happened because I firmly believe changing managers is simply the owners way of placating the social media masses - vast majority of whom haven't a clue (but they spend money).

FORWARDS: I was glad they went and got attackers over the summer. Still early but I think Cunha and Mbuemo will do well. At the very least I think Sesko will be an upgrade on Hojlund but people might need to be patient with him. Garnacho will go, Rashford is gone and Sancho will just rot. Overall I'd be shocked if it doesn't work out better than last year.

GOALKEEPERS: Glaring problem is goalkeeper and I cannot understand how this has not been addressed. This is not looking for scapegoats or excuses but quite simply Onana has been so bad I've wondered at times was there something sinister going on. Last night was absolutely incredible. The first goal (others at fault too) was apparently a shot that is expected to be saved 91% of the time. Absolutely dreadful goalkeeping. The second was actually worse where he ended up farther up he pitch than half the players before the goal went in. Yes the guy handled but that was cancelled out by the goal disallowed in the second half. In the shootout he saves one and gets a a good hand to FOUR others but fails to keep one out. Absolutely amazing. Bayindir is slightly better but both are stealing a living. A goalkeeper simply has to be bought before the end of the window because no matter how good or bad a team is goalkeepers this bad give you absolutely no chance. 

DEFENSE: You always want more but overall I'm thinking with a bit of luck with injuries and a functioning goalkeeper the defense will be ok. DeLigt loks to be getting better. I think Yoro is destined to be a star (hopefully for United for a long time but if things don't improve....). Maguire has been doing quite well of late, central of the 3 suits him. Martinez back soon. Mazraoui very important, hopefully back soon. Heaven is fine. I think Shaw has not been good. Fredricson was poor last night. Dorgu is grand....lots of energy and workrate but maybe you'd like him to be better defensively. Dalot should only be a reserve....not good enough going forward and worse defensively.

MIDFIELD: Amad - I'd persist with him at wing back. He's no worse defensively than Dalot and could work a good partnership with Mbuemo. He was poor on Sunday and worse last night though including miscontrolling a ball and subsequently taking Ugarte out in lead up to first goal. This might be controversial but I think Mainoo is far and away the best centre mid United have. I don't understand what Amorim is doing with him. Thought he was United's best player along with Maguire last night. Casemiro slow but a good passer & aerial threat. Ugarte works hard but not as good in possession as other midfielders. Bruno is Bruno but I think it's fanciful to think he can play as a centre mid. Let Smith Rowe away from him badly at the weekend - he's simply not capable of the defensive side. Still arguably the most important attacking player but his influence on games is variable. I'm really happy with Mount's play the back end of last season and start of this. He's a good player and looks to have his confidence back. I honestly think the need here is for a more defensive but technically strong and athletic partner in the centre for Mainoo. If that can't be got then it will be a patch up job.

Might have missed one or two. Jist of it is - (1) this squad is decent and should not be preforming as badly as it is, even allowing for horrendous goalkeeping. (2) mental weakness and bad body language is rife throughout the group which needs to be addressed. (3) confidence is very brittle and I don't see it improving without results.

So to Amorim. I don't agree with all he does but I think he is determined and ruthless and he needs to be backed. His interview last night was worrying in that perhaps he's near the point of leaving himself. Get a goalkeeper and pick the lads who will fight for results and not give anything away.

Welcome back MS.

Out of curiosity, other than the fact United paid a fortune for him as a kid, what on earth come lead you to say at this point that Yoro looks destined to be a star? What has he done in a United shirt to suggest this? His most memorable performance for United for me was being repeatedly exposed and skint in the Sociedad game (I think) last year.

Quote from: magpie seanie on August 28, 2025, 03:46:12 PMBeen a while! My tuppence worth for what it is worth.

On the money thing - my understanding is Owners are allowed to put in a certain amount. The Glazers had put in nothing so there is scope for Ineos to put money in......hence spending 200m so far in this window which most wouldn't have though possible without sales.

Anyway....where the hell are things? Clearly not good. Like many I was very encouraged by the performance against Arsenal but it seems it's a case of playing to the level of your opponent. Which can only mean one thing - attitude, mindset is not right. This is what has contributed to other managers getting sacked and it seems to be at work again. I would not have greed with getting rid of LVG, Ole or Ten Hag when they happened because I firmly believe changing managers is simply the owners way of placating the social media masses - vast majority of whom haven't a clue (but they spend money).

FORWARDS: I was glad they went and got attackers over the summer. Still early but I think Cunha and Mbuemo will do well. At the very least I think Sesko will be an upgrade on Hojlund but people might need to be patient with him. Garnacho will go, Rashford is gone and Sancho will just rot. Overall I'd be shocked if it doesn't work out better than last year.

GOALKEEPERS: Glaring problem is goalkeeper and I cannot understand how this has not been addressed. This is not looking for scapegoats or excuses but quite simply Onana has been so bad I've wondered at times was there something sinister going on. Last night was absolutely incredible. The first goal (others at fault too) was apparently a shot that is expected to be saved 91% of the time. Absolutely dreadful goalkeeping. The second was actually worse where he ended up farther up he pitch than half the players before the goal went in. Yes the guy handled but that was cancelled out by the goal disallowed in the second half. In the shootout he saves one and gets a a good hand to FOUR others but fails to keep one out. Absolutely amazing. Bayindir is slightly better but both are stealing a living. A goalkeeper simply has to be bought before the end of the window because no matter how good or bad a team is goalkeepers this bad give you absolutely no chance. 

DEFENSE: You always want more but overall I'm thinking with a bit of luck with injuries and a functioning goalkeeper the defense will be ok. DeLigt loks to be getting better. I think Yoro is destined to be a star (hopefully for United for a long time but if things don't improve....). Maguire has been doing quite well of late, central of the 3 suits him. Martinez back soon. Mazraoui very important, hopefully back soon. Heaven is fine. I think Shaw has not been good. Fredricson was poor last night. Dorgu is grand....lots of energy and workrate but maybe you'd like him to be better defensively. Dalot should only be a reserve....not good enough going forward and worse defensively.

MIDFIELD: Amad - I'd persist with him at wing back. He's no worse defensively than Dalot and could work a good partnership with Mbuemo. He was poor on Sunday and worse last night though including miscontrolling a ball and subsequently taking Ugarte out in lead up to first goal. This might be controversial but I think Mainoo is far and away the best centre mid United have. I don't understand what Amorim is doing with him. Thought he was United's best player along with Maguire last night. Casemiro slow but a good passer & aerial threat. Ugarte works hard but not as good in possession as other midfielders. Bruno is Bruno but I think it's fanciful to think he can play as a centre mid. Let Smith Rowe away from him badly at the weekend - he's simply not capable of the defensive side. Still arguably the most important attacking player but his influence on games is variable. I'm really happy with Mount's play the back end of last season and start of this. He's a good player and looks to have his confidence back. I honestly think the need here is for a more defensive but technically strong and athletic partner in the centre for Mainoo. If that can't be got then it will be a patch up job.

Might have missed one or two. Jist of it is - (1) this squad is decent and should not be preforming as badly as it is, even allowing for horrendous goalkeeping. (2) mental weakness and bad body language is rife throughout the group which needs to be addressed. (3) confidence is very brittle and I don't see it improving without results.

So to Amorim. I don't agree with all he does but I think he is determined and ruthless and he needs to be backed. His interview last night was worrying in that perhaps he's near the point of leaving himself. Get a goalkeeper and pick the lads who will fight for results and not give anything away.
Yeah would agree with most of that; the goalkeeper issue is unreal and central midfield not much better. Basically have Mbuembo, Cunha, Mount, Diallo, Zirkzee and Bruno who are fighting for 2 spots, overloaded with number 10's while theres only Ugarte who's not great, Casemiro who's past it, Bruno who's just not a midfielder and Mainoo who doesn't seem to be trusted covering 2 positions. Surely it would have made more sense to sell Bruno in June for big bucks and only buy one no 10 and a proper midfielder.

I like Amorim and realistically the same old issues will arise no matter who the manager is.

Quote from: gallsman on August 28, 2025, 03:59:46 PMWelcome back MS.

Out of curiosity, other than the fact United paid a fortune for him as a kid, what on earth come lead you to say at this point that Yoro looks destined to be a star? What has he done in a United shirt to suggest this? His most memorable performance for United for me was being repeatedly exposed and skint in the Sociedad game (I think) last year.

He had a few shaky moments early on but I think he is just the real deal when I watch him. A great competitor, bit of edge to him, pace and a really good tackler. Even last weekend he got back to a Fulham player and made an outrageous tackle (I thought it was a penalty at first look but replay showed it was clean as a whistle). He's 19 still and in a struggling side but seems very confident. Honestly feel unless United get back to being some sort of force he'll be gone to Madrid or somewhere like that within 18 months.

Quote from: magpie seanie on August 28, 2025, 04:52:29 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 28, 2025, 03:59:46 PMWelcome back MS.

He had a few shaky moments early on but I think he is just the real deal when I watch him. A great competitor, bit of edge to him, pace and a really good tackler. Even last weekend he got back to a Fulham player and made an outrageous tackle (I thought it was a penalty at first look but replay showed it was clean as a whistle). He's 19 still and in a struggling side but seems very confident. Honestly feel unless United get back to being some sort of force he'll be gone to Madrid or somewhere like that within 18 months.
Yeah I think he is solid already and has a bright future.

Quote from: Dag Dog on August 28, 2025, 03:42:05 PM
Quote from: Armamike on August 28, 2025, 03:29:47 PM

Yes. Since last Spring the fizz has gone out of Liverpool. They had the league wrapped up but got tamely beaten in the 3 cup competitions as another one of their 'quadruple attempts' fell asunder. 
Scroll back through the Liverpool topic if you don't believe me. Even the most deluded ones are commenting about how flat the team looked and wishing for the season to wrap up.
Now the new season has started and they're flying by the seat of their pants scraping results.

You can't keep up that level of fire fighting indefinitely though.
A couple of defeats and they'll be spiralling.

Not the place to discuss this but time will tell. Liverpool are in a form of transition - there will be blips.

Nordie Tayto is shite

The culture at the club is still a major issue.

Ratcliffe saying that the club would be bankrupt by Christmas last year were it not for the layoffs saving £8-10m. Then pissing £200m against the wall on more shite to add in on top of the current shite... how can anyone perform in that environment??

Quote from: screenexile on August 28, 2025, 11:51:32 PMThe culture at the club is still a major issue.

Ratcliffe saying that the club would be bankrupt by Christmas last year were it not for the layoffs saving £8-10m. Then pissing £200m against the wall on more shite to add in on top of the current shite... how can anyone perform in that environment??
Bit early to call the 3 new signings shite ffs.

tiempo

Wilcox, Obergruppenführer Ratcliffe and Ruben have all been promoted to the level of their incompetence, the effect is amplified and quite something to behold, nothing will change until they're all gone and replaced with role specialists which isn't happening any time soon, Burnley will fancy their chances, all clubs especially the mid and lower ranked will up their game vs Utd per usual, long season ahead

40/1 to be relegated now. While it's still highly unlikely, It could be a fun in-running market this season.