Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Tevez was clearly a better player than Rooney. Berba was too - depending which side of the bed he got out of.

When tevez was at united rooney was probably better than him? That's not to say he's a better player but when they were on the same team I always thought Rooney was more influential.

Now and again Berbatov was better and for one season only VanPersie. Fergie was the only manager who could keep VP fit. He was as good as most in the world when fit but he just never really was bar one season at man united.

Quote from: DuffleKing on January 23, 2017, 09:17:53 AM

Tevez was clearly a better player than Rooney. Berba was too - depending which side of the bed he got out of.

Boys you can go on and on about better players here and there, the stats dont lie he is the best striker the club have had.

If he hadnt have messed about contractually the fans would be fawning over him more. There is more of a just begrudging acceptance now rather than an all out love-in for him. Which is a pity, I think he always gives his all for the team. He works hard and contributes, always has needed a run of games to get into the groove performance wise and as has been said its hard to see him getting that for the rest of his career at United.

On the game at the weekend think it again shows the importance of Carrick to the team, had them penned in but couldnt provide that one killer pass that MC can even from deeper positions. Anyway with Liverpool losing it might not have been the worst point to pick up.

Rooney's career stats stack up with all but Messi, Ronaldo, Suarez and a few others and to be fair to the lad he isn't/wasn't just a goalscorer. He often played deep or out wide to suit the team needs but his goal ratio is still pretty impressive. He also created more goals that most out and out strikers I'd venture. In his worst seasons at United he still averaged at least a goal every 3 games (bar this season). His record is a brilliant one and he deserves credit. This is from someone who has criticised the guy regularly and in the last 3 seasons in particular. If people can't see he has been a really, really top player over his 15 season career then there's clearly something warping their thinking.

Quote from: magpie seanie on January 23, 2017, 02:02:23 AM
Quote from: Boycey on January 22, 2017, 10:20:54 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2017, 09:53:25 PM
Rooney, despite some unsavoury contract related issues and three or four years of poor play, deserves massive credit for this record. There were a few seasons at his peak when he was really, really good - as good as all but 2 or 3 forwards in the world. It's an incredible number of goals so fair play to him.

The game was really frustrating, an all too frequent occurrence in recent times. Played well, created chances and missed chance after chance. The early season mucking about with team selections and tactics mean that United can't afford "one of those days" unfortunately. Need to stop giving poor teams a goal start too. Rooney's goal was a fine strike but he was actually terrible when he came on. I was giving out yards about him to my brother moments before he scored. Good to see Pogba rebounding well from his bad performance the previous week. Left back position really proving troublesome now.

Seanie United have had about 6 of those days as you call them since the team has switched to the formation/tactics that most of us wanted so I think you're flogging a dead horse a bit by harping back to 2/3 very bad early season performances..

Thought Pogba was just ok yesterday too. Maybe he's just growing into expectation of being the world most expensive player but I said on here before he's capable of great moments rather than great games at present..

2 or 3 bad performances? You must be joking. Worst start in 26 or 27 years!

That's not the point I'm making, you consistently blame early season tactics/formation for where United are in the table but more of the damaging points lost have come in the period since the team has been picked the way you want it. Maybe just maybe the players should take some of the flak as well as Mourinho.

During a break in the American football last night I stumbled on a showing of all Rooneys goals on MUTV. Christ but its easy to forget how good he was back the day, his speed of thought and his movement were superb. Himself, Ronaldo and Tevez in particular were a brilliant strikeforce. I'm sure Sky will do likewise during the week, worth a look........

I don't like Rooney but I'm not really bothered as long as he's performing on the pitch which he hasn't done since the end of the 2011/12 season. This is now the 5th season where he hasn't been top player, he's only broken the record because Fergie retired because if he hadn't Rooney was out the door; Fergie knew he was well past his best and his performances since that have done nothing to prove otherwise. He got injured against Bayern in 2010 and never been the same since, he still had a brilliant season in front of goal in 11/12 but that pace he possessed had started to disappear. I dread seeing him coming on these days, he's relying on producing a good cross or scoring a goal as his all round play is very poor. He can't beat a man, lacks awareness of whats around him and his touch is brutal.

I doubt we'll ever see a statue of him at OT, he's very unpopular amongst my mates. We've had a lot of great players the last 25 years who are ahead of him in terms of deserving a statue.

As for the match we did enough to win the game but we certainly didn't create as many clear cut chances as we did against Stoke, West Ham & Burnley at home. In our last 3 draws against Stoke, Liverpool & Everton the goals we've conceded have been an own goal and 2 ridiuculous pens, teams aren't creating many chances against us and De Gea isn't having to pull of that many great saves. We're far too reliant on Zlatan though and others need to start scoring more regularly.

I've not seen it mentioned but Mata should have won a pen, the commentators were on about a handball but totally ignored that he was cleaned out by a sliding tackle and if that had happened anywhere on the pitch it would have been a free kick.

We were lucky enough that Liverpool lost and we've closed the gap on them, we have to go on another run and win the next 5 or 6 games and on paper we're capable of winning them. If we do then I'd be surprised if we're not in the top 4 or only missing out on goal difference. We've 16 games left, still think we need to win at least 12 and draw 3 and that would leave us on 80 points; I think that would just be enough to finish 4th.

Seen a stat there not sure if true but after 81 games LVG had same wins as Klopp after 81 games!!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Boycey on January 23, 2017, 11:03:49 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 23, 2017, 02:02:23 AM
Quote from: Boycey on January 22, 2017, 10:20:54 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2017, 09:53:25 PM
Rooney, despite some unsavoury contract related issues and three or four years of poor play, deserves massive credit for this record. There were a few seasons at his peak when he was really, really good - as good as all but 2 or 3 forwards in the world. It's an incredible number of goals so fair play to him.

The game was really frustrating, an all too frequent occurrence in recent times. Played well, created chances and missed chance after chance. The early season mucking about with team selections and tactics mean that United can't afford "one of those days" unfortunately. Need to stop giving poor teams a goal start too. Rooney's goal was a fine strike but he was actually terrible when he came on. I was giving out yards about him to my brother moments before he scored. Good to see Pogba rebounding well from his bad performance the previous week. Left back position really proving troublesome now.

Seanie United have had about 6 of those days as you call them since the team has switched to the formation/tactics that most of us wanted so I think you're flogging a dead horse a bit by harping back to 2/3 very bad early season performances..

Thought Pogba was just ok yesterday too. Maybe he's just growing into expectation of being the world most expensive player but I said on here before he's capable of great moments rather than great games at present..

2 or 3 bad performances? You must be joking. Worst start in 26 or 27 years!

That's not the point I'm making, you consistently blame early season tactics/formation for where United are in the table but more of the damaging points lost have come in the period since the team has been picked the way you want it. Maybe just maybe the players should take some of the flak as well as Mourinho.

You are incorrect.

Lets pinpoint the start of Mourinho doing his job correctly, picking the right players and employing the right tactics. For me that date is the Swansea game on November 6th when he brought Carrick back into the team. The team are unbeaten in all competitions since and have dropped 10 points in the league in 12 matches (7 wins, 5 draws). Prior to that the team had lost 5 games and dropped 15 league points in 10 games.

There you go.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2017, 10:05:42 PM
Seen a stat there not sure if true but after 81 games LVG had same wins as Klopp after 81 games!!

If United were more attacking and scoring more goals Van Gaal would still be there. The games just got painfully hard to watch. The occasional flash of hope actually made it worse.

Megaman

think we are going to have a big signing before the window closes.

who would yous like to see?

Quote from: Megaman on January 24, 2017, 02:46:34 PM
think we are going to have a big signing before the window closes.

who would yous like to see?

Ronaldo.

Don't see United signing anyone this month. Lots of talk about Griezmann this summer, can see that happening given Atletico's money problem and he has a buyout clause.

Mourinho will probably spend more than he did last summer, a replacement for Carrick is needed and he'll buy a centre half who's good in the air. Blind, Darmian & Shaw are all fighting to save their careers whilst I think he'll sell Januzaj and he'll probably look to move Rooney on.

Ivory Coast knocked out of African Cup of Nations tonight meaning an earlier than expected return to OT for Eric Bailly..