Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 19, 2012, 11:13:25 PM
Galatasary had 3 stonewall penalties tonite. The one after a fee mins, midway through 1st half when Carrick fouled the player running down the middle and the two clowns commentating reckoned it was a great tackle even after 3 replays show Carrick sliding through the player and never touch the ball and then the one in the last minute. Utds shouts were more 50:50 calls. Nani dived but may have been caught and contact on Valencia was minimal. Poor display by the ref. Commentary woeful beyond belief.

United should have had penalties for the tackles on Carrick, Valencia and Nani.  All 3 were definite penalties. 

The main probelm with United is what I have been saying for years - the lack of a real top notch defensive midfield player who covers a lot of ground and adds a bit of steel to the midfield as well as protecting the back four.  The lack of having this type of player has been more evident since the start of last season when you had a lot of big wins masking the huge number of shots that were being peppered on Uniteds goal in every game.  The Chelsea game last season at Old Trafford really demonstrated how open United were.  It has been evident ever since, with Uniteds keepers being busier the past 2 seasons than the keepers were for the majority of the previous Premier League seasons.  Just look at the Fulham game earlier this season as well, unreal the number of chances they had.  The United team of 2007 to 2009 were rarely troubled defensively in the majority of their games. 

Quote from: nrico2006 on September 21, 2012, 10:39:53 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 19, 2012, 11:13:25 PM
Galatasary had 3 stonewall penalties tonite. The one after a fee mins, midway through 1st half when Carrick fouled the player running down the middle and the two clowns commentating reckoned it was a great tackle even after 3 replays show Carrick sliding through the player and never touch the ball and then the one in the last minute. Utds shouts were more 50:50 calls. Nani dived but may have been caught and contact on Valencia was minimal. Poor display by the ref. Commentary woeful beyond belief.

United should have had penalties for the tackles on Carrick, Valencia and Nani.  All 3 were definite penalties. 

The main probelm with United is what I have been saying for years - the lack of a real top notch defensive midfield player who covers a lot of ground and adds a bit of steel to the midfield as well as protecting the back four.  The lack of having this type of player has been more evident since the start of last season when you had a lot of big wins masking the huge number of shots that were being peppered on Uniteds goal in every game.  The Chelsea game last season at Old Trafford really demonstrated how open United were.  It has been evident ever since, with Uniteds keepers being busier the past 2 seasons than the keepers were for the majority of the previous Premier League seasons.  Just look at the Fulham game earlier this season as well, unreal the number of chances they had.  The United team of 2007 to 2009 were rarely troubled defensively in the majority of their games.

If Fletcher can return close to what he was it will solve a lot of this.

Played poor enough but still won, good sign but I suppose it is against a team that are camped at the bottom of the table. Fergie had a good wee snigger at John Joe making a twat of himself. Valencia is a flying machine.  8)

Jonah

Quote from: EC Unique on September 23, 2012, 03:38:13 PM
Played poor enough but still won, good sign but I suppose it is against a team that are camped at the bottom of the table. Fergie had a good wee snigger at John Joe making a t**t of himself. Valencia is a flying machine.  8)

And you are making a tit of yourself with shite talk like that would you ever grow up.
Lets be honest, United were blessed to win that game an anyone that says otherwise either doesn't understand the game or are to bitter to admit it.
I thought Liverpool were excellent and were harshly done by the Ref by some very strange calls, I can understand why pool fans would be upset.
It's obvious to me anyway that they are slowly getting to grips with this new system and I believe they will be a force, maybe not this season but I think they are on the right path.

Back to United. They were dreadful and made look very ordinary by Liverpool.
I thought Shelvey and Evans should both have got yellows. I thought it was a very soft peno and I thought Liverpool could also have been given one.
I'm happy with the 3 points but almost embarrassed by how they were won.

City drop a couple of point as well. Not a bad weekend at all. :)

Moral victory for Liverpool 3pts for United. Let's be honest if United continue to play like today they can forget about the title while if pool keep that form they shouldn't get relegated   ;)

Quote from: ross4life on September 23, 2012, 06:52:34 PM
Moral victory for Liverpool 3pts for United. Let's be honest if United continue to play like today they can forget about the title while if pool keep that form they shouldn't get relegated   ;)

Those moral victories fairly help you up the table  ;)
This is another one of the seasons were liverpool are already looking to the next season before halloween.

Quote from: new devil on March 15, 2011, 11:41:08 AM
Quote from: Boycey on March 15, 2011, 11:30:50 AM
I'd would say Aldridge made shocking generalisations about United fans in his tweets on Sunday implying that all the fans there were chanting about Hillsborough/Heysel etc when in fact it was 20-30 impresionable teenagers who'd know feck all better. Everyone knows that there is a vicious undercurrent between both sets of supporters, his comments both on Sunday and in the Echo seem to suggest its one-sided.

QuoteGota listen to 300 man u singing songs about hboro heysel and other disgusting sick songs scum isnt the word

Hes still on about last night, talking about the gulf in class between the supporters.

Yea he must mean the way the United fans clapped of the injured Arsenal player on sat and the Liverpool fans booing Nani of the week before... or maybe he means the time they tried to knock over the Ambulance carrying Alan Smith to the hospital when he broke his leg again also booed of the field, full of class those supporters around Anfield Johnny!!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2207977/Alan-Smith-interview--MK-Dons-veteran.html#ixzz27Sx2fbFD

In the spirit of truth and justice that has enveloped Liverpool and Manchester United in recent days, Alan Smith insists no-one rocked his ambulance at Anfield as it tried to take him to hospital in 2006.

'Everyone at Liverpool did as much for me as any club possibly could,' said Smith. 'I was disappointed the story blew up about rocking an ambulance. That was never the case. Liverpool and Man United did everything to get me to the hospital and everything in their power to make sure I was OK.

'I thank them for that. Sometimes it's nice to say that because people have read that they were rocking my ambulance and throwing stuff at it, which is so untrue.'

tommysmith

So it took him 6 years to come out and say that  :-\

Quote from: tommysmith on September 25, 2012, 05:01:54 PM
So it took him 6 years to come out and say that  :-\

I bet he broke his leg deliberately too so people could make up this story. The fecker.

Vidic out for 2 months after getting knee sugery today :-\

Jesus that game was some attrition for knee injuries. Vidic, Agger and Kelly.

Mentalman

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 25, 2012, 05:45:58 PM

And Vidic didn't even make the bench  ;)
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Quote from: Mentalman on September 25, 2012, 05:48:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 25, 2012, 05:45:58 PM

And Vidic didn't even make the bench  ;)

He hurt it in training before the Liverpool game. That is why rio and Evans were the centre backs. He is having no luck with the knees.