Laochra Gael

Started by Jinxy, February 14, 2018, 09:42:33 AM

Quote from: blanketattack on January 26, 2026, 02:28:54 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on January 26, 2026, 01:56:31 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 26, 2026, 01:04:35 PMIt's a great series but......................surely we could have a Longford man or woman at this stage?
You should message the show and suggest someone. Who was Longford's greatest GAA player/personality?... living of course!
I'm being serious..

Could do one with Paul Barden and his uncle Brendan like they did with the McCartans.

Shame they never did Mick O'Connell or a posthumous one on Christy Ring.

Bardens would be a good shout. As wouls Jim hannify, Des Barry or Liam Tierney.

Maybe some were approached and declined, as most Longford people, as ye all know, are humble and don't want to to be having notions!

Fogarty

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 26, 2026, 01:04:35 PMIt's a great series but......................surely we could have a Longford man or woman at this stage?
Or Kevin O'Brien of Wicklow. One of the all time greats!

Truthsayer

I see that Conor McManus episode is repeated tonight (Monday) at 11:29pm.. TG4.

Is the McManus one new? I swore I had seen it before.

Truthsayer

New as in first broadcast last Thursday.

Ah I had thought I'd seen it before. Have to say related and unrelated- I love seeing that Gaa for all and all the wee kids who would never have had opportunity in the past but now do having so much fun. Fair play to a boy like him who is probably in such high demand dedicating time to it.

BigGreenField

Quote from: imtommygunn on January 26, 2026, 08:46:14 PMAh I had thought I'd seen it before. Have to say related and unrelated- I love seeing that Gaa for all and all the wee kids who would never have had opportunity in the past but now do having so much fun. Fair play to a boy like him who is probably in such high demand dedicating time to it.

Second that.

Gaa For All is absolutely fantastic

Some of the best Laochra Gael's are the ones about lads and ladies who probably didn't win a whole pile in their career on the field but have an interesting story to tell, Sambo's being the most obvious one.

The ones where, sure we won our first AI this year and then won another the following year, then X beat us that year and then we came back and beat X the following year get a bit tedious.

Quote from: johnnycool on January 29, 2026, 03:48:54 PMSome of the best Laochra Gael's are the ones about lads and ladies who probably didn't win a whole pile in their career on the field but have an interesting story to tell, Sambo's being the most obvious one.

The ones where, sure we won our first AI this year and then won another the following year, then X beat us that year and then we came back and beat X the following year get a bit tedious.

Sambo,Therese Maher, Kevin Cassidy and Keady were great.

Quote from: seafoid on January 29, 2026, 03:51:54 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 29, 2026, 03:48:54 PMSome of the best Laochra Gael's are the ones about lads and ladies who probably didn't win a whole pile in their career on the field but have an interesting story to tell, Sambo's being the most obvious one.

Only found out that the infamous Johnny Maher of Loughrea fame for hammering all round him was her brother on that episode.

Hold on he wasn't sent off for the first two strikes?? Jaysus.

Substandard

The Kieran Duff episode was one of the best for me.

Brendan

Quote from: johnnycool on January 29, 2026, 04:03:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 29, 2026, 03:51:54 PM

Only found out that the infamous Johnny Maher of Loughrea fame for hammering all round him was her brother on that episode.

Ref was defintly scared of him, looking right at him after the Penalty tripping your man  ;D

Deerstalker

Seems to be a bit of a push for players just retired, like Conor & Neil McManus -, not sure it's a great idea. 

Cyril Farrell fan

Lovely episode with Cyril Farrell last night.
If you could bottle Galway-ness into one person, that person would be Cyril.
A lovely easy way about him, stone mad about hurling, old school decency.

History will show that he was underappreciated in Galway. He delivered 3 All Irelands in a county that had a long losing tradition, but there would always have been a gang of experts in Galway who thought they knew better than him.