?
14 (50%)
?
14 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 28

Mario

Quote from: statto on November 14, 2024, 08:51:04 AM
Quote from: Mario on November 13, 2024, 07:18:31 PM
Quote from: The Trap on November 13, 2024, 05:24:44 PMWould Derry people be happy with staying in division one and reaching last 8 of all ireland in 2025 and take it from there?
I won't be happy unless we get to a semi final. Would like another Ulster final appearance as well.

We definitely are a top 6 team so a qf and staying up is expected.
The way finished up last year are they really?  Didn't lay a glove on Kerry and was a 5 point hammering really, compared to the year before when they really had them on the ropes.  By the time the year finished they were in turmoil and the wheels looked to have fallen off.  I remember watching the Westmeath game and they just looked like a team that needed put out of their misery.  The talent in Derry has never been in doubt but the mentality has always been questionable.  Its a 20 plus man game these days and Derry still need to develop the 5 subs that can help them finish out the bigger games for me. 

The carry on with getting a new manager can't be good for the group either.  Armagh, Galway, Kerry, Dublin, Donegal are all certainly ahead of them the way the season finished out and Tyrone can't be as bad again beat Mayo on penalties so nothing between them going on last year.  I would expect Tyrone to be a very dangerous animal this year.  2003 the year after Armagh won the AI they got a bounce off that along with a new manager could history repeat itself?
It was far from a 5 point hammering. We were shit but they only pulled away in the last 10. I don't think we are as bad a side as we showed in the championship last year. People always quote the Westmeath game when Armagh and Galway were equally shit v Westmeath and beat them by a similar margin as we did. We are probably somewhere between were we were in the 2 years preceding end of March 2024 and now.

You seem to be making the assumption that Derry will continue to be as bad as they showed in the group stages last year. Id have that as the rock bottom for this team, which was still good enough to beat Mayo. The players should be fresher than they usually are going into a new season too with no club teams in the latter stages.

You seem to be agreeing with me anyway as you only named 5 teams ahead of us based on last years form, but as Derry fans know, last season means very little and if we get back to any sort of form we'll put it up to any of those teams. Armagh were probably ranked about 7 or 8 last year after relegation and a poor championship and they won the whole thing. If you are in that group you have a chance.

Tyrone aren't as bad as they showed but they don't have the players to challenge the best teams when it matters. They've barely won a championship game in 3 years. O'Rourke isn't a miracle worker.

WT4E

Quote from: tbrick18 on November 14, 2024, 12:13:08 PM
Quote from: WT4E on November 14, 2024, 12:09:06 PM
Quote from: statto on November 14, 2024, 11:54:54 AMThe way things turned out I think Paddy Tally is a good appointment.  Good tactician, experience of winning and being in and around big players. His Sigerson success was a remarkable achievement with St Marys. 

And from Tyrone.... essential to teach you lads how to play a bit of ball!

Maybe yous Tirronies should be worried then, because the last few times we played yous there was a fair auld gap between us. Now that we have a Tyrone man teaching us how to play, your Fermanagh man will be quaking in his boots  ;D  :P

How many All Irelands have youse? Malachy a Tyrone man everyone knows that

Quote from: WT4E on November 14, 2024, 01:01:27 PM
Quote from: statto on November 14, 2024, 11:54:54 AMThe way things turned out I think Paddy Tally is a good appointment.  Good tactician, experience of winning and being in and around big players. His Sigerson success was a remarkable achievement with St Marys. 

Maybe yous Tirronies should be worried then, because the last few times we played yous there was a fair auld gap between us. Now that we have a Tyrone man teaching us how to play, your Fermanagh man will be quaking in his boots  ;D  :P

Adrian Dunbar,Jim from Corrie, Arelene and MOR would be the 4 most famous Fermanagh people I know of, a mixed bag

Quote from: JoG2 on November 14, 2024, 01:32:55 PM

Adrian Dunbar,Jim from Corrie, Arelene and MOR would be the 4 most famous Fermanagh people I know of, a mixed bag

Kieran Mc Kenna of Ipswich moving up the rankings these days...so he is!

sensethetone

Obviously after Rory Gallagher.

At the risk of derailing thread (ah fuckitt yous started it lolol) always thought our Jim was a belfastie. How he get his accent then?!

See he was on over the weekend with medals adorned. His dad's not his 😆

Oooh, touched a nerve there I think!
I wonder does Malachy consider himself a Tyrone man? Was he a Tyrone man when he took Fermanagh? Or did he just become a Tyrone man when he took the Tyrone job?

Real Talk

Agree with T Brick

I'm interested in who the Backroom team will be ? 

Will big Enda and Paul still be involved and also there's a big onus on an experienced S&C coach to get the players in good shape in a short space of time.

Good luck to all involved

roadsidefox

Quote from: Keyser soze on November 14, 2024, 11:42:23 AM
Quote from: roadsidefox on November 14, 2024, 10:30:33 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on November 14, 2024, 09:47:07 AM
Quote from: roadsidefox on November 13, 2024, 12:41:08 PM
Quote from: Uncle Phil on November 13, 2024, 12:34:29 PMSeriously underwhelming appointment if the Tally news is true. Especially given his tendency towards defensive football, with the new rules promoting attacking play imminent.
Who would you suggest would have been 'overwhelming'?

We would happily settle for whelming.

Ok, go. Who would have been whelming?

Here mate, you can GTF with the attitude.

Lol I was literally asking for a suggestion of who would have been better, given you seem unhappy with the current pick.

JE23

Quote from: Real Talk on November 14, 2024, 04:41:45 PMAgree with T Brick

Will big Enda and Paul still be involved and also there's a big onus on an experienced S&C coach to get the players in good shape in a short space of time.

Sounds like Muldoon and Paul McIvor are in at the minute, but Ricey is less likely.

Quote from: JE23 on November 14, 2024, 07:39:53 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on November 14, 2024, 04:41:45 PMAgree with T Brick

Sounds like Muldoon and Paul McIvor are in at the minute, but Ricey is less likely.

Paul McIvor as in Brian McIvor's son?

Mcivor Kevin McGuckin and Paul mcFlynn my sources are telling me 😉

p3427977

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 14, 2024, 08:17:50 PMMcivor Kevin McGuckin and Paul mcFlynn my sources are telling me 😉
It's on the Derry website. Is that your source? ;D

jb77

Quote from: p3427977 on November 14, 2024, 08:22:22 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 14, 2024, 08:17:50 PMMcivor Kevin McGuckin and Paul mcFlynn my sources are telling me 😉
Was just about to say lol, been up half an hour

Quote from: p3427977 on November 14, 2024, 08:22:22 PM

🤣🤣