?

?
14 (48.3%)
?
15 (51.7%)

Total Members Voted: 29

Quote from: Pocs pints and the gaa on April 06, 2025, 09:39:45 PMThe points on having a good team out on paper and then complaining about performance is contradictory given many of them players had injury concerns you'd have to thought it would always have played out the way it did with Derry waning and Donegal finishing a lot stronger.

I don't think it's the getting beat that's the main annoyance, it's the manner of it and the decision making.
TSG just said we co ceded 1-10 off our own kick out. That's just mental.

Interestingly, they didn't show the Murphy incident or mention it in commentary, but did see fit to bring up Derry's indiscipline.
A very biased bit of analysis.

Derry were beat at the 52min mark, that nothing to do with fitness, to me I thought we give up, more than Derry waning.

Stickittotheman

Quote from: tbrick18 on April 06, 2025, 09:54:40 PM
Quote from: Pocs pints and the gaa on April 06, 2025, 09:39:45 PMThe points on having a good team out on paper and then complaining about performance is contradictory given many of them players had injury concerns you'd have to thought it would always have played out the way it did with Derry waning and Donegal finishing a lot stronger.

I don't think it's the getting beat that's the main annoyance, it's the manner of it and the decision making.

Interestingly, they didn't show the Murphy incident or mention it in commentary, but did see fit to bring up Derry's indiscipline.

To be fair those bits of indiscipline where when we had Donegal on the back foot. The easy points for Donegal just took a bit of the momentum away. Kick outs are a major major problem. McNicholl can't start there again. Dear Jesus losing 1-10 from your kick out is disastrous. Sooner Lynch is back the better. Play McKinless until then, at least he is a goalie although I don't rate him very highly.

Even if Clucky was to come back he has been out for such a long time it would be madness to throw him into the heat of Championship.

But who are the top 5 keepers in the county? I liked the look of the Newbridge keeper Gribben,but he's young plus Injured. C Bradley. Scullion,J Cassidy were all previous bck up keepers who got little time. Further bck u into McKinless and Harkin.

uimhr ocht

Would any U20  start in that Derry team,Roarty started for Donegal 19yrs old,I think CHB maybe bridge lad Rodgers to like E young and finn

Quote from: Stickittotheman on April 06, 2025, 10:00:37 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on April 06, 2025, 09:54:40 PM

To be fair those bits of indiscipline where when we had Donegal on the back foot. The easy points for Donegal just took a bit of the momentum away. Kick outs are a major major problem. McNicholl can't start there again. Dear Jesus losing 1-10 from your kick out is disastrous. Sooner Lynch is back the better. Play McKinless until then, at least he is a goalie although I don't rate him very highly.

Even if Clucky was to come back he has been out for such a long time it would be madness to throw him into the heat of Championship.
[/b]

It was played at league game pace.

Derry were passing laterally, side to side.

You need to attack with pace now, not only on the counter attack.

oakleaflad

Quote from: uimhr ocht on April 06, 2025, 10:19:33 PMWould any U20  start in that Derry team,Roarty started for Donegal 19yrs old,I think CHB maybe bridge lad Rodgers to like E young and finn
E Young is still in school. Brilliant young player but give these lads their time.
Danny McDermott and Forbes likely be in the senior panel after U20s. Maybe one or two others.

oakleaflad

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 06, 2025, 10:13:55 PMBut who are the top 5 keepers in the county? I liked the look of the Newbridge keeper Gribben,but he's young plus Injured. C Bradley. Scullion,J Cassidy were all previous bck up keepers who got little time. Further bck u into McKinless and Harkin.
What is the craic with Scullion? No chance he could be coaxed back? Is Stuart still Bellaghy keeper? Thought he looked very good the few times I saw him.

THEALBION1878

Derry have 5-6 weeks now to the AI stage.

Have we anyone from the development panel (or outside it) who could come in and bolster the squad number wise to help us cope with these injuries both in defence and attack.

Hoping someone who watches a lot of club football can comment as I really only watch my own club in intermediate.

Players coming in normally need a full league programme to bed in, we guys starting or coming on the day who played a couple of league games. We pick up McDermott and Forbes from the U20,s. Is Murphy of Mfelt injured again? Derry forwards  got 2 pts from play today. Donegal forwards scored 1:14.

Quote from: Estimator on April 06, 2025, 08:26:50 PMThe only positive was the weather was good.

The wheels, engine, doors etc etc have certainly fallen off the supporters bandwagon that was roaring in 22 and 23. Probably a 75/25 maybe even 80/20 split at the game. The town end terrace looked like it was only for the Donegal supporters.

As for the game itself I've watched a couple of clips since landed home, initially I thought McGuigan was definitely hauled down.. now it looks fairly soft. Also thought Murphys challenge was only a yellow, but possibly could/should have been a red.

Tally's decision to return McNicholl to goals was ridiculous. It's not McNicholls fault, he's not a goalkeeper and he shouldn't have been put in that position. Kickouts over and underhit. Not able to pick out the runners/short kicks, and when you contrast that with Patton, it's night and day.

Still too many slow attacks. Which are the compounded by poor decision making, poor shot selection, defender making simple blocks from telegraphed shots, running into traps of three men and getting turned over. Compare with Donegal, rarely did any of them meet more than one defender at a time and more often than not they ghosted passed them. Murray had the beating of Roarty in that first half, but he wasn't getting on the ball enough.

Would've preferred to see Glass or McFaul hit that penalty. Aside from the one McGuigan hit against Tyrone a couple of years back in Omagh, I've rarely seen him hit a good one that would make the keeper work to save it.

The scary thing is that we're probably only 3 players shy of a full team. Lynch, McCloskey and GMcKinless from the injured personal would really be the only nailed on starters there. I know others have had their injury concerns, but they played today.

Praying for an easy group in the AI series.

If Lynch gets back and the squad is freshened up / bench increased with 3 or 4 u20s coming in, improved fitness for the men coming back from long injuries, we could make a decent fist of the qualifiers.

Too many big players didn't play to their v high standards today. Confidence is low which is understandable. If you think of some of the attacking play during 22/23 through massed defenses, these players should be making hay with more space. It's happening here and there. Hopefully a resurgence from the end of May.

Bradley has been a real positive this year, big strong, fast and physical. Whatever about young Baker (who finished the last couple of league games v well imo), he never throws in the towel, always puts in a big shift.
Fair play to Rogers and McFaul, just back from injury and both put in massive shifts. Rogers especially, one of the finest footballers in the country. Murray very dangerous at times.

Those Donegal hoors love their football, good craic with those all around us today.

Interstellar

The fact that there was little squad developmen with a few players retiring and now injuries was always going to be a problem. The lack of goalkeeper development is inexcusable. Derry were never going to win AI even with Gallagher's team due to lack of depth. Poor performance against Galway and played out of their skin against Kerry in AI semis. Important to keep the core of the team together while integrating some of the U20s. The key question is whether Tally is up to that job otherwise a lot of potential talent will be wasted. Not gonna happen this year so patience will be required.

Interstellar

Quote from: Interstellar on April 06, 2025, 11:42:37 PMThe fact that there was little squad developmen with a few players retiring and now injuries was always going to be a problem. The lack of goalkeeper development is inexcusable. Derry were never going to win AI even with Gallagher's team due to lack of depth. Poor performance against Galway and played out of their skin against Kerry in AI semis. Important to keep the core of the team together while integrating some of the U20s. The key question is whether Tally is up to that job otherwise a lot of potential talent will be wasted. Not gonna happen this year so patience will be required.
Also, what is it with Derry football that we seem unable to produce a few decent midfielders. Conor Glass looks totally isolated since Rogers moved into the backline.

Quote from: Interstellar on April 06, 2025, 11:52:17 PM
Quote from: Interstellar on April 06, 2025, 11:42:37 PMThe fact that there was little squad developmen with a few players retiring and now injuries was always going to be a problem. The lack of goalkeeper development is inexcusable. Derry were never going to win AI even with Gallagher's team due to lack of depth. Poor performance against Galway and played out of their skin against Kerry in AI semis. Important to keep the core of the team together while integrating some of the U20s. The key question is whether Tally is up to that job otherwise a lot of potential talent will be wasted. Not gonna happen this year so patience will be required.
Also, what is it with Derry football that we seem unable to produce a few decent midfielders. Conor Glass looks totally isolated since Rogers moved into the backline.

Could be two with serious potential joining the squad in May 🤔

T Rodgers will be the best of the underage midfielders coming through, but he's at least 3yrs away.