?

?
14 (48.3%)
?
15 (51.7%)

Total Members Voted: 29

p3427977

Can we keep the discussion to the U20's please?

Red10

Quote from: Stickittotheman on April 06, 2025, 06:51:20 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 06, 2025, 06:48:01 PMOne thing he def not is a man marker, city man or not, am only now starting to appreciate how good Chrissy was at this.

Really? Chrissy was the best man marker in the game. An unbelievable man on man marker. Baker is a decent defender. The worst corner back seen in a Derry jersey. I mean that's just a ridiculous statement.

This bucko is better not engaged with.
Quote from: Stickittotheman on April 06, 2025, 06:44:17 PM
Quote from: Ryan O on April 06, 2025, 06:19:33 PMMc Nicholl decision making is absolutely shocking, he can't see the kick out quick enough nevermind be able to implement it. Numerous opportunities to get short direct quick ball to Ethan and Ciaran on particular and he delayed too long until Donegal had it covered. For a member of backroom team to have to go and give him a hat to keep the sun out of his eyes 20mins into 1st half shows the level of goalkeeper preparation he's doing. Sick of hearing, he's not a keeper its not his fault.

Baker 1v1 is a poor of corner back as I've seen in Derry jersey niggling, pulling and dragging then when matters he's caught to far off then can't his feet sorted to actually track a man.

You would love to know what the thinking was taking off Niall Toner for Cahir Mc Monagle right when he was about to take a free. Also he was one of our only hopes in picking up breaking ball around the middle?
Paul Cassidy looks like the player we always though he was a club level, Scoring seems to be least of his worries, actually getting himself wound up long enough to get a shot away is the first hurdle.

And just for another point, Donegal were there for the taking today, we missed about 2-3 in first half and at least 6-8 points in 2nd half.

You really seem to have an issue with City players. What's wrong, no Ben McCarron to ridicule this week so it's Baker now instead. He is a decent defender but not top class. Far from hopeless as you make out though.

This bucko is better not engaged with. Seems to take delight in calling out certain players after games. Obviously hasn't a clue. Donegal were attacking Derry all day due to not winning kickouts but picks out the defenders who are left one on one with some of the best forwards in the country.

Norm-Peterson

Only way Derry will be in Croke Park this summer is if they draw Dublin in the round robin. Judging by last year's fixtures their first game will be away against a province winner.

Estimator

The only positive was the weather was good.

The wheels, engine, doors etc etc have certainly fallen off the supporters bandwagon that was roaring in 22 and 23. Probably a 75/25 maybe even 80/20 split at the game. The town end terrace looked like it was only for the Donegal supporters.

As for the game itself I've watched a couple of clips since landed home, initially I thought McGuigan was definitely hauled down.. now it looks fairly soft. Also thought Murphys challenge was only a yellow, but possibly could/should have been a red.

Tally's decision to return McNicholl to goals was ridiculous. It's not McNicholls fault, he's not a goalkeeper and he shouldn't have been put in that position. Kickouts over and underhit. Not able to pick out the runners/short kicks, and when you contrast that with Patton, it's night and day.

Still too many slow attacks. Which are the compounded by poor decision making, poor shot selection, defender making simple blocks from telegraphed shots, running into traps of three men and getting turned over. Compare with Donegal, rarely did any of them meet more than one defender at a time and more often than not they ghosted passed them. Murray had the beating of Roarty in that first half, but he wasn't getting on the ball enough.

Would've preferred to see Glass or McFaul hit that penalty. Aside from the one McGuigan hit against Tyrone a couple of years back in Omagh, I've rarely seen him hit a good one that would make the keeper work to save it.

The scary thing is that we're probably only 3 players shy of a full team. Lynch, McCloskey and GMcKinless from the injured personal would really be the only nailed on starters there. I know others have had their injury concerns, but they played today.

Praying for an easy group in the AI series.
Ulster League Champions 2009

Mario

Quote from: Ball on April 06, 2025, 07:52:31 PMHard not to be in bad form this eve.

I just keep coming back to being confused at Tally decisions.

Brings in Ben McKinless straight into starting line up for last league game then starts McNicholl today? Why bother?

Taking Toner off as he's about to hit a free? For McMonagle who he kept on the bench against Mayo in favour of Devlin?

Plays Dan Higgins midfield (who i actually thought wasnt bad) but hadnt gave him a game there through the league?
I'll attempt to defend him a bit. McKinless let in 5 goals in last game and I assume hasn't done much work if any on kickouts strategy with the team. The chance was there for him but he didn't take it. With Lynch injured Tally had no option as he should have had another goalkeeper in squad from start of year. At least McNicholl didn't make a mistake for a goal. The goalkeeping decision is by far the worst of all Tallys so far. Lynch should never have been dropped after Tyrone rule change or not.

Thought Higgins was ok as well so why criticise that decision. He never played mf in league as Tohill was there but broke his hand. Wasn't quite sure if he was mf or not though.

He took Toner off for the free but Murray scored it anyway.

His post match comments were a bit annoying, more excuses talking about building a squad, needing patience, said it's a work in progress and he gave 4 debuts. Comments you'd expect if you took over Derry 5 years ago when we were D4. Not after winning multiple Ulsters, a league title, and having a number of all stars. The bar wasn't high this year but 1 point in league and a 10 point defeat to Donegal is a shocking return, injuries or not.

Ryan O

Quote from: Red10 on April 06, 2025, 08:23:51 PM
Quote from: Stickittotheman on April 06, 2025, 06:51:20 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 06, 2025, 06:48:01 PMOne thing he def not is a man marker, city man or not, am only now starting to appreciate how good Chrissy was at this.

Really? Chrissy was the best man marker in the game. An unbelievable man on man marker. Baker is a decent defender. The worst corner back seen in a Derry jersey. I mean that's just a ridiculous statement.

This bucko is better not engaged with.
Quote from: Stickittotheman on April 06, 2025, 06:44:17 PM
Quote from: Ryan O on April 06, 2025, 06:19:33 PMMc Nicholl decision making is absolutely shocking, he can't see the kick out quick enough nevermind be able to implement it. Numerous opportunities to get short direct quick ball to Ethan and Ciaran on particular and he delayed too long until Donegal had it covered. For a member of backroom team to have to go and give him a hat to keep the sun out of his eyes 20mins into 1st half shows the level of goalkeeper preparation he's doing. Sick of hearing, he's not a keeper its not his fault.

Baker 1v1 is a poor of corner back as I've seen in Derry jersey niggling, pulling and dragging then when matters he's caught to far off then can't his feet sorted to actually track a man.

You would love to know what the thinking was taking off Niall Toner for Cahir Mc Monagle right when he was about to take a free. Also he was one of our only hopes in picking up breaking ball around the middle?
Paul Cassidy looks like the player we always though he was a club level, Scoring seems to be least of his worries, actually getting himself wound up long enough to get a shot away is the first hurdle.

And just for another point, Donegal were there for the taking today, we missed about 2-3 in first half and at least 6-8 points in 2nd half.

You really seem to have an issue with City players. What's wrong, no Ben McCarron to ridicule this week so it's Baker now instead. He is a decent defender but not top class. Far from hopeless as you make out though.

This bucko is better not engaged with. Seems to take delight in calling out certain players after games. Obviously hasn't a clue. Donegal were attacking Derry all day due to not winning kickouts but picks out the defenders who are left one on one with some of the best forwards in the country.
So you can comment on a game without naming players away and cop on to yourself with ol politically correct rubbish sitting on the fence. Call out what's in front of you.
Out of the top 5/6 forwards in the country wasn't 1 of them in Ballybofey today and if that doesn't worry you in regards to our defense then you haven't a clue. Murphy and Mc Breary are know where near the players they once were and for Baker who if counted as an experienced corner back for us now not to get the job of marking one of them shows the level of trust management have in him. Our Youngest defender on Murphy (and done rightly) and the newest member of the team on Mc Brearty.
Would you think maybe the two corner backs would have the basic game knowledge to pull right out to the corner/sideline to create some space for half backs and half forwards to try get a kickout.

statto

Quote from: uimhr ocht on April 06, 2025, 07:45:30 PMTally full of excuses beforehand talking about next year ffs,liable for that goalkeeper  and kick out strategy no progress at all,in eight matches,might not  win a match this season,he's a journey man collecting the money, that Tyrone man not hurting or annoyed tonight I'm sure,if he doesn't win a match this year  should he stay?
I would imagine Tally would be annoyed after that today regardless of what county he's from. The goalkeeping situation is a difficult one the first choice out, outfield player used majority of league, new keeper called up plays a game then reverts back to outfield player. Tally should have probably stuck with mckinless in hindsight. In fairness to any of the keepers used they are only as good as the mentality of the middle 8 in relation to showing for kickouts,competing on breakball etc.

Quote from: Mario on April 06, 2025, 08:35:17 PM
Quote from: Ball on April 06, 2025, 07:52:31 PMHard not to be in bad form this eve.

Brings in Ben McKinless straight into starting line up for last league game then starts McNicholl today? Why bother?

Taking Toner off as he's about to hit a free? For McMonagle who he kept on the bench against Mayo in favour of Devlin?

Plays Dan Higgins midfield (who i actually thought wasnt bad) but hadnt gave him a game there through the league?
I'll attempt to defend him a bit. McKinless let in 5 goals in last game and I assume hasn't done much work if any on kickouts strategy with the team. The chance was there for him but he didn't take it. With Lynch injured Tally had no option as he should have had another goalkeeper in squad from start of year. At least McNicholl didn't make a mistake for a goal. The goalkeeping decision is by far the worst of all Tallys so far. Lynch should never have been dropped after Tyrone rule change or not.

Thought Higgins was ok as well so why criticise that decision. He never played mf in league as Tohill was there but broke his hand. Wasn't quite sure if he was mf or not though.

He took Toner off for the free but Murray scored it anyway.

His post match comments were a bit annoying, more excuses talking about building a squad, needing patience, said it's a work in progress and he gave 4 debuts. Comments you'd expect if you took over Derry 5 years ago when we were D4. Not after winning multiple Ulsters, a league title, and having a number of all stars. The bar wasn't high this year but 1 point in league and a 10 point defeat to Donegal is a shocking return, injuries or not.

Mckinless can't be held at fault for conceding five goals when we were missing players like Rogers and mcfaul.
He should have been in today.

Yes Murray scored the free that toner was about to hit, but it shoes a real lack of awareness on how that type of move can disrupt a chance.

Higgins only got about 5 mins of 2nd half. Why not make the change at half time if thatvwas the intention?

Yes there have been factors outside of Tally's control, but I'm finding g it harder and harder not to criticise him. Lack of strategy, lack of intensity, poor choice of keeper, and then his comments. 
He's not covering himself in glory, and that's as diplomatic as I can be.

Donegal go man to man on kickouts, we do not, this zonal crap. Can somebody explain why we do that, when it didn't work the whole way through the league?

greenlight

At what point today did Dan Higgins play midfield?

lenny

Big Dan was having a decent game, took his goal really well. Maybe people didn't see it on tv but he got into some good positions and most often didn't get the pass. Murphy should definitely have been red carded, happened right in front of us. Even the donegal man beside me thought he was lucky to stay on. Tally has been unlucky no doubt with all the injuries but sticking with mcnicholl reeks of a bit of arrogance. Once the rule changed he should've called up a couple of proper keepers. Maybe now with a break of 5 weeks he might look at that position because it's really costing us.

Derry should take a week off, reset and go again for the next 4 weeks.

A break will do them no harm.

Pocs pints and the gaa

The points on having a good team out on paper and then complaining about performance is contradictory given many of them players had injury concerns you'd have to thought it would always have played out the way it did with Derry waning and Donegal finishing a lot stronger.

Higgins seemed to be CHF, watching highlights on tv, Derry discipline cost them 5pts. 4 men badly caught the wrong side of their players for the Donegal goal. Donegal had a no.of players who were not afraid to shoot. Derry had multi players who would not take on the responsibility of the shot when in a better position than the player they were passing to.

Mario

Interesting Tally said on RTE that Conor McCluskey is on the way back, when listing the players to return