?

?
15 (50%)
?
15 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 30

Governance, u having a laugh, I played with and against men who done serious time. We bit selective on people accused of sthing, compared to men who actually been convicted of stuff  during the troubles.

thebuzz

Maybe it's been asked before but does anyone know if the majority of players would want Gallagher back or not?

statto

Just looking back at the Ulster u20 final between Armagh and Derry in 2018.Only mcgrogan and McCloskey from that team have made significant breakthrough at senior level for Derry.Brian and Declan Cassidy kicked 2-02 and 0-05 in the game whatever happens lads like this and why do they not seem to step up at senior level?I remember at the time thinking Armagh had a right side then from that team rian o Neill,Mc Cambridge, Duffy, Mcquillan, Turbitt will all get significant minutes next week and Conor o Neill would probably have started had he not been injured.

Doire23

I think the lack of any real available, high quality, proven coaches/managers could well see RG back in the seat (on the assumption MOR is a no go). Would be disappointed to see it personally, but would not be in the slightest bit surprised.

Quote from: Doire23 on July 22, 2024, 03:00:38 PMI think the lack of any real available, high quality, proven coaches/managers could well see RG back in the seat (on the assumption MOR is a no go). Would be disappointed to see it personally, but would not be in the slightest bit surprised.

Sums up my thoughts also tbh

Red10

Quote from: statto on July 22, 2024, 04:45:45 AMJust looking back at the Ulster u20 final between Armagh and Derry in 2018.Only mcgrogan and McCloskey from that team have made significant breakthrough at senior level for Derry.Brian and Declan Cassidy kicked 2-02 and 0-05 in the game whatever happens lads like this and why do they not seem to step up at senior level?I remember at the time thinking Armagh had a right side then from that team rian o Neill,Mc Cambridge, Duffy, Mcquillan, Turbitt will all get significant minutes next week and Conor o Neill would probably have started had he not been injured.
[/quote

Conor Doherty in that team as well and Shea Downey though he hasn't really nailed down a starting place. The point is right though, we haven't got enough players through from those squads. Armagh have had the same manager who has been able to keep fellas there give them game time and develop them for the long term. Doubt RG will be the man for doing that. He wasn't the first time round.

statto

Quote from: Red10 on July 22, 2024, 04:57:45 PM
Quote from: statto on July 22, 2024, 04:45:45 AMJust looking back at the Ulster u20 final between Armagh and Derry in 2018.Only mcgrogan and McCloskey from that team have made significant breakthrough at senior level for Derry.Brian and Declan Cassidy kicked 2-02 and 0-05 in the game whatever happens lads like this and why do they not seem to step up at senior level?I remember at the time thinking Armagh had a right side then from that team rian o Neill,Mc Cambridge, Duffy, Mcquillan, Turbitt will all get significant minutes next week and Conor o Neill would probably have started had he not been injured.
[/quote

Conor Doherty in that team as well and Shea Downey though he hasn't really nailed down a starting place. The point is right though, we haven't got enough players through from those squads. Armagh have had the same manager who has been able to keep fellas there give them game time and develop them for the long term. Doubt RG will be the man for doing that. He wasn't the first time round.
apologies I missed Doherty saw Downey but as you say his game time has been really limited and would not be really known outside of Derry. Whoever gets the Derry job I would imagine should be happy to finish 6th in division 1 next year and try and unearth 3/4 players who can be trusted in championship games.

Quote from: statto on July 22, 2024, 05:45:58 PM
[/quote

apologies I missed Doherty saw Downey but as you say his game time has been really limited and would not be really known outside of Derry. Whoever gets the Derry job I would imagine should be happy to finish 6th in division 1 next year and try and unearth 3/4 players who can be trusted in championship games.

The benefit of having a long serving senior manager is that the senior team with a consistent style of play, which the underage teams should be emulating. By the time the underage players get to senior level, its a smooth transition.
Derry do/did have panel managing this I believe.

Quote from: tbrick18 on July 22, 2024, 05:51:52 PM
Quote from: statto on July 22, 2024, 05:45:58 PM
[/quote

The benefit of having a long serving senior manager is that the senior team with a consistent style of play, which the underage teams should be emulating. By the time the underage players get to senior level, its a smooth transition.
Derry do/did have panel managing this I believe.

What is this?

Every team has the same style of play - 15 men in attack and 15 men in defence when turned over.

This is the same stuff as 'The Down Way'. What the f<;k does that mean.

It's all waffle. A generic phrase that's threw out but has no meaning. 

Would ye whist

Any chance you boys could take the Downey's back to Derry, up in Antrim acting the gobshites

Quote from: Would ye whist on July 24, 2024, 10:51:24 AMAny chance you boys could take the Downey's back to Derry, up in Antrim acting the gobshites

What did they do now?
I don't think they'll be welcome back in Lavey. They opted for the soft handy number in Antrim.

Would ye whist

Starting rows against Cargin in the league final last week, coming back onto the pitch to throw punches after being sent off and don't even get me started on the conduct of their parents

Quote from: ck on July 24, 2024, 04:10:44 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on July 24, 2024, 10:51:24 AMAny chance you boys could take the Downey's back to Derry, up in Antrim acting the gobshites

What did they do now?
I don't think they'll be welcome back in Lavey. They opted for the soft handy number in Antrim.

toby47

Quote from: Would ye whist on July 24, 2024, 05:16:34 PMStarting rows against Cargin in the league final last week, coming back onto the pitch to throw punches after being sent off and don't even get me started on the conduct of their parents

Quote from: ck on July 24, 2024, 04:10:44 PM

What did they do now?

No point telling us about that carry on. We could tell you a whole lot more than you could tell us.

Doire23

Championship season kicking off tonight. Best of luck to all clubs. A few long weeks ahead before the real action starts, aka knockout.

Predictions:
SFC - Glen (more closely challenged than recent years though)
IFC - Ballinderry
JFC - Craigbane
SHC - Slaughtneil

IHC and JHC to be clearer once it all unfolds!

LoughNeagh

H&A Group Division 1 Football League
Eoghan Rua --- v --- Glenullin
Playoff
5 30 PM at Owenbeg (Ref: Martin Mc Erlane)

Predictions on this?

Coleraine lost all league games, did they just accept this fate and expect themselves to win this game? or are they genuinely in trouble?

Can Glenullin surprise them?
View from the lough!