?

?
16 (51.6%)
?
15 (48.4%)

Total Members Voted: 31

OakLeaf

Quote from: Ryan O on January 24, 2026, 04:47:18 PMShocking performance, men pulling out of tackles. Pointless substitutions.
Sean Young 69.21 on clock.
3 or 4 down and we're putting on Shea Downey for Toner and after that Mc Gurk for Loughlin.

Which one of them two would get you a score.
Shit talk for 2 years about systems and tactics, this teams miles off it and from what I see the desire not there to make a shape at changing that.

I wouldn't be that pessimistic. We're definitely not fit enough. Missed pick ups, catches etc are more a sign of fitness/rustiness than anything else. If we'd taken even 10% more of our chances we would have won that game. The raw materials are there but it needs a lot of fine tuning.

themania

Meath much the better side, More physical, faster and more efficient on the ball and at taking scores. Glass looks off the pace and we still only have about 2 forwards that are shooters. As Ryan O pointed out If thats the best we can bring off the bench im afraid we will be nowhere near it.

jb77

Our lack of ability to break down a defence is concerning forgetting all the sloppy play from both sides, is Murray the only forward who can make something happen himself? The kind of player Sean Young will be at 25 is the player we need today.

Could be painful next week if Tyrone are able to rest Kennedy, McCurry McElholm etc today

Fair few men in here on their beeriods by the looks of it.

Disappointing yes, but let's not write the season off in January.

Glass, McGuigan and BR are just getting up to pace.
Murray a huge loss today, and I would have tried Young inside and sprung McAteer off the bench (hindsight on all).

Kickouts a mixed bag, a definite improvement from Donegal.

McKinless, Clucky, Paudi v good. Good to see Forbes out there.

Conditions v poor, but the ball has to go in quicker, you play possession football against a hungry team, possession will be coughed up

Would question the desire and passion of a few men today, workrate and aggression has to be to be to the fore

We're div 2 level atm, Meath were a top 4 team last year, beat Kerry, Dub, Galway, they're a good side.

We'll still be there or thereabouts re promotion.

Interstellar

Said after the Donegal game that Derry have lost their attacking nous. The 2 previous successful seasons were characterised by attacking prowess and cutting through defences with men coming off the shoulder and goals.

Stickittotheman

Thought it was a very flat performance with Meath much the better side. Attack wise some men are getting a game on reputation because they havent produced for a while now. Few others looked well off the pace. Some big hitters there today who we expect more from but they will know that themselves.

Meenagh talked about the difficulty in turning around the mentality. Once in a run of losing games or not picking up wins it becomes a habit. Confidence is low. But let's be honest a league campaign leading to a decent stab at Ulster is probably our aim this season.

Ryan O

Stating that these lads are getting up to speed I really don't think is good enough for a team with big ambitions. Serious footballers are ready to go when the proper season starts, that was today.

Does anyone know what our kickout strategy actually is after 3 games, once a team works out to push up on us the full back line struggle to break the line. Going to half back line doesn't seem to be an option.

We are attempting to play a similar style of football to Donegal bar the attacking element at this stage, for this to work a minimum of 4 forwards have to get really high up the pitch when we get over half way line. Thats inside the 13 yard line high.

When at any stage today did our full forward line win kicked ball? Or be in a space for the ball to be kicked?

doh827

Any word on what happened with Murray or Scullion?

Ryan O

jb77

Murray has a knock should be back for Kildare, Scullion same again, decided to switch goalkeepers minutes before throw in. Jack Doherty if he isn't in injured will probably tie with Glen soon and I'll not blame him

doh827

Looks like Glass has an ankle injury. Has strapping on it the last 2 games.

Ryan O

Quote from: jb77 on January 24, 2026, 08:50:12 PMMurray has a knock should be back for Kildare, Scullion same again, decided to switch goalkeepers minutes before throw in. Jack Doherty if he isn't in injured will probably tie with Glen soon and I'll not blame him
What would be the reason to switch keepers I'd love to know, what does Mc Guckian do better than Scullion?

Aside from the fact that he's not actually a goalkeeper and if/when Lynch returns his club and county goalkeeper run out is done.

jb77

Quote from: Ryan O on January 24, 2026, 09:16:25 PM
Quote from: jb77 on January 24, 2026, 08:50:12 PMMurray has a knock should be back for Kildare, Scullion same again, decided to switch goalkeepers minutes before throw in. Jack Doherty if he isn't in injured will probably tie with Glen soon and I'll not blame him
What would be the reason to switch keepers I'd love to know, what does Mc Guckian do better than Scullion?

Aside from the fact that he's not actually a goalkeeper and if/when Lynch returns his club and county goalkeeper run out is done.

Should have made it clear lol, scullion has a slight injury too

Derry were flat. Didn't seem to have the same determination that Meath had. When the new rules were introduced I knew it wouldn't suit derry, or other teams that dont have big men around the middle and that's proving the case with us.
We can't break lines. under old rules we attacked with 15 and defended with 15 which meant we had runners off the shoulde, we dont seem to have adapted to the new rules at all.

kickouts are a major worry. keeper did grand, there was just no movement out the field.

we played ok in spells but nowhere near the level needed imo.
some very sloppy passing, not enough pressing on Meath defence from kickouts, not enough support for our defenders who got isolated.
a number of lads backed out of 1v1 race for the ball too which was very worrying.
I do agree with some of the other comments on us still playing the old way - we never kick a ball long so our game is too predictable.

I didn't expect to win today but id hoped for a better performance.
disappointing,  but its game 1 in the league, there's time to put things right, but players need to look at themselves after that game and do better, or try harder.

lenny

Lads, we've had 2 and a half years of instability and chaos. This year is all about stabilising and developing the squad. Keeper played well today and Mcateer will benefit from his first start. Good to see Matthew Downey back and fit, he did well. Mckinless played really well but our key players who missed the McKenna cup were rusty and that cost us. Fair play to Meath, they're a good side and the ref allowed them to push the boundaries.