Catholic nonsense

Started by seafoid, September 30, 2016, 09:27:55 AM

cant remember (too lazy to search) who recommended the sam harris podcasts in this thread but thank you very much.  very enjoyable

OmaghJoe's argument is always simply to allow you to go to the edge of proven science and insist that God lives just beyond it.

There is no evidence, observation or even solid theory to work with.

No wides

So prior to the new God 2000 odd years ago, did mankind feck themselves by worshiping other Gods even know they didn't know about the new God, and why did the new God wait so long before introducing himself, the Egyptians were a smart race - why did he not give them a shout or was he just shy and wanted to wait until he got his Word correct?

Quote from: No wides on October 06, 2016, 02:08:11 PM
So prior to the new God 2000 odd years ago, did mankind feck themselves by worshiping other Gods even know they didn't know about the new God, and why did the new God wait so long before introducing himself, the Egyptians were a smart race - why did he not give them a shout or was he just shy and wanted to wait until he got his Word correct?

Many Bibles stories are re-hashed versions of earlier myths, e.g. Noah and the Ark: http://history-world.org/floods.htm

Sure there are probably still natives in the darkest reaches of the Amazon who, this very day, have yet to experience the delights of organized religion and the Judaeo-Christian god! What fate awaits those poor wretches through no fault of their own? Never mind those eejits among us who were in the club but came to an honest, logical, properly thought-out conclusion that's it's all a load of bollocks!

Quote from: muppet on October 06, 2016, 01:30:33 PM
OmaghJoe's argument is always simply to allow you to go to the edge of proven science and insist that God lives just beyond it.

There is no evidence, observation or even solid theory to work with.

Utter bollocks muppet as usual, have I even mentioned God in this thread? Tho to be fair a straw man is usually a more intricate fallacy than your usual red herring (tho maybe not in this case).

Tho I will reiterate what my point is and that is we can never be completely sure of anything.

And even if you do believe in a materialist world fine but why would you assume that empiricism can give you an accurate picture of that world? Its a massive jump in logic to assume that it does, and the discovery of the bizarre realm of quantum mechanics with spooky action and randomness more or less confirms that our empirical view of things aint accurate, and also begs the question is that realm a true picture of reality?

Quote from: J70 on October 06, 2016, 02:52:31 PM

Sure there are probably still natives in the darkest reaches of the Amazon who, this very day, have yet to experience the delights of organized religion and the Judaeo-Christian god! What fate awaits those poor wretches through no fault of their own? Never mind those eejits among us who were in the club but came to an honest, logical, properly thought-out conclusion that's it's all a load of bollocks!

So whats not bollocks J70?

No wides

Quote from: omaghjoe on October 06, 2016, 03:07:29 PM

What is bollocks is some ever present being that waited 198,000 years before showing his hand to mankind, though maybe he only has space in the eternal kingdom for a finite number so wanted all the savages from back in the day to piss off to hell.

Quote from: No wides on October 06, 2016, 03:13:14 PM

What is bollocks is some ever present being that waited 198,000 years before showing his hand to mankind, though maybe he only has space in the eternal kingdom for a finite number so wanted all the savages from back in the day to piss off to hell.

Maybe it is, maybe it isnt. Since time is just another dimension maybe he wasn't waiting at all?

But please tell me what isnt bollocks, please tell me what you have where the logic adds up. Muppet seems to know but refuses to tell me can you let me in on it? IM if you dont want to tell the world....Is it Scientology? Is that why no one will tell me?

No wides

It's life - like all animals, you are born, live your life and die. 

Quote from: No wides on October 06, 2016, 03:25:50 PM

EH? So quantum mechanics is BS then? How did we come to experience life?

Esmarelda

From reading omaghjoe's posts on this thread and from a prior discussion we had, I think he makes some good points, as far as I can follow them.

Joe, on the conscience bit, and considering where humans evolved from, do you think our non-human ancestors all had a conscience, or at what point did it come about?

That Klopp has got Liverpool playing marvelous football. That Michael Murphy is a once in a generation full forward being sacrificed for the greater good of the Donegal team in the era of blanket defenses. That the day is lit up by the sun. That science is an incredible tool to investigate the universe.

Are you really looking for a list?

No wides

Quote from: omaghjoe on October 06, 2016, 03:34:05 PM
Quote from: No wides on October 06, 2016, 03:25:50 PM

EH? So quantum mechanics is BS then? How did we come to experience life?

You asked me what is not bullshit - life isn't, for 7 billion people on this planet they are born, they live whatever hand they have and they die.  If you are away in another dimension like stargate good for you hope the weather is pleasant.