Started by Jinxy, April 30, 2007, 02:51:20 PM

Louper

oh jinxy it was! i can still hear the crack to this day!  :D

I feel sick after hearing that.

Always found Jason Sherlock to be an exceptionally brave and honest player.

On  a non partisan basis I always admired Anthony Rainbow for his balls.

Quote from: Canalman on May 02, 2007, 09:10:21 PM
Always found Jason Sherlock to be an exceptionally brave and honest player.

On  a non partisan basis I always admired Anthony Rainbow for his balls.

Never thought Rainbow was that brave, if that is what you're getting at (please tell me it is). Glen Ryan was plenty brave though.

loughshore lad

Quote from: Louper on May 02, 2007, 04:44:49 PM

fay devlin hit benny mcvey the dirtiest coldest box ive seen, in a challenge match at st marys playin fields in magherafelt. benny had to go off with concussion. clean?

Stand by what I say Fay was a clean player, very selective post there Louper - I was at that game and wont deny or condone that Fay hit McVey but from what I recall of the incident McVey didnt get it for nothing  ;) ;) 

Francie, paidi brave as f**k. it doesnt matter how big a lad is the fact is they are willing to put the body on the line. any part of their body.

glen ryan was brave and so was rainbow but i tell ya an ex clubman declan kerrignan was as brave as they come. some man on the break. in one game for the club he got 2 kicks to the head and still went into the mix for the rest of the game.

for hurling ciaran carey was a lunatic and also you have to mention john power kk. noy jaysus those lads never shirked anything thrown at them.

johnjoe

Hurling   Anthony Daly

Football  Martin Gavigan,  Paudi Shea, but for a forward who could give it and take it, must be Colm O Rourke.

In fairness those Mc Entees could handle themselves too.

The Bottom Brick

From Cavan, Bernard Morris and Damien O Reilly, not many from the current team bar Anthony Gaynor, who's as brave as he is unreliable

Lockhart is a hardy little bastard I always thought

Hugo Clerkin and Gerry McCarville from the Monaghan team of the 80s - animals!!!
33, 35, 47, 48, 52, 07!

There's generally a zone of focussed bravery where players go flat out for the ball, no  matter who or what is in the way. a player either falls within this or he doesn't. you can't seperate degrees of bravery within that category. their eejits or their not.

Quote from: johnjoe on May 03, 2007, 10:56:28 AM
Hurling   Anthony Daly

Football  Martin Gavigan,  Paudi Shea, but for a forward who could give it and take it, must be Colm O Rourke.

In fairness those Mc Entees could handle themselves too.

It just hit me like a truck when you mentioned the twins. GERRY McENTEE! A man who despite years of training to eventually become one of the top surgeons in the country, risked it all by never holding back on the football field when a hand injury could have had serious repercussions for his career. I think he did actually break something in his hand once. I wouldn't say he ever thought about it for a second when he was on the field. Not the most skilful player but you always got 100% effort from him and if the ball was there he went for it like his life depended on it. Watched the first Meath-Dublin game in '91 from the stands and said "F*ck this for a game of soldiers" and rejoined the panel for the remaining games. I suppose you could put Pat O'Neill in the same category as well. They say you need to be a bit mad to be a surgeon! ;D

phpearse

Always thought Enda McGinley never shirked a tackle. Tended to put the head and hands in where it hurt. But then again looking his long injury list maybe 'silly' should be substitued for 'brave'. Sometimes when you are second best for the ball it pays to hold back or else forget about the ball and tighten for the challenge. But with McGinley you can be guaranteed that if theres a ball to be won he'll go for it.

Fíor Gael

Charlie Redmond, that man had no fear, balls of steel, he missed penalty after penalty and just kept stepping up to take the next one.

Armagh Exile

Several players spring to mind.
Lorcan Dowd of roscommon, now theres a boy as brave as you'll find.
Marke Harte. Mickeys cub.
Paddy Bradley.
Ciaran Mc Bride.....now joint coach of  recent Hogan cup winners omagh CBS...Balls of steel.

I need two more to complete a forward line that would scare the Bejasus out of a lot of defenses ;)

Quote from: Bensars on May 03, 2007, 12:36:06 PM
Several players spring to mind.
Lorcan Dowd of roscommon, now theres a boy as brave as you'll find.
Marke Harte. Mickeys cub.
Paddy Bradley.
Ciaran Mc Bride.....now joint coach of  recent Hogan cup winners omagh CBS...Balls of steel.

I need two more to complete a forward line that would scare the Bejasus out of a lot of defenses ;)

How about Martin Lynch and Conor Mortimer? ;D