Kerry V Tyrone Fodder AISF 23rd August 2015

Started by never kickt a ball, August 02, 2015, 04:58:12 PM

Soup an Samajiz

Tyrone were very much still in the game up until maybe 5mins before they got the penalty, I felt Tyrone though had more than matched Kerry and at half time I actually fancied Tyrone to kick on and win it. But Kerry definitely pulled away and a four point lead before the penalty was definitely a huge cushion, the penalty was a lifeline for Tyrone, and then when Tyrone drew level it would have been a brave man to bet against Tyrone, which then made the "non-penalty" a hard thing to ignore in the scheme of things.

But for Kerry to turn round and kick four points in such quick succession in that scenario was v impressive. I don't think you can blame us for a bit of the "what ifs" and I do think there is grounds for it, but Kerry won and the way in which they clocked up the last 4 points and closed out the game I think was the big difference, don't think Tyrone ever looked like turning the screw like that.

Spoke to an aul Kerry fella after the game and he was as bad a winner as I'd come across, sickening smart comments, but when I didn't bite back he quickly turned and had a few great honest insights, had a lot of respect for Tyrone and Micky Harte's set up and the youth coming through Tyrone. The grief and bad feeling is their surely but under it all I think everybody knows the Championship would be a much lesser place without the rivalry. We've thrashed this thread out til no end and my hangover's only getting worse. I'll let you's boys fight on there but I'll look forward til another crack in 2016 no doubt.
Think like a wise person but communicate in the language of the people

Disappointing loss yesterday - Kerry were definitely the better team. We can complain about refereeing decisions all we want but Tyrone didn't take their chances - simple as that. Thought Colm Cavanagh did a fantastic job for Tyrone along with Mark Bradley.

It almost wasn't fair the quality of players that Kerry were able to bring off the bench yesterday.

On a positive note for Tyrone - no-one expected them to get this far so soon with that team - there could be a few bright years ahead with them boys.

The one thing about being beat is that everyone loves ye and your football.  Sunday game was at their gushing best last night. 
Aside from that Kerrys last 10 minutes was impressive.  At that stage it was obvious it wasn't going to be our day.  Good strong breakaway finishes as Tyrone became fairly ragged and stretched.  Their  minors going for 2 in a row.  You would have to say that Kerry are here to stay.

Quote from: rrhf on August 24, 2015, 01:45:32 PM
The one thing about being beat is that everyone loves ye and your football.  Sunday game was at their gushing best last night. 
Aside from that Kerrys last 10 minutes was impressive.  At that stage it was obvious it wasn't going to be our day.  Good strong breakaway finishes as Tyrone became fairly ragged and stretched.  Their  minors going for 2 in a row.  You would have to say that Kerry are here to stay.

Unlike the IRA Kerry never went away!!!

Quote from: rrhf on August 24, 2015, 01:45:32 PM

Yerra, we're only in transition still.  :)

All experts now saying winner will be from Mayo-Dublin. Kerry into final still in the long grass. Used 6 subs y'day and still had Galvin and Walsh unused.

Marc OSe about to play in his 10th All-Ireland final, same as his uncle.

Keane

Post-match analysis from beaten teams always seems to say the loser should have scored every chance but the opposition missed nothing.

There's always the implicit assertion that the losers getting their goal or kicking their free or whatever would provoke no change from the winners, no tactical adjustments, no increase in effort levels, no slowing the game down, nothing.

The reality is we only have one sample to go by as to what would have happened if Tyrone got a goal, on the one occasion they did Kerry smoothly moved up a gear, owned the ball for ten minutes and kicked four points at their leisure.

some going that... fair play.  Lets avoid talk of transition as its a bit cute.. 
With the youth set up paying off, their amazing tradition and also the quick run in,  I think its not unreasonable to expect Kerry to be in most finals for the next 10 years, and winning between 6 - 7 titles. 
Dubs might grab 1/2 more.  Mayo might grab 1.  Tyrone might grab 1.  Anything else probably wont happen.

If we had been as clinical as Kerry in front of the posts we might have won, but we weren't, so Kerry won deservedly and congrats to them; a particularly impressive series of points in the last few minutes. 

A curious refereeing display from Mr Deegan once again, but he was't the cause of our loss (though the gap at the end might have been closer had a couple of his decisions abided by the consensus).

Roll on 2016!  :)

Tyrone got a penalty against us for nothing earlier in the year so what goes around comes around.

Quote from: Jinxy on August 24, 2015, 02:31:32 PM
Tyrone got a penalty against us for nothing earlier in the year so what goes around comes around.
You would make a great referee. 
A soft penalty against Meath in June hardly matters at the level we are talking about here.

The issue of missed chances is a red herring lads as they don't stand on their own.  Tyrone could have executed one of the goal chances and kerry could have gone straight back up the field and scored one back.  The dynamic of the game is such that hindsight is never a 20/20 view as you don't know how players react unless the circumstances happen.  Kerry pulled away after Tyrone scored the penalty,  what's to say they wouldn't have done the same,  the likelihood is they would have.  A score or a miss has different dynamic effects so there's no point with the ifs and buts.

Quote from: rrhf on August 24, 2015, 02:33:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 24, 2015, 02:31:32 PM
You would make a great referee. 
A soft penalty against Meath in June hardly matters at the level we are talking about here.

WE should be in the final.

Well, missed chances are not a red herring. Tyrone clearly had chances they didn't take. Using them as an explanation for losing the game is the red herring because you are right, you can't tell how Kerry would react. They reacted well to the goal they did concede.

exactly and as they say these things tend to even out over a season.. Is Hughes or Deegan amongst the guys likely to get the all Ireland this year. 

longballin

Tyrone did very well but ultimately Kerry better team. Plenty of patronising pats on the head now like the old days... had Tyrone won would have all been a crying match about McNulty 'dive' and McNabb taking out Gooch...