Kerry V Tyrone Fodder AISF 23rd August 2015

Started by never kickt a ball, August 02, 2015, 04:58:12 PM

Quote from: twohands!!! on August 23, 2015, 08:56:35 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 23, 2015, 08:42:01 PMI was surprised that Sheehan came on in a game like today as he has a yellow streak in him. Maher was the pick of Kerry's midfield.

It's one thing playing Sheehan in the half-forward line where he can get away with abject defending and a lack of hunger to fight for ball, but playing him in midfield is just asking for trouble. Have to wonder what the story is with Tommy Walsh given how decent he looked in his brief cameo in the Kildare game (where Sheehan was pretty much the only Kerry player to have a poor day)

I think David Moran is carrying an injury. He was taken off with Kerry up by 5. Kerry thinking of the Bigger day. Tommy Walsh looking good v Kildare, jez BJK looked good v Kildare. Tommy Walsh i fear is not out of injury either. There seems to be nothing more than a half left in him.

Quote from: twohands!!! on August 23, 2015, 08:59:50 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 23, 2015, 08:52:21 PM
Quote from: beer baron on August 23, 2015, 07:32:59 PM
This whole thing that the tackle on Gooch was definitely a red is a head scratcher for me,the angles i seen weren't conducive to forming a definite answer, hopefully the Sunday game will have a better angle.

It was late and absolutely filthy. Straight red without a shadow of a doubt.

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/gif-ronan-mcnabb-colm-cooper/305970

Red all day long.

Straight red.

But not only that. Cooper had put his attempt wide and Tyrone had the checkout with time to get the ball down the pitch. Instead Kerry got to eat up time, get possession and kick a simple free to put them three up. It was a monumentally stupid thing to do in the circumstances.

Quote from: INDIANA on August 23, 2015, 08:44:36 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on August 23, 2015, 08:37:54 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 23, 2015, 08:32:27 PM
I dont know what you watching Moran dominated him and only went off for fresh legs, it was telling Tyrone came back into it when he went off

He didn't dominate him at all. Moran is one of Kerry's best players and his impact on the game was negligible, Donnelly was very involved for Tyrone all day long and certainly seemed to have much more of an impact including getting on the scoresheet. You say Moran stopped Donnelly, why wouldn't it be the other way round. Moran had an extremely quiet day by his standards today.

But Kerry won

I think this is the first fact you have got correct on this thread.

beer baron

Quote from: beer baron on August 23, 2015, 09:09:56 PM
Still not certain that's a red.

Then there is no hope. That sort of thing has no place in the game. It was a piece of cowardly thuggery.

I know what John McEnroe would say....

The fact that McNabb stayed down himself letting on he was hurt tells you all you need to know

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 23, 2015, 09:04:26 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on August 23, 2015, 08:56:35 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 23, 2015, 08:42:01 PMI was surprised that Sheehan came on in a game like today as he has a yellow streak in him. Maher was the pick of Kerry's midfield.

It's one thing playing Sheehan in the half-forward line where he can get away with abject defending and a lack of hunger to fight for ball, but playing him in midfield is just asking for trouble. Have to wonder what the story is with Tommy Walsh given how decent he looked in his brief cameo in the Kildare game (where Sheehan was pretty much the only Kerry player to have a poor day)

I think David Moran is carrying an injury. He was taken off with Kerry up by 5. Kerry thinking of the Bigger day. Tommy Walsh looking good v Kildare, jez BJK looked good v Kildare. Tommy Walsh i fear is not out of injury either. There seems to be nothing more than a half left in him.

I know the Kildare game is not much to base evidence on but the fact is I thought Sheehan was utterly dire in that game even with Kerry cruising whereas Walsh did have a few decent moments. I'd tend to agree that it looked very much like Moran was taken off with an eye on the final/possibly had a knock as otherwise I'd say it was a mad decision (Can't help but ponder what would be done to Fitzmaurice in the Kingdom if Kerry hadn't won and it turned out Moran was fit)

I know some Tyrone folk are talking about progress but based on their performance today and in other games this year I really don't see an All-Ireland in them anytime soon. The fact that Sean Kavanagh was so quiet today was very ominous to my mind. Division 2 is a long way off Division 1 in terms of bringing through youngsters if you want to challenge for Sam. It was probably a 6 or 7 out of 10 performance by Kerry and while they never looked comfortable, they definitely looked the better side.

Quote from: gallsman on August 23, 2015, 09:12:23 PM

Then there is no hope. That sort of thing has no place in the game. It was a piece of cowardly thuggery.

Ah ffs, don't start the shite again, it was a late hit. It happens at every grade in nearly every contact sport. McNabb was flying across because he thought Gooch was in on goal. His momentum carried him through Gooch. It wasn't nice but no need to start another witch hunt.

An Watcher

65 mins 20 seconds Deegan gives McNulty a yellow card for diving. Kerry were a point up at this stage.  That's how close we came to winning today. Takes a big ref to give two pens to the same team in any game but I do believe they were both penalties.

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 23, 2015, 09:16:04 PM

Ah ffs, don't start the shite again, it was a late hit. It happens all the time at every grade in nearly every contact sport. McNabb was flying across because he thought Gooch was in on goal. His momentum carried him through Gooch. It wasn't nice but no need to start another witch hunt.

Stop it with your own bollocks. McNabb made no f**king attempt to play the ball whatsoever. If it hadn't been late, it still should have been red. That it was late just makes it even worse.

Who said anything about a witch hunt? I (and others here) are calling one specific incident, in one specific game. Lose that giant chip on your shoulder ffs.

Well done Kerry. They constantly adapt. They are some footballing county.

A vast improvement in Tyrone over the last 6 weeks. The year will be viewed as successful in blooding a lot of new young players and in
the defeat today they will have learned a lot.

To be successful at the top level any need team needs to be ruthless.Today Tyrone weren't and once they levelled after the penalty they needed to push on. A little bit more guile in the stretch would have been good but that will come with experience.

An accurate distance free taker, more appetite and ruthlessness in going for goal would take them forward in leaps and bounds.

A hugely spirited and positive performance.

Great also to see the Mickey Harte is staying on for 2016

beer baron

Ah jaysus well if you lads are telling me it was a definite red and thuggery i better believe it and not wait until i can watch it properly on a tv rather than on a small laptop screen  ::).

Looks like he came to catch him with a shoulder at full tilt and may have caught him on the head if that's the case i wouldn't give a red, i may be seeing that wrong at the minute, hence why i said i want to get a proper look at it. I do know one thing for certain people seem very fond of going ott with anything done by a Tyrone player.

Estimator

Red card for McNabb and Black card for McMahon for tripping Cooper.
But I've the chance to watch the clip a few times.
Ulster League Champions 2009

squire_in_navy_slacks

Celtic tiger OMahony got away with that late pull down bucks,  cannot wait until either mayo or dublin find him out in the final

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 23, 2015, 09:16:04 PM

Ah ffs, don't start the shite again, it was a late hit. It happens at every grade in nearly every contact sport. McNabb was flying across because he thought Gooch was in on goal. His momentum carried him through Gooch. It wasn't nice but no need to start another witch hunt.