Kerry V Tyrone Fodder AISF 23rd August 2015

Started by never kickt a ball, August 02, 2015, 04:58:12 PM

paddyoslabs

the truth is bitter.Collins a man with great foresight  :)

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Quote from: Put Up That Flag on August 17, 2015, 01:53:51 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 17, 2015, 01:40:00 PM
Quote from: Put Up That Flag on August 17, 2015, 01:36:10 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 17, 2015, 01:30:23 PM
So any chance of some football talk breaking out here?

If JOD doesn't make it who will come in? Donaghy is a not a like for like player so Fitzmaurice would have to come up with a change in tactics. Will we see the gooch return to FF?

Only way Tyrone will give Kerry any sort of a game is by bringing the game into the gutter (which should be no problem for them as they do that in every game) but Kerry have far no many quality players for the hatchet team. Kerry to win pulling up.

Tyrone have a lot of quality players on their team.  I hate this old rehashed thing that every tube in the media seems to spout at the minute  about this Tyrone team not being a patch on the previous one.  If you go back to 2003 the current Tyrone team were a bunch of fairly unknowns and the like of the O'Neills, McGuigans, Jordans, Gormleys etc were all finding their feet and had done very little of note in the championship by that stage.  This current team is not as good as the previous team going on what we now know, i.e. how good it became in 2005/08 etc but who knows what they can achieve.  A lot of this current squad have won All Irelands at minor and u-21 level therefore there is a lot of talent and big game experience there.

Pure hatchet team between 2003 and 2008 as well except they managed to fool everyone into thinking they were decent footballers but under the surface the dark arts and cynical tactics were in full swing back then even. You mention the under 21 victory?  Do you mean the one this year where an opponents head was nearly decapitated by a Tyrone elbow in the semi final?  Or perhaps in the final where it was toned down to just kneeing opponents in the head?

As a Kerry man, that is utter nonsense. Hatchet men.. ::) ..A team with Philip Jordan, Cavanagh, McGuigan, Dooher, Canavan, O'Neill were nothing but hatchet men?
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

GJL

Quote from: Put Up That Flag on July 18, 2015, 04:33:52 PM
Tipp awful poor,  Tyrone not much better,  Sligo or Monaghan won't lose much sleep about having to play them.

When is the appeal being heard? Presumably it'll be today or tomorrow. Poor form from the GAA to have it dragged on this long

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 17, 2015, 04:31:02 PM

If JOD doesn't make it who will come in? Donaghy is a not a like for like player so Fitzmaurice would have to come up with a change in tactics. Will we see the gooch return to FF?

Only way Tyrone will give Kerry any sort of a game is by bringing the game into the gutter (which should be no problem for them as they do that in every game) but Kerry have far no many quality players for the hatchet team. Kerry to win pulling up.

Tyrone have a lot of quality players on their team.  I hate this old rehashed thing that every tube in the media seems to spout at the minute  about this Tyrone team not being a patch on the previous one.  If you go back to 2003 the current Tyrone team were a bunch of fairly unknowns and the like of the O'Neills, McGuigans, Jordans, Gormleys etc were all finding their feet and had done very little of note in the championship by that stage.  This current team is not as good as the previous team going on what we now know, i.e. how good it became in 2005/08 etc but who knows what they can achieve.  A lot of this current squad have won All Irelands at minor and u-21 level therefore there is a lot of talent and big game experience there.

Pure hatchet team between 2003 and 2008 as well except they managed to fool everyone into thinking they were decent footballers but under the surface the dark arts and cynical tactics were in full swing back then even. You mention the under 21 victory?  Do you mean the one this year where an opponents head was nearly decapitated by a Tyrone elbow in the semi final?  Or perhaps in the final where it was toned down to just kneeing opponents in the head?

As a Kerry man, that is utter nonsense. Hatchet men.. ::) ..A team with Philip Jordan, Cavanagh, McGuigan, Dooher, Canavan, O'Neill were nothing but hatchet men?

To be fair to him, I'm not sure Put up that flag would have been born during that era.

I'd always have Enda McGinley as the most important man on that 08 team. Maybe not the most obviously talented footballer but the contribution around the park was immense, if he played Tyrone didn't lose, if he scored we won, that's a recorded fact of our championship 08.

SkillfulBill

Now that the hysteria surrounding Tyrone is begining to ebb at least untill the CCC are forced into a humiliating climb down. I am begining to get a feeling that Tyrone are in with a massive shout to create a major upset on Sunday. I can see why people think Tyrone are cannon fodder to a Kerry side who looked the real deal the last day. Very strong at midfield with slick high scoring forwards and very strong bench. On paper Kerry should make the final with room to spare. Games on paper are based on conventional man to man match ups but Mickey Hartes teams are anything but conventional when it comes to Croke Parks big days out.Harte has the habit of turning teams percived strengths into weaknesses as could be seen in the Twin tower threat of a previous Kerry incarnation. I expect that on Sunday Kerrys midfield will be targeted like never before and i expect the middle third will be flooded with breakball merchants like harte and bradley and fast all out runners being off loaded down the wings.

Kerrys lack of pace at the back will come in for some serious attention and i suspect O Mahony and O Sea may find they no longer have the legs for this level of football.

Tyrone look very secure at the back with a two sweeper system and will relish Kerry's williness to come on to them and push men up to support their front men which will really congest the play in Tyrones scoring zone. Providing Tyrone stay disciplined in the tackle this will work to their advantage. Kerry have the ability to score fron range but as has been proven before as the game goes on and legs tier this never proves to be match winning tactics.

Don't see Kerry finding the Tyrone net with any ease in this one and i think it will come down to a point scoring game and i think that it were Tyrone have a major advantage in that they can win games when goals are kept to the minimum.

Anyone out there with the wishfull thinking that this will be another Kerry turkey shoot will be advised not to tune in for this one as they may be sorely dissapointed.

Realistically kerry should win this game in the first 20 minutes.  Tyrone people will dream for sure but last year's Ai champions are motoring nicely, won with a record score 2 weeks ago and may well get every decision from the ref.  The job started in the studio and papers will be finished out on the field.  I just hope we don't get too bad a hiding but we are 4th favourite for a reason.  This is mayo s year.

Quote from: trileacman on August 17, 2015, 06:15:46 PM

I'd always have Enda McGinley as the most important man on that 08 team. Maybe not the most obviously talented footballer but the contribution around the park was immense, if he played Tyrone didn't lose, if he scored we won, that's a recorded fact of our championship 08.

Total agree re Enda McGinley. He was the vital cog in that side. Class act. However Ryan Mellon was robbed for man of the match in the final in my opinion.

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 18, 2015, 03:46:00 AM
Quote from: trileacman on August 17, 2015, 06:15:46 PM

Total agree re Enda McGinley. He was the vital cog in that side. Class act. However Ryan Mellon was robbed for man of the match in the final in my opinion.

The most important player in 08 was Colm McCullagh lads. Very unlucky to get injured early for of the final

Im enjoying these Kerry ones tut tuting about McCannagate and the injustice of it all, making it look like they are on our side.

Trying to blunt the sting of an inevitable reaction from the whole affair being exercised on their goodselves me thinks.

Do I remember Horan at something similar after Brollygate a couple of years back?

Heard on the radio that McCann's appeal is this evening, should be interesting

GJL

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 18, 2015, 09:07:09 AM
Heard on the radio that McCann's appeal is this evening, should be interesting straight forward

Some of the newbies on here spouting crap should go get a life. As an Armagh man much as I detested getting beaten by Tyrone teams in the noughties I could not help but admire their spirit togetherness and footballing ability. Yes like all teams they engaged in some questionable activities, but they were and are still a fine team and in Mickey Harte they have an astute manager up there with the Cody's of this world. I hope Sundays game is exciting to the end. I think Kerry have the bench to shade it but by no more than 2 or 3 points.

paddyoslabs

Quote from: Applesisapples on August 18, 2015, 12:37:48 PM
Some of the newbies on here spouting crap should go get a life. As an Armagh man much as I detested getting beaten by Tyrone teams in the noughties I could not help but admire their spirit togetherness and footballing ability. Yes like all teams they engaged in some questionable activities, but they were and are still a fine team and in Mickey Harte they have an astute manager up there with the Cody's of this world. I hope Sundays game is exciting to the end. I think Kerry have the bench to shade it but by no more than 2 or 3 points.

newbies or not,the carry on of them this year at all levels is an utter disgrace,If it was just their seniors,well you might argue that all county teams get up to a bit of messing,but minor,u 21,and senior,thats a problem,stop the poor us up in the north,ye are all against us shite.Tyrone county board need to man up and deal with these thugs.

Micky Harte may be astute,but in Codys league?stop codding yourself,Mick o Dwyer,Heffo,maybe but Harte,never,never never.

How can Sundays game be exciting???Tyrone are playing,