Kerry V Tyrone Fodder AISF 23rd August 2015

Started by never kickt a ball, August 02, 2015, 04:58:12 PM

The hit on cooper was a red all day long, shockingly high and looked fairly deliberate

Quote from: beer baron on August 23, 2015, 09:24:24 PM
Ah jaysus well if you lads are telling me it was a definite red and thuggery i better believe it and not wait until i can watch it properly on a tv rather than on a small laptop screen  ::).

Looks like he came to catch him with a shoulder at full tilt and may have caught him on the head if that's the case i wouldn't give a red, i may be seeing that wrong at the minute, hence why i said i want to get a proper look at it. I do know one thing for certain people seem very fond of going ott with anything done by a Tyrone player.

So you're basically saying in all cases where one player "mistimes" a shoulder and ends up shouldering a player in the head at full tilt, the player who "mistimes" it should get the benefit of the doubt. If that was the way the rule was applied you would have a lot of lads with sore heads very very quickly.

Quote from: Estimator on August 23, 2015, 09:25:13 PM
Red card for McNabb and Black card for McMahon for tripping Cooper.
But I've the chance to watch the clip a few times.

Did David Moran pull a man down by grabbing his foot after being dispossessed in the first half? If I saw that right should it also have been a black card?

McNabb could get a ban and, unlike with McCann, it would be justified. His timing was more off than Tony Fearon in September.

lenny

Quote from: gallsman on August 23, 2015, 09:12:23 PM
Quote from: beer baron on August 23, 2015, 09:09:56 PM
Still not certain that's a red.

Then there is no hope. That sort of thing has no place in the game. It was a piece of cowardly thuggery.

What makes it worse is that after the hit he deliberately tries to stick his knees into cooper as he lands. Somebody put up a link on facebook and you can see it in slowmotion.

Quote from: beer baron on August 23, 2015, 09:24:24 PM
Ah jaysus well if you lads are telling me it was a definite red and thuggery i better believe it and not wait until i can watch it properly on a tv rather than on a small laptop screen  ::).

Looks like he came to catch him with a shoulder at full tilt and may have caught him on the head if that's the case i wouldn't give a red, i may be seeing that wrong at the minute, hence why i said i want to get a proper look at it. I do know one thing for certain people seem very fond of going ott with anything done by a Tyrone player.

I wonder for what possible reason that could be??!!

On another note Mark O`Se played in his 14 semi final today, outside of Kilkenny hurling that serious going

Quote from: muppet on August 23, 2015, 09:31:00 PM

Did David Moran pull a man down by grabbing his foot after being dispossessed in the first half? If I saw that right should it also have been a black card?

McNabb could get a ban and, unlike with McCann, it would be justified. His timing was more off than Tony Fearon in September.
Yes, he did it twice (see my earlier post - I must be on "ignore"...)

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 23, 2015, 09:38:09 PM
On another note Mark O`Se played in his 14 semi final today, outside of Kilkenny hurling that serious going

And he was superb before being black carded.  Great player

Quote from: Rois on August 23, 2015, 09:00:27 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 23, 2015, 08:42:01 PM
Moran was certainly not bossing midfield. He was swallowed up in possession a few times in the first half and won very little ball from kick outs as it wasn't that type of match.

I watch Moran closely because he's a colleague (different office) and paid particular attention today when I was four rows from the front on the 45 getting absolutely soaked . I fully agree with the point about being swallowed up in possession, and was disappointed to see him grab on to the ankle of the opponent who got the ball from him on not one but two of those occasions. I actually think he was a wee bit frustrated today, though absolutely everything was going through him in the first half.  Definitely not his best day out.

But congrats to Kerry, they were not at their best and still won, though Tyrone helped them no end.  We need a free taker.

Sorry missed this.

Quote from: gallsman on August 23, 2015, 09:21:39 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 23, 2015, 09:16:04 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 23, 2015, 09:12:23 PM
Quote from: beer baron on August 23, 2015, 09:09:56 PM
Still not certain that's a red.

Then there is no hope. That sort of thing has no place in the game. It was a piece of cowardly thuggery.

Ah ffs, don't start the shite again, it was a late hit. It happens all the time at every grade in nearly every contact sport. McNabb was flying across because he thought Gooch was in on goal. His momentum carried him through Gooch. It wasn't nice but no need to start another witch hunt.

Stop it with your own bollocks. McNabb made no f**king attempt to play the ball whatsoever. If it hadn't been late, it still should have been red. That it was late just makes it even worse.

Who said anything about a witch hunt? I (and others here) are calling one specific incident, in one specific game. Lose that giant chip on your shoulder ffs.

You start by making a big deal of an incident that was no more than a heavy (yet admittedly late) collision. McNabb was committed to making a last ditch challenge and his momentum took him through to make the hit. Like I said, It didn't look good but "cowardly thuggery" it was not.

Disillusioned

Tyrone threw it away and the lack of talent on the bench was exposed when compared with Kerry.

Looks like management can turn off the play acting when they want to do so.

Morgan - lost it mentally and fell to pieces should never have been brought up to take long range frees as he struggles to concentrate on one important job.  Essentially lost the game on his own but poor captaining by Cavanagh led to him deteriorate even quicker by continuing to call him forward and recognising he was mentally shot.
McCarron - continued his good run of games
McNamee - did a good job until wrongly black carded mainly because it was the Gooch
McCrory - played well but can't score and should have passed or held the ball instead of losing a few vital scores.
McNabb - overall played well but cost two important frees, due to giving away necessary scores on two occasions
McMahon - managed Donaghy out of the game but was match winner Geaney his man?
Harte - carried the team as usual and great penalty
Cavanagh C - played well as sweeper and when he moved out the field
Donnelly - by passed at midfield by the short kick outs and less effective than previously as a marked man
McCann - found out by lack of football intelligence and his only skill being running with the ball if given to him
Bradley - could have won the game with a virtually open goal
Meyler - found out by this level of football
McCurry - missed too many scores
Cavanagh S - was he on the field? Poor as a captain, didn't support those who needed an experienced player to steady them.
Subs made no impact except McNulty who should have been given a penalty.  Turns out that Colm O'Rourke was right about how referees would fail to give important decisions to Tyrone because of their reputation.

The global warming scenario is pretty grim. I'm not sure I like the idea of polar bears under a palm

Quote from: JoG2 on August 23, 2015, 09:39:54 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 23, 2015, 09:38:09 PM

And he was superb before being black carded.  Great player

Stat smells like BS - how many replays in AISF have Kerry been in? O'Se started in 2002 so he would have have to have more than last last year's replay because off the top of my head they lost to Down in the AIQF in 2010.

Bit iffy including replays as seperate AISFs anyways, but obviously a great career regardless.

Quote from: Disillusioned on August 23, 2015, 09:43:55 PM
Tyrone threw it away and the lack of talent on the bench was exposed when compared with Kerry.

Looks like management can turn off the play acting when they want to do so.

Morgan - lost it mentally and fell to pieces should never have been brought up to take long range frees as he struggles to concentrate on one important job.  Essentially lost the game on his own but poor captaining by Cavanagh led to him deteriorate even quicker by continuing to call him forward and recognising he was mentally shot.
McCarron - continued his good run of games
McNamee - did a good job until wrongly black carded mainly because it was the Gooch
McCrory - played well but can't score and should have passed or held the ball instead of losing a few vital scores.
McNabb - overall played well but cost two important frees, due to giving away necessary scores on two occasions
McMahon - managed Donaghy out of the game but was match winner Geaney his man?
Harte - carried the team as usual and great penalty
Cavanagh C - played well as sweeper and when he moved out the field
Donnelly - by passed at midfield by the short kick outs and less effective than previously as a marked man
McCann - found out by lack of football intelligence and his only skill being running with the ball if given to him
Bradley - could have won the game with a virtually open goal
Meyler - found out by this level of football
McCurry - missed too many scores
Cavanagh S - was he on the field? Poor as a captain, didn't support those who needed an experienced player to steady them.
Subs made no impact except McNulty who should have been given a penalty.  Turns out that Colm O'Rourke was right about how referees would fail to give important decisions to Tyrone because of their reputation.

No they didn't!  IF we had done this,  IF we had done that... There's ifs and buts in every game ever played.  Kerry won whilst not playing that well

watching a rerun of the cooper hit on the sunday game there now, ball was well gone and you can see McNabb following through, no need for it, it wasn't  he couldn't stop, which has been said here.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 23, 2015, 09:51:47 PM
watching a rerun of the cooper hit on the sunday game there now, ball was well gone and you can see McNabb following through, no need for it, it wasn't  he couldn't stop, which has been said here.

John McDermott was much earlier than that in 1996.