Tyrone v Meath round 2 qualifiers 11th July 2015

Started by orangeman, June 29, 2015, 08:49:50 AM

Quote from: An Watcher on July 05, 2015, 01:11:52 PM
Has a date and time been sorted for this yet?

I believe it's being announced tomorrow.

Christ we have dropped off page 1. Has all been said that needs to be said.
3:00PM Saturday. Bring it on.

shawshank

Quote from: easytiger95 on June 30, 2015, 05:05:30 PM
i was just thinking this is not the Meath team I'd be sending up to Omagh. In that vein...

The Expendables 4 – The Gang's Back Together....

Meath CLG offices. Shadows lurk outside and in, the pitch black of a dark night of the soul. The only light comes from a desk lamp in the office of the Chairman, moths flit in and out of the blaze of fluorescence , illuminating a rotary phone sitting on the rich, manly, mahogany surface. Outside, wails and lamentations can be heard, the wind sighs "Westmeeeeeaaaadddd".
A hand appears, lifts the old receiver, and a dials 999.
"Hello...Sean? It's time."

A week later, an armoured bus wends its way through the lanes and byways of South Tyrone. Inside the caged windows, an animated figure can be seen bouncing to every pothole on the road.

Sean Boylan speaks. "Well lads, isn't it great, isn't football great altogether, yeah great, positivity, good lads, now will we have a drop of the auld dandelion tea, now lads, get us up for this, yeah? Good lads."

His enthusiasm is infectious. The bus is crowded with gnarled figures, scarred and ugly beyond belief. It looks like a Lord of the Rings extras reunion.

"C'mon now Liam, you have the first drop."

Liam Harnan looks up, angered that he has to stop worrying the raw leg of mutton he has between his jaws. He wipes the juices from his mouth and drinks deep. "AAAGHHH" – the roar is deep and primal, he doubles up as steam billows from his ears, a hump begins to bubble up on his back, horns protrude from his forehead – amazingly though, the effect is actually a bit more pleasant than what was there before.

"It's an improvement anyway" says Graham Geraghty, slugging out of the bottle, spilling some on his Michael Thomas autographed Arsenal jersey. "I coulda played in a World Cup, but I was too fit for the lads in Highbury, made them look bad. Trevor, get stuck in to that."

He throws Giles the bottle, but the centre forward uncharacteristically drops it. "You'd better get yourself together" Geraghty warns. Trevor nods, reaches under the seat and produces a pair of scissors. Slowly, solemnly he cuts his M+S geansai sleeves above the shoulders. A low hum of approval comes from the others.

Sean is bouncing now. "Colm, leave that and have a drink." Colm Coyle lays down the M60 machine gun he has been oiling and takes a gulp. "Tommy, your turn now." Tommy Dowd opens his mouth and a high pitched scream, like a tortured kettle emits. Everyone except Sean holds their ears. "Yes, Tommy we'll be there soon. Mick, have a sup there."

Mick Lyons says "............."

"Ah g'wan Mick, an auld drink before the game, it's all natural."

"Right, ok Mick. Anyway lads, this is going to be some challenge, today, yeah, some challenge, football, it's great isn't it? So let's let it in long to Colm, Brian and Bernard, Gerry break whatever ball you can in midfield, take the frees quick off the ground, let's rip out their eyes and piss on their brains, and whatever else we do, enjoy yourselves. Right?" He rubs his hands together genially.

Colm O'Rourke breaks off from wrapping a lagging jacket around his knee. "Ah Sean, what was the last part?"

"Just enjoy yourselves, lads."

"No, the bit before that..."

On the back seat of the bus, still and grave, immense and foreboding, like a statue on Easter Island, sits Mick Lyons.

In Omagh, Mickey Harte and Sean Cavanagh are taking a turn around the side of the pitch, discussing tactics.
"Well Sean, no need for any last ditch rugby tackles today?"

"Not at all Mickey, we'll burn them off in the final 20, sure they had nothing left against Westmeath.....Sheeeit!"

The armoured bus has just pulled into the car park. Sean Boylan bounces off, followed by the clanking, armoured hordes of Mordor. "Howya lads!" he waves genially.

Mickey Harte chews his gum grimly. "We're gonna need a bigger blanket."

"You're very welcome back to RTE-E's coverage of the All Ireland Qualifiers two thousand fifteen-een, with me-ee, Brian Carthy. Controversy here in Omagh today as a considerably changed Meath team, have tested the very limits of manliness and hardy football here today against a shellshocked Tyrone side.

Right from the start Meath tested the referees patience, as Liam Harnan, having just downed a pint of Ivomec F proceeded to feast on the innards of Peter Harte, and which surely deserved a black card at least. Graham Geraghty has been a constant thorn in the side of the Tyrone defence, at one stage wrapping a Fine Gael poster around Sean Cavanagh before punching him in the face and then scoring a remarkable point off his left. Trevor Giles' radar is on today, as he has been taking the kickouts, scoring three of them, whilst Colm O'Rourke, despite sustaining a concussion after being sandwiched by Joe McMahon and an ice cream van, was told by the selectors that he is Bernard Brogan and has scored two stylish points from play.

The only reason Tyrone are still in this is because Meath are a man down, though interestingly, it was not as a result of the referee. Colm Coyle failed to return to the pitch after half time. I'm told he is out in the car park, tampering with the brakes of the Tyrone bus. It's building up to a pulsating championship finale here in He-ealy Park, with me Brian Carthy..."

Up in the stands, some can take it no more. Brian Dooher leaps up and cries "I still have my boots Mickey!" and dashes down the steps, before tripping over a strategically placed Meath fan's boot. He is last seen being attended to by the St. John's ambulance, a bandage several times bigger than his head being applied.

Squeaky bum time. Mick Lyons grabs the ball and heads out from defence – the teams are all square and Sean Cavanagh is desperate to keep Meath in their half. It is time for cynicism. He launches himself at Mick Lyons....
And slides down his body, like a bug splattered on a windshield.

Mick Lyons says "............." and handpasses to PJ Gillic, who launches a bomb into the atmosphere – it hits a seagull before hurtling back into the square, bouncing back up...and over the bar.

On the way to the dressing room, Mick Lyons wipes the battered remnants of Sean Cavanagh from his legs. Sean Boylan is talking to Marty Morrisey – "Great game Marty, manly, sporting, football, it's great isn't it...."

One last stop on a long, winding road back to the Royal county. At a well-appointed, detached house in the country, Sean Boylan rings a doorbell.

Peter Canavan opens the door. "Ah howya, Sean, ye did well today lads, fair dues to ye. I wasn't able to make it myself."

"Ah yeah, great Peter, it was a great performance. Anyway, just wanted to let someone say hello to you. Martin, come up here Martin...."

Martin O'Connell looms into the the doorway. "Sorry about this Pete."

In Tyrone no one can hear you scream.

On the back of the bus, Mick Lyons sits.

And Mick Lyons says "............."

classic gaaboard.com

I don't think so. Both hurling games are live from Thurles, and RTE and SKy are both there, so they probably can't send another OB Unit up to Omagh.

Quote from: Hereiam on July 06, 2015, 02:36:50 PM

Home in time for the Angelus.

Quote from: ONeill on July 06, 2015, 04:32:51 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on July 06, 2015, 02:36:50 PM

Home in time for the Angelus.

Never mind the Angelus, I'd say there'll be lads driving up and down Saturday saying the rosary.

Are Tyrone and Meath still in the Championship??
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Redhand Santa

Time to get back on the championship road. A big improvement is needed from the Limerick and a big increase in work rate and desire. A good win and performance could set us up well. There's players on the field that haven't nailed down positions and I'd be very tempted to throw in a few more u21s and hope they can really stand up this week and beyond if we win. I'd go with something like this:

Morgan
Mcrory
Mcnamme
Mcccarron
Mcnabb
Justy
Harte
Colm c
McNulty (need someone big in here and might be worth another look at)
Meyler (hard working half forward that we need but would be big step up and may be injured)
Donnelly
McShane
Bradley
Sean c
Mcaliskey

In reality I'd be surprised if either mcshane or meyler were on.

McNulty could be a good shout, your young man Rooney (?) won everything in the first half in Westmeath game so we'll need someone in there to disrupt the high fielding.

Bradley has to start for us. I wonder will Mickey drop McCurry or find space for Bradley at 10 or 12?

Who do you trust to do a job on Wallace and McMahon? I'd worry about McCrory on McMahon.

Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 07, 2015, 10:50:22 PM
Time to get back on the championship road. A big improvement is needed from the Limerick and a big increase in work rate and desire. A good win and performance could set us up well. There's players on the field that haven't nailed down positions and I'd be very tempted to throw in a few more u21s and hope they can really stand up this week and beyond if we win. I'd go with something like this:

Morgan
Mcrory
Mcnamme
Mcccarron
Mcnabb
Justy
Harte
Colm c
McNulty (need someone big in here and might be worth another look at)
Meyler (hard working half forward that we need but would be big step up and may be injured)
Donnelly
McShane
Bradley
Sean c
Mcaliskey

In reality I'd be surprised if either mcshane or meyler were on.

Meyler & Mickey oneill both injured i believe

McAliskey really looks like he's stepping up to the mark the last few games.
His point v Limerick from play where he got in between a few defenders and turned and shot was amazing

McCurry does seem to be too easily marked sometimes but he does seem to come out the field a lot too so I presume its tactical to pull his man out to leave space for Sean and Skit

Our defence and overall team seems to have settled down quite a bit from last year.
I only expect Bradley to be the only change this time

Was a bit disappointed again by Mattie last time out.

Will the losing manager of this game be riding off into the sunset I wonder? It's probably a fair bet that Mickey is on the countdown with Tyrone regardless of what happens at the weekend, but I'd have thought O'Dowd would have planned on a longer stay with Meath. Is he in jeopardy if they lose this?