Donegal (2011-2014) v Tyrone (2003-2008) v Armagh (1999-2006)

Started by Mike Sheehy, September 02, 2014, 09:03:31 PM

Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2014, 02:56:17 PM
I think there is a strong argument that had the Troubles not happened Kerry would have won a good deal fewer all Irelands between 1969 and 1990.

Down would have beaten them a few times and Tyrone probably would have too.
The security situation meant it took Tyrone much longer to get going but when they did they were well able to beat Kerry in the big matches.

blah blah <cynically manipulate the Nordies> blah blah < politicize everything> blah blah <look for the jewish angle> blah blah..etc , etc

same old formula

Rawhide

There is also a strong argument had the troubles not started that northern counties would have not developed the mentality that they did and have, where our Irishness is expressed in gaelic games, our clubs and our communities to the level it is currently.
cccc is a true supporter lol

Do not want to push the angle too far but when Armagh were building the team that came to the fore in 1999 there were times when they were unable to train in the county due to things like the Drumcree protests.

As for which team is best. I feel it is impossible to say. For me though Geezer, McConville and McDonnell from Armagh would get in no matter what the era. Similarly Cavanagh and O'Neill  from Tyrone and McGlynn, Lacey and Murphy of Donegal. The current Donegal team are lucky in that Ulster football is poorer at the minute than it has been for a while and outside of Dublin there isn't a team of the quality of Tyrone, Kerry and Armagh of the 2000s had in the rest of Ireland.

Quote from: Throw ball on September 03, 2014, 03:42:48 PM
As for which team is best. I feel it is impossible to say. For me though Geezer, McConville and McDonnell from Armagh would get in no matter what the era. Similarly Cavanagh and O'Neill  from Tyrone and McGlynn, Lacey and Murphy of Donegal. The current Donegal team are lucky in that Ulster football is poorer at the minute than it has been for a while and outside of Dublin there isn't a team of the quality of Tyrone, Kerry and Armagh of the 2000s had in the rest of Ireland.

Did you not watch the games at the weekend ? Kerry, Mayo and Dublin present a challenge of physical intensity that Armagh never had to face because in their era they got a "jumpstart" so to speak on the whole physical conditioning thing. Likewise Tyrone never had to play against the level of defensive organization that Kerry and Mayo present to Donegal.

I don't understand why you lads can't acknowledge this truth. If Donegal win this year, and I believe they will by at least 6 points then would you agree that they are better ?

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 03:51:23 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on September 03, 2014, 03:42:48 PM

Did you not watch the games at the weekend ? Kerry, Mayo and Dublin present a challenge of physical intensity that Armagh never had to face because in their era they got a "jumpstart" so to speak on the whole physical conditioning thing. Likewise Tyrone never had to play against the level of defensive organization that Kerry and Mayo present to Donegal.

I don't understand why you lads can't acknowledge this truth. If Donegal win this year, and I believe they will by at least 6 points then would you agree that they are better ?

It's not the truth. It's your opinion. People with agree or disagree with it as they see fit.

But to be honest, I actually don't believe it's your real opinion either, just a more subtle WUM technique. And it's a pity more can't see that.
It's obvious how much the defeats in the 00's of that Great Kerry team are still hurting you. I would say that time heals all hurts, but it's just not true is it?

cadhlancian

Quote from: cadhlancian on September 03, 2014, 04:16:05 PM
It's been a few years
Oh, what a w**ker... ::)

I know you are. You disappeared after we handed you your arse in Killarney. Fair weather fan.

JP

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 12:43:17 AM
Quote from: trileacman on September 03, 2014, 12:21:56 AM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on September 02, 2014, 11:53:43 PM
Tyrone had a lot of talented footballers. Not so much Armagh. You boys were always more into the sly, late hits than free flowing attacking football. I'm not going to pretend I know more about Ulster football than you, but I do know for a fact that the 00s Tyrone and the current Donegal players are more talented than your famous Armagh lads. Just as I know that the current Dublin team are a lot better than the Dublin team you squeaked by in 02.

Please stop, you wouldn't know shite from clay.

McFadden is a poorer FF than Clarke or McDonnell. Murphy is better than both though. Kernan was a better wing back than Thompson or McBreaty. Gallagher used to regularly struggle against the Armagh MF back in the day so it's hard to argue that he would be better than McGrane. McNulty and Mallon were excellent CB who would be at least considered as good as the McGee's. Geezer and Lacey about the same. McConville skillwise was better than any donegal half-forward to argue otherwise is the ravings of a lunatic.

What did Clarke or McDonnell ever do apart from 2002 ? No-one cares about Ulster slugfests. In terms of getting to All-Ireland semi-finals and finals and winning them this Donegal team beats them hands down. Same with Tyrone when it comes to consecutive semis/finals.

Armagh's record in that timeframe.
1999 SF
2000 SF
2001 Q3
2002 WINNER
2003 FINAL
2004 QF
2005 SF
2006 QF

All but one of these years (2004) Armagh were knocked out by the eventual AI winner. Steven McDonnell is the record goalscorer in Ulster with 17 goals. Not bad when you consider he was playing in a "slugfest." He also won player of the year in 2003 and has 3 all stars. Ronan Clarke has 2 All Stars in 2006 and 2008.

Tyrone never played in consecutive Semi finals in the given timeframe. While Donegal achieved this once so far in 2011/2012. For the amount of time you spent being a WUM your lack of research is quite disappointing. Geezer, McDonnell, McGrane, O'Rourke, The McIntee's have all gone into management/coaching at some level, McConville is a respected pundit and Enda McNulty is regularly used as a sports psychiatrist.  It just goes the esteem that the rest of the country for them.

Here's a video of how "muscle" kicked the ball over the bar and sent kerry packing!! Enjoy ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfLPZGIpn_4

Quote from: JP on September 03, 2014, 07:33:53 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 12:43:17 AM
Quote from: trileacman on September 03, 2014, 12:21:56 AM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on September 02, 2014, 11:53:43 PM
Tyrone had a lot of talented footballers. Not so much Armagh. You boys were always more into the sly, late hits than free flowing attacking football. I'm not going to pretend I know more about Ulster football than you, but I do know for a fact that the 00s Tyrone and the current Donegal players are more talented than your famous Armagh lads. Just as I know that the current Dublin team are a lot better than the Dublin team you squeaked by in 02.

Please stop, you wouldn't know shite from clay.

McFadden is a poorer FF than Clarke or McDonnell. Murphy is better than both though. Kernan was a better wing back than Thompson or McBreaty. Gallagher used to regularly struggle against the Armagh MF back in the day so it's hard to argue that he would be better than McGrane. McNulty and Mallon were excellent CB who would be at least considered as good as the McGee's. Geezer and Lacey about the same. McConville skillwise was better than any donegal half-forward to argue otherwise is the ravings of a lunatic.

What did Clarke or McDonnell ever do apart from 2002 ? No-one cares about Ulster slugfests. In terms of getting to All-Ireland semi-finals and finals and winning them this Donegal team beats them hands down. Same with Tyrone when it comes to consecutive semis/finals.

Armagh's record in that timeframe.
1999 SF
2000 SF
2001 Q3
2002 WINNER
2003 FINAL
2004 QF
2005 SF
2006 QF

All but one of these years (2004) Armagh were knocked out by the eventual AI winner. Steven McDonnell is the record goalscorer in Ulster with 17 goals. Not bad when you consider he was playing in a "slugfest." He also won player of the year in 2003 and has 3 all stars. Ronan Clarke has 2 All Stars in 2006 and 2008.

Tyrone never played in consecutive Semi finals in the given timeframe. While Donegal achieved this once so far in 2011/2012. For the amount of time you spent being a WUM your lack of research is quite disappointing. Geezer, McDonnell, McGrane, O'Rourke, The McIntee's have all gone into management/coaching at some level, McConville is a respected pundit and Enda McNulty is regularly used as a sports psychiatrist.  It just goes the esteem that the rest of the country for them.

Here's a video of how "muscle" kicked the ball over the bar and sent kerry packing!! Enjoy ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfLPZGIpn_4
how did armagh lose to fermanagh in 2004 ? That should have been their second all ireland.

McDonnell was alright I suppose but there is no way you could say he was better than Michael Murphy ??

Tyrone never played in consecutive Semi finals in the given timeframe.

ok, you have got me there. I can't argue with that. For consistency Armagh would definitely be ahead of Tyrone.
It is very true what Pat Spillane said. "Great teams do back to back AI, Great teams (with added sarcasm) do back to back quarter finals". Pat really nailed them with that one, fair dues to him.

It's a lot easier to do quarter finals from.the Micky Mouse Munster championship
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 07:58:30 PM
McDonnell was alright I suppose but there is no way you could say he was better than Michael Murphy ??

ok, you have got me there. I can't argue with that. For consistency Armagh would definitely be ahead of Tyrone.
It is very true what Pat Spillane said. "Great teams do back to back AI, Great teams (with added sarcasm) do back to back quarter finals". Pat really nailed them with that one, fair dues to him.

You're having a right old snigger to yourself on this thread Mike.

Quote from: armaghniac on September 03, 2014, 08:04:31 PM
It's a lot easier to do quarter finals from.the Micky Mouse Munster championship

Tipperary > Longford > Derry

Ulster is severely overrated. The Ulster championship is a joke these days. Its a race to the bottom to see who can be the most negative. That's why you get beaten by any half decent Div 3 team that shows any sign of attacking flair.

Quote from: Armamike on September 03, 2014, 08:06:15 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 07:58:30 PM

You're having a right old snigger to yourself on this thread Mike.

Yeah, its a pity the usual Nordie wums are so scared these days. We could have some real craic if they showed a bit of backbone.

Backbone?  It's only a bit of craic on a discussion board with a fair helping of craptalk thrown in. Not exactly gunfight at the ok coral stuff.