Round 4 Qualfier: Armagh v Meath

Started by armaghniac, July 20, 2014, 03:49:54 PM

Better team won.

Better organised and more dominant physically. They use the ball better and more purposeful in attack. They look more confortable on the ball where our lads are skittish.

Oraisteach

Apart from the closing minutes of the first half and their inability to win midfield kick outs, Armagh looked slick.  Great ball movement and relatively few wides.  Contrary to an earlier comment by a Dub poster, this was highly entertaining.  Looked like a well-oiled machine.  Didn't look like a Div. 3 team.

Chimley

Quote from: thejuice on August 02, 2014, 06:37:36 PM
Better team won.

Better organised and more dominant physically. They use the ball better and more purposeful in attack. They look more confortable on the ball where our lads are skittish.

There's a future there for Meath though. Get Wallace back fit and  players like Carroll (impressed with him) and Tormey, Mcmahon, Flanagan etc. The last 5 minutes of the first half was old school Meath football at it's best.

Well done Armagh - hugely admirable performance and a display of all that is good about the game.

I don't agree, juice. I can't remember ever feeling as disillusioned, dispirited or disheartened as a Meath football man. We are at a sad low ebb. Our ineptitude is unbelievable. Our skill levels are unacceptable and our tactics are stone age. The only consolation is that we have good, earnest people on the field an on the sideline and we kept our dignity. But we're back at 1980 level as regards our ranking in football and I can't see any prospect of progress, short of starting from scratch with a ten-year programme of player development.

Meath are dirt, won't be winning much for the next good while.

Armagh looked good, some decent footballers there and it's nice to see a mini-renaissance for the likes of the Kernans, McKeever, the Mallons and Brendan Donaghy.

I'm not as dispondant as you Hardy but still disappointed. It's not like we are bereft of talant but the lads don't look as strong or physically made for the game. The fact that we lorded it in terms of kick outs but still could have been beat by a much bigger margarine says a lot of where we are tactically.

Chimley

Quote from: Hardy on August 02, 2014, 06:44:42 PM
Well done Armagh - hugely admirable performance and a display of all that is good about the game.

I don't agree, juice. I can't remember ever feeling as disillusioned, dispirited or disheartened as a Meath football man. We are at a sad low ebb. Our ineptitude is unbelievable. Our skill levels are unacceptable and our tactics are stone age. The only consolation is that we have good, earnest people on the field an on the sideline and we kept our dignity. But we're back at 1980 level as regards our ranking in football and I can't see any prospect of progress, short of starting from scratch with a ten-year programme of player development.

I'm living in the county and there's serious young talent and commitment to develop young players coming through especially in non traditional strong clubs like Ratoath and Ashbourne. The worry is what was said by Daragh O'Sé on Sky where he said that Meath's tactics are the same as they were 10 or 20 years ago. The talent is coming through with the population explosion from the celtic tiger if they are let off the leash.   

That development starts for 10 but will deliver from 5 years onwards as players improve before that and feed into existing resources and then it should deliver for 5 years before it's a case that others doing it differently are now doing it better and you will be back among the pack.  Don't be too hard on your team Armagh fair play are on a huge upward curve and are the most improved team in Ireland this year.  Fair play to Paul Grimley he has managed this group and resourced them well. If I was the county board I'd be looking him to stay on and oversee their development next year as well.  His knowledge of the attacking and midfield areas are a joy to watch and with mc gene keeping his eye on his rearguard Armagh are definitely balancing out well.

Quote from: Hardy on August 02, 2014, 06:44:42 PM

In fairness ye are one good Manager away from being back to a high standard. The reality of the modern game is that the Manager is very important. In the old days good teams could get away with not having a good Manager. In todays game the Manager (and back room team) are vital to progression. Managers today won't get away with coasting.

young shiells reminds me of andy mc cann. my man of the match

And on top of everything else, we have to look forward to ten months of the Man. Utd. thread on top of the other side of the board. I'm getting out the Tullamore Dew and retiring to the back room.

Impressed with Armagh. In the first half I thought the no10 (Forker?) was excellent. Has a great burst of pace. Second half, Campbell 14, was super.

Meath did an awful lot of silly things while in possession. A game that won't be enjoyable on the video, but perhaps can learn a lot from it.

Quote from: thejuice on August 02, 2014, 06:55:53 PM
I'm not as dispondant as you Hardy but still disappointed. It's not like we are bereft of talant but the lads don't look as strong or physically made for the game. The fact that we lorded it in terms of kick outs but still could have been beat by a much bigger margarine says a lot of where we are tactically.

Damn predictive text!

Oraisteach

In fairness, juice, the ball was greasy today, and Armagh were butter able to adapt to the conditions.