Long Kesh Park takes another step forward

Started by Donagh, April 16, 2007, 12:37:11 PM

snatter

Quote from: SammyG on March 12, 2008, 10:38:17 PM
Quote from: snatter on March 12, 2008, 10:35:01 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 12, 2008, 10:32:05 PM
Quote from: snatter on March 12, 2008, 10:26:28 PM
Historically the GAA community has not done well out of govt funding in Northern Ireland:

Fcuk me, after all this time the penny has finally dropped, you're on a wind-up. I've got to say congratulations, you had me, for a while but you just pushed it slightly to far.

GAA not getting enough funding, that's brilliant.  ;D

What?

Sports Council statistics show that out of 662 council-owned pitches; just 59 are set aside for Gaelic games.  Fact.

I suppose under OWC accountancy rules, that sounds like a fair allocation to the GAA?

What have council pitches got to do with anything? You were talking about funding or have you realised you were talking shite and decided to change the subject.

p.s. How many of the publically funded GAA grounds are available to other sports?

I was highlighting past unfairness in public sports provision in Norther Ireland, and the commitment of GAA followers to ensure that such unfairness in public sports funding doesn't recurr.

Pretty easy to do with stark figures like that.
59 out of 662 pitches?
Thats a shameful imbalance if you ask me.
Do you not agree?

As for no of GAA grounds open for other sports?
None. And rightly so.
We paid for them after all.
They're ours to do with as we see fit.
Its a privilege you get through ownership, a privilege gained by hard fundraising, sacrifice and effort.

As opposed to publicly funded sports facilities, the provision of which should broadly reflect public need, but markedly fail to do so in Northern Ireland.

Good article on this subject from Brian Feeney in Irish News yesterday. Basically he explained that unionist opposition to the Long Kesh stadium stems from an aversion to sharing anything with fenians and by implication he rightly asserted that the IFA was sectarian and monocultural. This message though hardly needed to be spelt out to most people in the six counties who know they way things were, are and ever will be up here

Load of balls tony.
I have no aversion to "sharing anything with fenians" but remain far from convinced the maze id the right option for NI football.
Stop your usual bigot bullshit.

SammyG

Quote from: T Fearon on March 13, 2008, 10:36:09 AM
Good article on this subject from Brian Feeney in Irish News yesterday. Basically he explained that unionist opposition to the Long Kesh stadium stems from an aversion to sharing anything with fenians and by implication he rightly asserted that the IFA was sectarian and monocultural. This message though hardly needed to be spelt out to most people in the six counties who know they way things were, are and ever will be up here

The article was complete bollix (it's quoted a few pages back) and it was totallly contradicted by the Irish News editorial.

snatter

Quote from: SammyG on March 13, 2008, 10:39:17 AM

The article was complete bollix (it's quoted a few pages back) and it was totallly contradicted by the Irish News editorial.

Which was itself contradicted yesterday by none other than the GAA president:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/duffy-afraid--grant-row-could--provoke-rifts-1314984.html

QuoteMeanwhile, GAA president Nickey Brennan has said he is still very much behind the notion of building a stadium on the site of the old Maze prison.

"We made out position clear on it and we embraced the idea when it came first," he said. "But it's up to the politicians now."

SammyG

Quote from: snatter on March 13, 2008, 10:48:10 AM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/duffy-afraid--grant-row-could--provoke-rifts-1314984.html

QuoteMeanwhile, GAA president Nickey Brennan has said he is still very much behind the notion of building a stadium on the site of the old Maze prison.

"We made out position clear on it and we embraced the idea when it came first," he said. "But it's up to the politicians now."

Sorry you've lost me, how is an IN editorial, which doesn't mention Brennan and which actually says that sports officials were on-board, contradicted by Brennan's quote?

Quote"Maze investment too shaky a bet"

"IF a new stadium was ever to be built at the Maze, it needed the unequivocal support of our main sporting bodies, a range of political parties and, perhaps most importantly, the ordinary ticket-buying supporters.

While the project did not lack ambition, and in other circumstances might even have symbolised the new era which has emerged in Northern Ireland, the consensus which it required has simply failed to materialise.

Sports officials offered a general endorsement of the proposals, without ever displaying firm enthusiasm for the wider concepts which were involved.

GAA and rugby followers appeared at best apathetic about the prospect of heading to the new complex, while soccer fans made it abundantly clear that they were fundamentally opposed to the entire scheme.

The final straw could well have arrived through a split in the DUP, which may have been subject of half-hearted denials but is plainly waiting to make its presence felt.

It remains to be seen whether a different location can be seriously considered or if the upgrading of existing venues is the only real option.

However, investing at least £240 million at the Maze, against a background of growing uncertainties, looks like a gamble which will be very difficult to justify"

Lads we spent 14+ hours and 6 pages debating this yesterday, surely even the lads in Stormount or Lisburn Council wouldnt be that bothered and wether or not its built will have no bearing on what any of us think.

First post: March 12, 2008, 08:11:50 AM

Last Post: March 12, 2008, 10:45:59 PM

I never said stop by the way.  ;)

snatter

Quote from: SammyG on March 13, 2008, 10:56:49 AM
Quote from: snatter on March 13, 2008, 10:48:10 AM

Sorry you've lost me, how is an IN editorial, which doesn't mention Brennan and which actually says that sports officials were on-board, contradicted by Brennan's quote?

Quote"Maze investment too shaky a bet"

"IF a new stadium was ever to be built at the Maze, it needed the unequivocal support of our main sporting bodies, a range of political parties and, perhaps most importantly, the ordinary ticket-buying supporters.

While the project did not lack ambition, and in other circumstances might even have symbolised the new era which has emerged in Northern Ireland, the consensus which it required has simply failed to materialise.

Sports officials offered a general endorsement of the proposals, without ever displaying firm enthusiasm for the wider concepts which were involved.

GAA and rugby followers appeared at best apathetic about the prospect of heading to the new complex, while soccer fans made it abundantly clear that they were fundamentally opposed to the entire scheme.

The final straw could well have arrived through a split in the DUP, which may have been subject of half-hearted denials but is plainly waiting to make its presence felt.

It remains to be seen whether a different location can be seriously considered or if the upgrading of existing venues is the only real option.

However, investing at least £240 million at the Maze, against a background of growing uncertainties, looks like a gamble which will be very difficult to justify"

The IN claimed the GAA were apatetic.
Brennan says they're not.
Simple really.
Do you want more big letters to make it easier for you?

SammyG

Quote from: snatter on March 13, 2008, 11:27:31 AMThe IN claimed the GAA were apatetic.
Simple really.

I think you might need your glasses checked, the IN said the supporters were apathetic (which is clearly true) but specifically says that the sports officials were on-board.

Quote from: SammyG on March 12, 2008, 10:38:17 PM
Quote from: snatter on March 12, 2008, 10:35:01 PM
Quote from: SammyG on March 12, 2008, 10:32:05 PM
Quote from: snatter on March 12, 2008, 10:26:28 PM
Historically the GAA community has not done well out of govt funding in Northern Ireland:

Fcuk me, after all this time the penny has finally dropped, you're on a wind-up. I've got to say congratulations, you had me, for a while but you just pushed it slightly to far.

GAA not getting enough funding, that's brilliant.  ;D

What?

Sports Council statistics show that out of 662 council-owned pitches; just 59 are set aside for Gaelic games.  Fact.

I suppose under OWC accountancy rules, that sounds like a fair allocation to the GAA?

What have council pitches got to do with anything? You were talking about funding or have you realised you were talking shite and decided to change the subject.

p.s. How many of the publically funded GAA grounds are available to other sports?

snatter

Quote from: SammyG on March 13, 2008, 11:31:13 AM
Quote from: snatter on March 13, 2008, 11:27:31 AMThe IN claimed the GAA were apatetic.
Simple really.

I think you might need your glasses checked, the IN said the supporters were apathetic (which is clearly true) but specifically says that the sports officials were on-board.

woops, for once you're right -they did say fans and not the GAA itself, which I'm sure you'd accept does wholeheartedly endorse the MAze proposals.

I'd disagree with what the IN are saying tho'.

Most GAA people I know would be keen to be onboard if a publicy funded stadium is to be built in NI.
We've long memories and want to make sure we get treated fairly.

It wouldn't be catastrophic for us if one wasn't built, in contrast to you guys, so we're generally less passionate about whether it gets built.

But to be clear, if it does get built, as NI's best attended sport, we'd be passionate about making sure that we get catered for.
There's a clear distinction if you've the mental agility to see it.

SammyG

Quote from: snatter on March 13, 2008, 11:38:00 AMBut to be clear, if it does get built, as NI's best attended sport, we'd be passionate about making sure that we get catered for.
Interesting I didn't know you were passionate about motorbike racing and also didn't know that it was included in the Maze proposals. Can you give me some details?

snatter

Quote from: SammyG on March 13, 2008, 11:41:01 AM
Quote from: snatter on March 13, 2008, 11:38:00 AMBut to be clear, if it does get built, as NI's best attended sport, we'd be passionate about making sure that we get catered for.
Interesting I didn't know you were passionate about motorbike racing and also didn't know that it was included in the Maze proposals. Can you give me some details?

go on then, I'll indulge you in your diversionary tactic.
Tell me - how many fans does NI motor racing attract annually?

SammyG

Quote from: snatter on March 13, 2008, 11:45:44 AM

Wasn't a diversionary tactic at all (I can't stand any motor sports), it was just a reply to your nonsense about 'NIs best attended sport'.
NW200 attracts 200K, Ulster GP attracts 95-100K plus all the hundreds of smaller events

snatter

Quote from: SammyG on March 13, 2008, 12:03:02 PM

Wasn't a diversionary tactic at all (I can't stand any motor sports), it was just a reply to your nonsense about 'NIs best attended sport'.
NW200 attracts 200K, Ulster GP attracts 95-100K plus all the hundreds of smaller events

Ha Ha!
Looks like your accountancy skills have let you down again Sammy!  ;D ;D

The GAA CHAMPIONSHIP ONLY attendance figures I posted to you earlier give an annual attendance of 535072, far in excess of your combined motorbike total of 295000, .

Note that the GAA figures exclude
   championship qualifiers
   national league games
   all ireland club champioship games
   any hurling matches.

These would easily add a few hundred thousand more to the total.

In face of overwhelming evidence, do you now accept that Gaelic Football is by Northern Ireland's best attended sport?

Quote from: snatter on June 02, 2007, 08:24:13 AM

2005 Ulster Teams Championship attendances.
(NOTE that these exclude the qualifier series matches).

USFC: Armagh V Tyrone61000
USFC: Replay Armagh V Tyrone32000
USFC: Derry V Armagh27633
USFC: Donegal V Armagh25622
USFC: Tyrone V Cavan23441
USFC: Armagh V Fermanagh23107
USFC: Replay Armagh V Donegal   18227
USFC: Tyrone V Down18200
USFC: Replay Tyrone V Cavan16492
USFC: Monaghan V Derry16314
USFC: Cavan V Antrim 10500
USFC: Replay Cavan V Antrim3865
AIQF: Tyrone V Dublin78514
AIQF: Armagh V Laois32187
AISF: Tyrone V Armagh65858
AIF: Tyrone V Kerry82112

Note that these are official figures.
Earlier round games in particular will probably show figures lower than the real attendances - Non-paying kids aren't taken into account.

--------------------------------

Northern Ireland figures:

Competitve NI soccer matches played in the same period.

Northern Ireland V Azerbaijan   11909
Northern Ireland V England      14069
Northern Ireland V Wales      13451

JJB Irish Cup Final 2005 Portadown V Larne  5,431