Monaghan v Tyrone - Sunday 15th June - St Tiernach's Park Clones

Started by GrandMasterFlash, May 25, 2014, 12:23:31 PM

That's the point he was making - I think Fuzz is saying that Hughes was trying to cheat the new rules by fouling Cavanagh without taking him to ground, thus avoiding the black card. A bear hug if you like. Cavanagh made sure he wasn't getting away with it. So in terms of the new rules Cavanagh outfoxed Hughes by taking himself and Hughes to ground - so alls fair in love and war.

Quote from: BennyHarp on June 20, 2014, 05:11:37 PM
That's the point he was making - I think Fuzz is saying that Hughes was trying to cheat the new rules by fouling Cavanagh without taking him to ground, thus avoiding the black card. A bear hug if you like. Cavanagh made sure he wasn't getting away with it. So in terms of the new rules Cavanagh outfoxed Hughes by taking himself and Hughes to ground - so alls fair in love and war.
That's isn't cheating the rule - it's not breaking the rule in the first place. There's a significant difference. It's like saying a player "cheated" the black card rule by talking to the ref instead of remonstrating in an aggressive manner. It's nonsense.

This thread gone way by embarrassing, G lads Monaghan won , accept it and move on, and someone close the thread, it getting as bad as the old Seanie Johnston one.

Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 20, 2014, 05:11:08 PM
It is now time to draw a line under this.. Let me take this opportunity to refresh the forum with some early quotes from our Red Hand friends:

Quote from: ONeill on May 25, 2014, 10:39:12 PM
Monaghan don't beat Tyrone.

Kiss our rings.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 26, 2014, 07:57:57 AM
Wee buns, wee fecking buns!

Quote from: EC Unique on May 26, 2014, 09:37:09 AM
Monaghan have lost their element of surprise. There will be no shock in this game. Tyrone will beat Monaghan as they always do.

Quote from: nrico2006 on May 26, 2014, 09:44:32 AM
I don't see what Monaghan have done to be seen as some big threat all of a sudden.  The only two teams that I have believed to be in the running for Ulster this year are Donegal and Tyrone.

Quote from: WT4E on May 27, 2014, 01:54:29 PM
I have a feeling Tyrone will handle the next two matches setting up an interesting Ulster final with the Anti Christs of football!!!

Quote from: ONeill on May 27, 2014, 10:51:38 PM
Some pressure on Monaghan.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 03, 2014, 05:08:21 PM
Cocky Monaghan b**tards.  Wee buns, wee fecking buns!

Quote from: ONeill on June 03, 2014, 10:53:09 PM
The Red Hand seems to wobble those boys.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 05, 2014, 02:18:53 PM
Monaghan these days remind me of... Monaghan.  Wee buns, wee fecking buns!

Sin é.
I'd say the Moanies will make 100 pages out of it yet  ;D

Quote from: Rossfan on June 20, 2014, 07:01:52 PM
I'd say the Moanies will make 100 pages out of it yet  ;D

Monaghan have won feck all yet, bless 'em, and another bandwagonner from the Wesht jumps on! Pray, you numpties, that you don't meet us (again) in 2014!  :D

Just watched the RTE coverage tonight.

Whelan was a bollocks ok. But, Tomas O Se - you were a lion on the field but in the studio you are lily livered. You knew Whelan was point-scoring and spouting nonsense and you sat back and said nothing. Absolutely nothing.

And yer waistcoat was a mess.

It is now time to draw a line under this.. Let me take this opportunity to refresh the forum with some early quotes from our Red Hand friends:

Kiss our rings.

Monaghan have lost their element of surprise. There will be no shock in this game. Tyrone will beat Monaghan as they always do.

I don't see what Monaghan have done to be seen as some big threat all of a sudden.  The only two teams that I have believed to be in the running for Ulster this year are Donegal and Tyrone.

I have a feeling Tyrone will handle the next two matches setting up an interesting Ulster final with the Anti Christs of football!!!

Sin é.
Well played.. ;D

Kiss our rings.

Sin é.

Over your head, my friend. Us Tyronnies are well aware of our limitations....

Quote from: ONeill on June 20, 2014, 11:07:37 PM

Kiss our rings.

Sin é.

Over your head, my friend. Us Tyronnies are well aware of our limitations....
Clearly not.

Oh dear.

We had a fair idea Monaghan would win this game. In fact, you should have won last year only Sean carried us. He nearly did the same. You'll not see our faux-cockiness on the Louth thread etc.

I was actually pleased for Monaghan. They have a fine side with some class players. I'm a bit surprised at how ungracious Monaghan men have been on here, but I know that's not representative.

babarino

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 20, 2014, 11:23:03 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 20, 2014, 11:20:12 PM
Clearly not.

So, what have you actually won?  ::)

Bragging rights over those that dismissed Monaghan's chances.

We don't believe the faux cockiness line. It's easy to say that after the event. Playing well within our potential we also won the match. We expected to win if we got the performance right. What is worrying for Monaghan is that we should have won by 4+, yet Tyrone's 'big game' experience got them back to within a missed free to draw level.

Any truth there's a bit of an East versus West tension in the Tyrone camp?

Clearly not.

I'm not talking about Monaghan. I'm making reference to the fact that the poster who claimed: "Monaghan don't beat Tyrone" now reckons that "Us Tyronnies are well aware of our limitations...."

Quote from: babarino on June 20, 2014, 11:36:38 PM
Clearly not.

Bragging rights over those that dismissed Monaghan's chances.

We don't believe the faux cockiness line. It's easy to say that after the event. Playing well within our potential we also won the match. We expected to win if we got the performance right. What is worrying for Monaghan is that we should have won by 4+, yet Tyrone's 'big game' experience got them back to within a missed free to draw level.

Any truth there's a bit of an East versus West tension in the Tyrone camp?

Buy it.

Monaghan were 6-8 points the better side. I believed that before and after the game.

Please be gracious. You're our favourites.