Munster championship 2014

Started by waterfordlad, May 22, 2014, 01:34:22 PM

Interesting quote from Shane Dowling. Limerick is a gas county.

QuoteMeanwhile, Shane Dowling revealed that he used an abusive text message as motivation for Sunday's game.

The Na Piarsaigh forward hit a superb 2-9 against the Premier County as Limerick registered their first win in Thurles since 1973.

"Last week, the chairman of the club showed me a text message from a journalist in Limerick," said Dowling. "I've no problem with someone voicing their opinion.

"Players play bad, they know they've played bad, but that particular person personally abused me in that text message. I don't say that lightly.

"Above nothing else I'm just delighted I got my chance today and I hope I answered him.

"It's been incredibly frustrating the way the players were questioned. The problem is when people go over the top and don't show you any respect, it's not nice.

"Thank God, that we answered that today."

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 02, 2014, 11:02:07 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 02, 2014, 09:35:54 AM
Fair play to the Limerick lads, they'd their homework done on Tipp and ultimately just wanted it more when it came to the crunch.

Tipp at times did look impressive and worked the ball well and could have had a few more goals if it wasn't for last gasp blocks, flicks and hooks by the Limerick defence, Richie McCarthy in particular providing the stumbling block on more than one occasion.

Limerick did pump a few high ball on top of Downes (and later Dowling) and Paudie Maher, with Downes just shading it, but the Limerick forwards were quicker onto the breaking ball and made it count with the 21 yard free where the first goal came from and another harshly ruled out for Dowling playing the hurl I presume, although Kellys actions when awarding the free it is slightly unclear.
Either shooting from distance or dropping in high ball and battling for it in there negated the Tipp sweeper, with Brendan Maher quiet for large parts of the game, didn't make sense for Tipp to stay with that tactic IMO.
Bonner Maher did his utmost to win the game single handed for Tipp, his supporting cast let Tipp down when Limerick pushed for home in the dying minutes, drawing level then popping over the two insurance points, one from corner back Seamus Hickey who ran almost 40 yards unopposed to seal the victory.

Loughnane and Mulcahy on the sunday game last night were right to criticise the Tipp forwards for letting their opponents burst past them all too easy and put quality ball into their forwards, rather than force them backwards where the clearances would have to be on the back foot and higher in the air making it more likely to be a 50/50 contest. The Limerick forwards weren't as gracious and generous and worked like dogs to harry, jostle, hook, block and force the Tipp defenders to risk another pass and possibly lose possession.

Eamon O'Shea looks to be an unlucky manager as with all the faults in their play they could and should have won the game even if they didn't deserve to, maybe like last year the promising finish to the league is still masking the lack of championship hurlers on this Tipp team.

An unkind draw in the qualifiers and Tipp could be out by early July again.

Limerick will fancy their chances to go again, but this year a Munster championship won't be enough, they'll be wanting and needing to be in Croke park in September to whet the appetite this year.

Kelly was 60 yards away from that call Johnny ffs, while not his fault as the ball was pumped long and getting there to see that would have been tough, I know the umpires have mics so maybe they called it but he didn't play the stick and just challenged (fairly IMO) for the ball. Limerick didn't drop their heads and went on to win the match fair fecks to them.

I know he was well away from the foul, I'm not criticising him for that as it was a long delivery in, he's not superman, but he was very quick to give it so I presumed it was his call, It was his actions as if he played the hurl, which he didn't as Maher catches on his right hand, Dowling was on Mahers right side and attempted to play the ball, he got Mahers arm, which isn't all that uncommon and rarely a foul is given. Mahers hurl wasn't played at all.

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2014, 10:08:22 AM
Interesting quote from Shane Dowling. Limerick is a gas county.

QuoteMeanwhile, Shane Dowling revealed that he used an abusive text message as motivation for Sunday's game.

The Na Piarsaigh forward hit a superb 2-9 against the Premier County as Limerick registered their first win in Thurles since 1973.

"Last week, the chairman of the club showed me a text message from a journalist in Limerick," said Dowling. "I've no problem with someone voicing their opinion.

"Players play bad, they know they've played bad, but that particular person personally abused me in that text message. I don't say that lightly.

"Above nothing else I'm just delighted I got my chance today and I hope I answered him.

"It's been incredibly frustrating the way the players were questioned. The problem is when people go over the top and don't show you any respect, it's not nice.

"Thank God, that we answered that today."

After reading your man HJ Martins book and some of the stuff he'd on AFR about the goings on in Limerick at CB level and what not, they really are a hindrance to themselves, not to mention the amount of abuse the players take from fans, journalists and whatever. I does seem to be open season in Limerick every year, sure look at the goings on with Donal O'Grady and the CB letter drafted where he was supposed to write that he was displeased with the teams league performances. Is there another county that this would possibly happen?

IIRC Martin had a story about a Limerick team which had 15 selectors with changes going on right, left and centre and the manager at the time not knowing anything about it. This was probably in the 70's or early 80's before the cult of manager kicked in, but all the regional boards and big clubs had to have their say.

The players really need to huge pat on the back for getting on with it considering all the shit they have to deal with.

The problem with Limerick is that they have serious delusions of grandeur. I'd love them to win an All Ireland, but they seriously overestimate themselves. They have won 2 All Irelands since 1940, yet still believe they should be winning every All Ireland. In may ways it's admirable, but it causes serious self harm when things are not proceeding as they 'should'. This causes all sorts of internal blood letting, and the players getting caught up in it, if not actually sacrificed themselves.

They cannot bring themselves to say that the likes of Offaly, Galway and Clare could be winning All Irelands, unless there is something fundementally flawed in Limerick.

Quote from: johnneycool on June 03, 2014, 10:27:07 AM
Fair play to the Limerick lads, they'd their homework done on Tipp and ultimately just wanted it more when it came to the crunch.

Tipp at times did look impressive and worked the ball well and could have had a few more goals if it wasn't for last gasp blocks, flicks and hooks by the Limerick defence, Richie McCarthy in particular providing the stumbling block on more than one occasion.

Limerick did pump a few high ball on top of Downes (and later Dowling) and Paudie Maher, with Downes just shading it, but the Limerick forwards were quicker onto the breaking ball and made it count with the 21 yard free where the first goal came from and another harshly ruled out for Dowling playing the hurl I presume, although Kellys actions when awarding the free it is slightly unclear.
Either shooting from distance or dropping in high ball and battling for it in there negated the Tipp sweeper, with Brendan Maher quiet for large parts of the game, didn't make sense for Tipp to stay with that tactic IMO.
Bonner Maher did his utmost to win the game single handed for Tipp, his supporting cast let Tipp down when Limerick pushed for home in the dying minutes, drawing level then popping over the two insurance points, one from corner back Seamus Hickey who ran almost 40 yards unopposed to seal the victory.

Loughnane and Mulcahy on the sunday game last night were right to criticise the Tipp forwards for letting their opponents burst past them all too easy and put quality ball into their forwards, rather than force them backwards where the clearances would have to be on the back foot and higher in the air making it more likely to be a 50/50 contest. The Limerick forwards weren't as gracious and generous and worked like dogs to harry, jostle, hook, block and force the Tipp defenders to risk another pass and possibly lose possession.

Eamon O'Shea looks to be an unlucky manager as with all the faults in their play they could and should have won the game even if they didn't deserve to, maybe like last year the promising finish to the league is still masking the lack of championship hurlers on this Tipp team.

Limerick will fancy their chances to go again, but this year a Munster championship won't be enough, they'll be wanting and needing to be in Croke park in September to whet the appetite this year.

Kelly was 60 yards away from that call Johnny ffs, while not his fault as the ball was pumped long and getting there to see that would have been tough, I know the umpires have mics so maybe they called it but he didn't play the stick and just challenged (fairly IMO) for the ball. Limerick didn't drop their heads and went on to win the match fair fecks to them.

I know he was well away from the foul, I'm not criticising him for that as it was a long delivery in, he's not superman, but he was very quick to give it so I presumed it was his call, It was his actions as if he played the hurl, which he didn't as Maher catches on his right hand, Dowling was on Mahers right side and attempted to play the ball, he got Mahers arm, which isn't all that uncommon and rarely a foul is given. Mahers hurl wasn't played at all.

I thought he shouldn't have give the foul, we are always told you can only give it if you see it, I've 20/20 vision and in the heat of the action and being that distance away I wouldn't have called that, you'd have to deal with the flack of not being in the right position but that comes with the territory. other than that I thought he was grand
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2014, 11:16:04 AM
The problem with Limerick is that they have serious delusions of grandeur. I'd love them to win an All Ireland, but they seriously overestimate themselves. They have won 2 All Irelands since 1940, yet still believe they should be winning every All Ireland. In may ways it's admirable, but it causes serious self harm when things are not proceeding as they 'should'. This causes all sorts of internal blood letting, and the players getting caught up in it, if not actually sacrificed themselves.

They cannot bring themselves to say that the likes of Offaly, Galway and Clare could be winning All Irelands, unless there is something fundementally flawed in Limerick.

Haha, Limerick = Mayo of hurling so.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2014, 06:37:22 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 03, 2014, 10:27:07 AM

I thought he shouldn't have give the foul, we are always told you can only give it if you see it, I've 20/20 vision and in the heat of the action and being that distance away I wouldn't have called that, you'd have to deal with the flack of not being in the right position but that comes with the territory. other than that I thought he was grand

So did I.  His only really contentious decision luckily didn't have an impact on the final result, so he can be content with his days work.

The Deise got some pasting in the replay.

These reality checks are getting tiresome.

Double scores was a tough lesson for Waterford are nearly catching Cork on the hop the last day.

The highlight for waterford seems to have been the penalty save. How many other keepers will try the same?

well considering the ruling interpretation given on the sunday game that the ball is alive once the lift has occurred then they'll all be at it..

Ger Lock fairly laying into Cork for preventing debate on the rule and suggesting that the ref yesterday, Johnny Ryan (Is he tipp?) was favourite for last years replay, but Cork didn't want him, how much say does Frank have when he can pick and chose the referees in AI finals??

I was told at a seminar a couple of years ago that the ball isn't live until the free taker strikes it. It's only then that the keeper or others can move.

Who knows?

didlyi

If its alive from the lift as the referees say then players could charge any player taking any free not just a penalty. Its a mess and needs sorting asap.

Quote from: didlyi on June 09, 2014, 11:24:07 PM
If its alive from the lift as the referees say then players could charge any player taking any free not just a penalty. Its a mess and needs sorting asap.
The gaa have issued a press release that they will have interpretation of the rules sorted out by this weekend. Fair play to them for an unusual level of proactivity.