Roscommon vs. Mayo - Connacht SFC Semi-final (Dr. Hyde Park, June 8th 2014)

Started by Syferus, May 18, 2014, 05:14:30 PM

Will Andy transfer to his home county after such an insult?

Yes
10 (83.3%)
Yep
4 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 12

Quote from: muppet on June 10, 2014, 12:47:49 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 10, 2014, 12:28:32 PM
That article from Eamon Molloy is 100% on the money. This in particular

QuotePick an experienced line-up? Too conservative, James. We'll never find a marquee forward that way.

Try two new half-forwards in the championship? Naïve, James. Everyone can see it but you.

I don't agree.

That article starts off with a good point. Horan has taken us to a seriously competitive level. I don't think anyone would dispute that.

Then, by his own admission, he plays a 'cheap trick' by selecting a few quotes from a blog, which are not representative of the overall comments on the blog.

He then joins on the tone of thoose 'internet crazies' by slagging off what he calls this summer's man, Richie Feeney, by claiming some of Horan's detractors see him (Feeney) as a cross between Trevor Giles and Maurice Fitzgerald. Has anyone, ever, anywhere, made a claim resembling that?

Then he inexplicably slags off The Messiah Evan Regan.

For someone who is so upset at criticism of Horan, he seems very willing do dish it out to two honest footballers who have kept their mouths shut and said nothing, thereby joining the crazies he is so keen to vilify.

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on June 10, 2014, 02:23:06 PM
Moysider, the edit was my addition!

That was me. The point still stands with his comments on Feeney.

Quote from: muppet on June 10, 2014, 02:29:10 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on June 10, 2014, 02:23:06 PM
Moysider, the edit was my addition!

That was me. The point still stands with his comments on Feeney.

It was obvious O Molloy (where s he from ?)never heard of Evan Regan or he wouldn t have been able to say the following.

They will not find another elite forward because one does not exist, and anyway, they have two brilliant ones, Moran and O'Connor, and both have proven it on big days.

:'( :'( :'(

Moysider, I don't think you can call Evan Regan an elite forward, surely you have to have proven yourself at senior level over a few seasons before you can claim that? Brogan, Gooch and Murphy are elite forwards is Regan up there with them?

Quote from: Zulu on June 10, 2014, 02:49:04 PM
Moysider, I don't think you can call Evan Regan an elite forward, surely you have to have proven yourself at senior level over a few seasons before you can claim that? Brogan, Gooch and Murphy are elite forwards is Regan up there with them?

The point just flew over your head there, Zu. Moy was being facetious.

Ah right, wish I could use the excuse of it being a long day, but it hasn't!!

Quote from: muppet on June 10, 2014, 03:24:34 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2014/0610/622880-cruciate-woe-for-roscommons-shine/

Best of luck to him on his recovery.

Sad news for the big man and the county as a whole. Was having his best season of his career this year. Big play-making void around the middle now.

Best wishes Donie, we're all rooting for you.

PCLs have a recovery time of anything from 8 weeks to six months or more, depending if surgery is needed or not. Donie's tweet made it sound like it wasn't as bad as it could be so hopefully he doesn't have to spend too long on the sideline.

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2014, 11:50:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 09, 2014, 11:10:44 PM
Quote from: Mayo Mick on June 09, 2014, 09:51:44 PM
Very very lucky and we should have been beaten. A bit of experience on our side and lack of belief on the Rossies was the difference. Can't say I buy in to this "we were rusty " or "Horan will be delighted" stuff. Every sign yesterday we are in decline. That power and pace game we had in 2012 and 13 is no longer there or at least not at the level where it troubles teams. No goal chance created,  depending on frees that were not even forced and some points from a sub is a long way from what we saw last year in our games in Connacht and in the AI qtr and semi. We looked short of ideas up front and most of our wides in the first half resulted from hopeful efforts at scores when we ran out of ideas or poor attempts at playing the ball inside only for it to dribble harmlessly wide. Ros missed more real scoring chances over the game and had a more structure and plan  – we looked as though we thought we only had to turn up to win.

We might still win Connacht as we most likely have Galway in C'bar and maybe our experience in CP will stand to us in an AI quarter or semi. But hard to be get excited or confident after what we saw yesterday. Sorry to say it but I think the AI chance is gone for this group - afraid  I'm not one for grasping at rusty straws!!

We more than likely will win Connacht. Horan played silly beggars with the team selection against Roscommon. It had a League game selection of the half forward line. And you know, he was right. it was worth the risk. Two inexperienced lads got a run, we got to look at them and we still got through the tie. Yesterday was a bigger game for Roscommon than Mayo, Roscommon have been 12 months gearing up as to how to upset Mayo. Mayo on the other hand are (at the moment) looking at the bigger picture.

Thats like a theory you would once hear in Kerry surely Mayo aren't as arrogant?

Quote from: Syferus on June 10, 2014, 12:15:47 AM
Jaysus you'd swear the world revolved around Mayo listening to Bunker. We had one major goal this year and it was to get the f**k out of Division 3. No one was thinking of Mayo until after the league final.

Mayo strolled through Connacht last year. It is only natural with the sails on our back that we would experiment in the Connacht Championship this year. If that is arrogance, then so be it. In fairness Ros had a short warning of Mayos tempo last year and Galway had none. That has changed this year and Ros naturally have been gearing up for a right tug at Mayo all year.  Mayo on the other hand (who from the scenes after the match looked quiet delighted) have a different focus. The Stats tell us the reality of both teams focus in the Championship. The under age stats tell us a different story. But how well Ros harness this is the Key!

Shrewdness

I think everyone was expecting this type of news since Sunday. Tough blow for player and team. For me, the high point of his career, to date, was his performance in Castlebar in the 2010 Connacht Final when Ros beat a highly fancied Sligo team. I think he scored something like 0-10 that day. Best wishes to him for a speedy return. No doubt, John Evans is already hatching a plan on who would replace him at No 11. How about Cathal Cregg?

If it was 2009/10/11 we'd be totally effd. In those days he was virtually our only scoring forward.
At least now he's not the only forward we have - hitting only 0-3 out of our 2-27 in the Championship.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Ballaghman

Glad you posted that article Mayo4Sam. While O'Molloy may have indulged in a little 'crazy'stuff himself, most of it is on the money. Horan has done and is still doing a fantastic job. The way the boys dug out the win on Sunday had his hallmark stamped all over it. He has made mistakes and we all probably have at least one player we'd add to the squad but he has made this team so tough to beat and one to be proud of. I agree with O'Molloy in that we might only really appreciate cool cat (or should that be cap) Jimmy when he's gone.