Roscommon vs. Mayo - Connacht SFC Semi-final (Dr. Hyde Park, June 8th 2014)

Started by Syferus, May 18, 2014, 05:14:30 PM

Will Andy transfer to his home county after such an insult?

Yes
10 (83.3%)
Yep
4 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 12

smelly fairy

Quote from: blast05 on June 09, 2014, 11:49:05 AM
Have seen no comment on Keegans performance yet. I was amazed by it. He done everything at less than half pace. Similar to the Derry game. I trust him though to peak and raise his game from late July on.

No mention either of the conditions .... a very tight pitch that plays even tighter than its size, always bloody windy it seems (moreso given the elevation) and wet - exactly the opposite type of conditions required to play open expansive fast football. Once that thunder shower happened befoer the start i was expecting it to be a flip of the coin type of game. A type of game i'd love to have seen the Dubs having to face away from the sexy open spaces of Croke Park.

Anyway, next days forward line for me.....
McLoughlin Aidan Feeney
Dillon Freeman Sweeney

I just think that Sweeney brings a consistenct pace and energy that we badly need. A more skillful version of David Nestor.

Agree with that synopsis Blast, we really lacked urgency in possession yesterday - particularly in the first half - a lot of nonchalant passing and dropping the ball short to the goalie.. Lethargic stuff..
Keegan in particular, who provided a lot of zip last year from the half back line, seemed to be way too relaxed!.. hopefully getting out of Hyde in the manner they did, will provide the much needed shock of cold water to the faces.. or sumfin :)
The backdrop and conditions were like something out of a snazzy Etihad marketing campaign yesterday, but still, no place you'd rather be, sitting in the middle of it, the air charged with negative ions, the heavens threatening to open,
your heart in your mouth, and you come away with a one point win.

blast05

Quote from: moysider on June 09, 2014, 01:24:06 PM
Quote from: blast05 on June 09, 2014, 11:49:05 AM
Have seen no comment on Keegans performance yet. I was amazed by it. He done everything at less than half pace. Similar to the Derry game. I trust him though to peak and raise his game from late July on.

No mention either of the conditions .... a very tight pitch that plays even tighter than its size, always bloody windy it seems (moreso given the elevation) and wet - exactly the opposite type of conditions required to play open expansive fast football. Once that thunder shower happened befoer the start i was expecting it to be a flip of the coin type of game. A type of game i'd love to have seen the Dubs having to face away from the sexy open spaces of Croke Park.

Anyway, next days forward line for me.....
McLoughlin Aidan Feeney
Dillon Freeman Sweeney

I just think that Sweeney brings a consistenct pace and energy that we badly need. A more skillful version of David Nestor.
Andy the super-sub.
Have not overly convinced myself of whether Dillon would be effective in the corner. Probably more a case of himself and McLoughlin constantly switching

So you re leaving out Cillian and Andy? Arguably our 2 best forwrds yesterday.

Jaysus .... major typo ... i'll never be the one trusted with filling out the team sheet  :o.... Cillian aod Aidan

Quote from: Shrewdness on June 09, 2014, 01:39:42 PM
What Roscommon need to do now is not see yesterday as some kind of moral victory, because it wasn't. It was a missed opportunity, because it's a game that they could have won..Nobody gave them a hope going in to the game. But the management and team had faith in the game plan, because if they didn't, they couldn't have turned in that performance. They need to take the positives from that game and build on them. They need to also take the negatives and learn from them, and move on..Interesting to see John Evans comments after the game when asked why he hadn't started the u-21 players. ''you can't be hanging your coats on young fellas''.

Unless that young fella is Diarmuid Murtagh, apparently. Evans has to name both Diarmuid and Enda the next day. Enda won some fantastic ball in the middle but the sloppy ball didn't help his cause, a dry day and he can run teams into the ground.

Time for Evans to start with his best 15.

Quote from: Blowitupref on June 09, 2014, 12:38:13 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 09, 2014, 11:45:24 AM
Rosnarun, just to clarify the wides and ref for you. Mayo kicked 13 wides, Ros had 9. The ref awarded Mayo 20 frees, Ros got 19. One yellow card each.
most of the wides mayo kicked in the 1st half were aimless passes or shots that drifted out over the line. 7 pointed frees mayo got and few of them looked soft.

Thats just not correct, majority of Mayo wides were shots tailing off to the right of the posts with the wind, our forwards didnt adjust for the wind at all seemingly.
(assuming you dont take the very literal sense of drifting out over the end line, in which case that is every wide)

Quote from: REDCOL on June 09, 2014, 01:35:27 PM
Bring back Evan Regan, and drop Cillian. We think Horans selections are strange

I doubt anybody wants to drop Cillian. I don't remember a younger Mayo captain and he showed great leadership. Great tackling too and knocking fellas over.

Quote from: moysider on June 09, 2014, 02:34:09 PM
Quote from: REDCOL on June 09, 2014, 01:35:27 PM
Bring back Evan Regan, and drop Cillian. We think Horans selections are strange

I doubt anybody wants to drop Cillian. I don't remember a younger Mayo captain and he showed great leadership. Great tackling too and knocking fellas over.

No, no, no. Just Roscommon lads diving sure.

Quote from: Shrewdness on June 09, 2014, 01:39:42 PM
What Roscommon need to do now is not see yesterday as some kind of moral victory, because it wasn't. It was a missed opportunity, because it's a game that they could have won..Nobody gave them a hope going in to the game. But the management and team had faith in the game plan, because if they didn't, they couldn't have turned in that performance. They need to take the positives from that game and build on them. They need to also take the negatives and learn from them, and move on..Interesting to see John Evans comments after the game when asked why he hadn't started the u-21 players. ''you can't be hanging your coats on young fellas''.
spot on shrewd the whole notion of moral victory is a load of shite. We need to take as many positives out of yesterdays performance and quickly move on to the next game. A few wins in the qualifiers will good for this young panel of players interesting we finished yesterdays game with 8 players 22 or under in truth we probably could have done with a few more experienced heads.

QuoteHennelly clobbered Freeman in the warm up

Ah FFS. How did that happen. What kind of messing were they at.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Lads, dunno if this was mentioned but couldn't believe Cillian O'Connor got MOM..thought he was poor enough really. Cunniffe to me, was the standout player.

Mayo will certainly need to up it a lot, but it's early days yet and they need to peak in August, not June in fairness. Alan Freeman was poor yesterday, was he injured?
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Rosnarun, just to clarify the wides and ref for you. Mayo kicked 13 wides, Ros had 9. The ref awarded Mayo 20 frees, Ros got 19. One yellow card each.

I wish you would have shown that stat to the Roscommon supporter who was standing beside me yesterday. All decisions in Mayo's favour were greeted with 'ah ref, you never give us anything at all'.

Quote from: highorlow on June 09, 2014, 02:53:50 PM
QuoteHennelly clobbered Freeman in the warm up

Ah FFS. How did that happen. What kind of messing were they at.

Think I mentioned this on an earlier post.
Bit of a drill. Freeman tried to round Hennelly and score a goal but the keeper kicks and pulls him down at the same time. It would have been a black card if it happened during a game now :o
Freeman was down for a while and got treated on the pitch and in the dugout during the parade. I was sure he wouldn t start when I saw him stay down.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 09, 2014, 03:05:50 PM

I wish you would have shown that stat to the Roscommon supporter who was standing beside me yesterday. All decisions in Mayo's favour were greeted with 'ah ref, you never give us anything at all'.

Where were our frees given?

Mac2

I think Horan under estimated Ross yesterday, he thought they'd make a fight of it for a while and then we'd see it out comfortably.
All well and good trying 2 new fellas in the forward line but we were in trouble at half-time they should have been called ashore. Evans should have had his young fellas on at half-time too, even at that they had a boot on our windpipe and took it off.
Get Keegan back to CHB, Boyle's not comfortable there at all.
I wouldn't be chancing leaving Andy Moran off, he's a big game player as he's proven time and again, I'd put the following out the next day.

McLoughlin Moran Feeney
O'Connor Freeman Sweeney

Brolly couldn't contain himself yesterday, he was just waiting for Mayo to flop.

Shrewdness

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 09, 2014, 03:02:38 PM
Lads, dunno if this was mentioned but couldn't believe Cillian O'Connor got MOM..thought he was poor enough really. Cunniffe to me, was the standout player.

Mayo will certainly need to up it a lot, but it's early days yet and they need to peak in August, not June in fairness. Alan Freeman was poor yesterday, was he injured?

The usual lazy analysis of giving man of the match to the player with the most scores. Cillian O'Connor i think scored all his points from frees and none of them very difficult frees either. In a low scoring game a defender should be given man of the match.