Roscommon vs. Mayo - Connacht SFC Semi-final (Dr. Hyde Park, June 8th 2014)

Started by Syferus, May 18, 2014, 05:14:30 PM

Will Andy transfer to his home county after such an insult?

Yes
10 (83.3%)
Yep
4 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 12

Crete Boom

Quote from: moysider on June 05, 2014, 04:36:31 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 05, 2014, 04:22:17 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 05, 2014, 04:01:05 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 02:44:23 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on June 05, 2014, 02:41:15 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 05, 2014, 02:27:53 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 05, 2014, 02:08:55 PM
Mortimer's???

Yeah I think Kenneth, Trevor and Connor played in the loss to Fermanagh in the qualifiers in 2003. Can't think of any after that.
Some hoor of a day that was in Sligo. 6 starting forwards were from intermediate clubs too !

Yep it was pretty terrible from us alright but the Fermanagh lads/lassies were sound skins though. I wouldn't have thought those two teams would have been in the All Ireland semi 13 months later leaving the ground that day ;D.

Was that the Saturday evening with thunder and torrential rain?
A lot of those qualifier disasters have morphed into a single nightmare.
Fermanagh, Derry, Westmeath and Longford were some days.

Yes it was, Mind you I was sitting on a beach listening to it on madwest. I think Maurice Sheridan slipped as he was taking the potentially equalizing free at the end of the game.

Yeah. Desperate.

Yep the weather fairly framed my mood watching that game. Cheers Moy for reminding me of 2001 with the double trouble tradegy in the hyde >:(. I hope it's not a pointer to Sunday!!! :o

It was in Sligo, brutal evening, I was seeing a Fermanagh bird at the time, hard trip back to enniskillen after that muck.
Derry was a brutal trip away as well, we were absolutely shite, ran into the Derry team in McReynolds in Dungiven that evening, Bradley said he always knew they'd beat Mayo, never liked the **** after that

Any lads here who can shed light on Mr. Rooney and the post-New York unofficial fundraiser in his bar?

It all seems a bit dodgy and Rooney's interview on Mid-West where he would only say the $30(!) admission fee to meet the players went to a 'worthy cause' didn't exactly help matters.

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on June 05, 2014, 04:47:57 PM
It was in Sligo, brutal evening, I was seeing a Fermanagh bird at the time, hard trip back to enniskillen after that muck.
Derry was a brutal trip away as well, we were absolutely shite, ran into the Derry team in McReynolds in Dungiven that evening, Bradley said he always knew they'd beat Mayo, never liked the **** after that

Thankfully I was working all summer in 07 which prevented me from seeing the Derry game. I was there 11 (it's hard to believe it's that long ago) years when we went out to Fermanagh in Sligo and the heavens opened up around us. At least we got our revenge in 2004. I'm currently seeing a Fermanagh girl, and all they're harping on about is how they'd have won against Kerry in that final. ::)

Back to the topic at hand...are the Roscommon backs as porous as Rossfan suggests or is he playing the poor mouth? No 'malice' intended by the question, just all year long you're critical of the Ros defence Ross.

Defending seems a foreign concept in our County these times across the grades.
God be with the days of Harry, Lindsay, Heneghan, Doory or Enon :'( :'(
I expect Johneen will be playing Puke Football for a good while Sunday to keep us in the game as long as possible and then ya never know.
That and the hope that ye've started on the downhill and that the disquiet in Rhubarbland ( not to mention Syfín's sussing out of Horan ::)) will all lead to a very pleasant surprise in what will likely be Ros' last Championship game in the "old" Hyde.
Wouldn't it be a grand way to close off the old ground? ;D
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2014, 09:07:20 PM
I expect Johneen will be playing Puke Football for a good while Sunday to keep us in the game as long as possible and then ya never know.
That and the hope that ye've started on the downhill and that the disquiet in Rhubarbland ( not to mention Syfín's sussing out of Horan ::)) will all lead to a very pleasant surprise in what will likely be Ros' last Championship game in the "old" Hyde.

Tyrone showed last August how to squeeze Mayo. And when we were squeezed we squealed. That game will not be lost on any manager facing Mayo now. I would be surprised if Roscommon are not asking serious questions the next day.
It s not rocket science either to do what Tyrone did.

Quote from: moysider on June 05, 2014, 09:18:09 PM

Tyrone showed last August how to squeeze Mayo. And when we were squeezed we squealed. That game will not be lost on any manager facing Mayo now. I would be surprised if Roscommon are not asking serious questions the next day.

Still though, I'd be happy with a six point win like v Tyrone.

Quote from: larryin89 on June 05, 2014, 09:31:19 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 05, 2014, 09:18:09 PM

Still though, I'd be happy with a six point win like v Tyrone.

Right now I d take any win. f**k it I d take a draw and another cut at them in McHale Park.
Like 2001 should never have come to that daftness at the end but it did. That s football. That's sport. We d won the f**king league that year too.
I m glad now we were muck in so much of the league. No use going into championship with notions.

maigheo

listening to Shane Curran on second captains and he puts Mayos two all ireland losses down to James Horans tactical ineptitude.Of course it would have nothing  to do with Dublin or Donegal being very good teams.For me,in most cases at this level when you win you got your tactics right and when you lose you are not fit to manage the local junior b team.Cake also does not give Ros much of a chance on Sunday and lets hope he is at least right on that one.

Quote from: maigheo on June 05, 2014, 11:21:15 PM
listening to Shane Curran on second captains and he puts Mayos two all ireland losses down to James Horans tactical ineptitude.Of course it would have nothing  to do with Dublin or Donegal being very good teams.For me,in most cases at this level when you win you got your tactics right and when you lose you are not fit to manage the local junior b team.Cake also does not give Ros much of a chance on Sunday and lets hope he is at least right on that one.

Last year was absolutely down to Horan's decisions on the sidelines. Dublin where far below par that day. The Murphy-Keane match-up alone allowed Donegal close up shop in the 2012 final in record time.

While the managers can get the blame when it their his fault you have to say Horan played a big part in at least one of them. The Dublin match was a total missed opportunity.

Hennelly made 3 great saves in the All Ireland final, to say Dublin were there for the taking is a stretch. Dublin were 4/5 pts the better team

Quote from: rodney trotter on June 05, 2014, 11:32:26 PM
Hennelly made 3 great saves in the All Ireland final, to say Dublin were there for the taking is a stretch. Dublin were 4/5 pts the better team

And? If he makes the saves, he makes the saves. You don't get effort points last I checked. There was a single point separating the sides at the end.

Mayo also had a bad day, it was quite a drab AI final between two teams who had destroyed everyone in their path up to then.

Taking off your only FF after 20 minutes and later on subbing out your best midfielder when his brother was anonymous are hardly the actions of a manager who got it right. Horan is a quality manager but it amazes me how anyone can't see the simple truth of that match - decisions on the sideline cost Mayo their best chance at an AI since 1996.