Roscommon vs. Mayo - Connacht SFC Semi-final (Dr. Hyde Park, June 8th 2014)

Started by Syferus, May 18, 2014, 05:14:30 PM

Will Andy transfer to his home county after such an insult?

Yes
10 (83.3%)
Yep
4 (33.3%)

Total Members Voted: 12

Quote from: muppet on May 22, 2014, 03:31:25 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 22, 2014, 03:22:12 PM
on what basis are you saying the 'gap has closed considerably ' mayo did well in Div 1 and Ross did well in DIV 3 which is where they are at now a yo yo DiV 2 to 3 team
The last time they played mayo with a sucessfull underage team they probaably got their worst beating in years .
it would be a serious blask mark Against mayo if they did not win this one well

If I was playing for a 'yoyo team' I would rather be playing for one on the way up.

The gap has closed considerably from last year's massacre to where Ros are now. It is highly unlikely to be another massacre. But we are obviously favourites.

BTW having successful underage teams frequently means nothing at senior level. Look at Galway.
It depends how you define success, Muppet. If beating the shite out of the neighbours in the county championship is the ultimate goal then senior intercounty success is, frankly, irrelevant

on what basis are you saying the 'gap has closed considerably ' mayo did well in Div 1 and Ross did well in DIV 3 which is where they are at now a yo yo DiV 2 to 3 team
The last time they played mayo with a sucessfull underage team they probaably got their worst beating in years .
You do realise our promotion to div 2 is our first since 2007 & back then we were out of our in depth in the higher level. Remains to be seen if we are to become a yo yo div 2 to 3 team if so it will be improvement on what i had to watch for the last decade.

I presume you are talking about 2009? from our point of view the worst part of that defeat was getting hammered by such average Mayo side. At least now Mayo are arguably the 2nd best side around and on your day you can even hammer the defending AI champions as shown last August however we are very much responsible for allowing this current Mayo team develop in to to what they are today. In other words the 2011 Connacht final was very much a what if situation.

Going back to 2009 we started with five of the 2006 minors three of those lads are no longer on the panel also that panel of players hadn't even won U-21 Connacht title compared with today we have won three in five years should have been four. Regardless of the result in this game on June 8th we are without a doubt a side on the rise with plenty of potential on our panel and a lot more coming through. The future looks a lot brighter now for us than it did say five years ago.

Quote from: seafoid on May 22, 2014, 04:33:55 PM

If I was playing for a 'yoyo team' I would rather be playing for one on the way up.

The gap has closed considerably from last year's massacre to where Ros are now. It is highly unlikely to be another massacre. But we are obviously favourites.

BTW having successful underage teams frequently means nothing at senior level. Look at Galway.
It depends how you define success, Muppet. If beating the shite out of the neighbours in the county championship is the ultimate goal then senior intercounty success is, frankly, irrelevant

I love this.

In 3 posts we go from Ros and whether they have improved or not, to the Galway club hurling championship.

Quote from: muppet on May 22, 2014, 05:39:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 22, 2014, 04:33:55 PM

I love this.

In 3 posts we go from Ros and whether they have improved or not, to the Galway club hurling championship.
Still, I bet Galway hurling will get its shit together well before Ros do.

10 posts by Galway man seafoid on this thread now compared to just 1 post on the London v Galway thread hmm.....

Quote from: ross4life on May 22, 2014, 08:10:36 PM
10 posts by Galway man seafoid on this thread now compared to just 1 post on the London v Galway thread hmm.....
Sure there is far more craic on this thread. I remember the excitement in 2001 when Ros beat Galway and unfortunately got them again later in the championship.

Can dr Hyde park accommodate for 5k Mayo season ticket holders in the way they are supposed to?

Quote from: larryin89 on May 22, 2014, 11:34:04 PM
Can dr Hyde park accommodate for 5k Mayo season ticket holders in the way they are supposed to?

If by accommodate you mean stick them in Port-A-Potties and rolling them down the county home road, yeah.

neilthemac

Behind the graveyard end goal

Well it's time to get the ball rolling on change of venue , the shithole that is the Hyde is not fit to hold a game involving Mayo .

Quote from: larryin89 on May 22, 2014, 11:51:26 PM
Well it's time to get the ball rolling on change of venue , the shithole that is the Hyde is not fit to hold a game involving Mayo .

I'd say a shithole is the natural venue for a game involving Mayo.

Quote from: neilthemac on May 22, 2014, 11:39:21 PM

It could be the graveyard for Roscommon hopes for the future , imagine what a sixteen point plus hiding would do for this sudden burst of enthusiasm in the land of the shiny bus.

( personally I think we will lose, this is just something I had a wet dream over)

Quote from: larryin89 on May 23, 2014, 12:03:26 AM
Quote from: neilthemac on May 22, 2014, 11:39:21 PM

It could be the graveyard for Roscommon hopes for the future , imagine what a sixteen point plus hiding would do for this sudden burst of enthusiasm in the land of the shiny bus.

( personally I think we will lose, this is just something I had a wet dream over)
Ros could get the losers of Derry/Donegal in Round 1 of the QFs . Go bhfoire Dia orthu

Rumours that Prenty has allocated ALL the Stand Seats in the Hyde to Rhubarbs and putting the Ros ST holders in the open seats. >:( >:( >:( >:(
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 23, 2014, 08:13:15 PM
Rumours that Prenty has allocated ALL the Stand Seats in the Hyde to Rhubarbs and putting the Ros ST holders in the open seats. >:( >:( >:( >:(

Prenty is my hero and i told him so in the city west last year , I also told him to have a gander in here to see the way the Rossie posters spoke of him.