Armagh v Cavan Sun 8th June

Started by illdecide, May 07, 2014, 10:45:29 AM

Quote from: naka on June 09, 2014, 08:34:25 PM
Cavan had a big support with them
Was sitting beside two elderly cavan men
Have to say perfect gentlemen , we chatted about game and try seemed very knowledgeable about tactics etc
They also told me that dunne wasn't starting so were surprised when he lined up
Were scathing on the Cavan kick out policy and about the room Caolan and Eugene had
When game over they shook hands with me and that was it.
Cavan folk are an affable bunch, the real aristocrats of Ulster GAA and a county to be respected.
I noticed that most of the players also shook hands after which the BBC et al didn't really pick up on.

Armagh Girl

As someone who was at the Match yesterday, had the Band Member had the Flag in the correct place to begin with or moved the flag when she was asked by both McKeever and her band colleague the problem would not have arose. Cavan ran in and started throwing their weight around and the talk before the match with Cavan supporters was that Dunne was not starting anyway???  Coincidentally Brendan Donaghy received stitches to a head wound immediately after the brawl, he must have hit himself!  It ironic that most of the posts that are disgusted by what happened are from Tyronies, the same ones who nearly blinded Brian McGuigan at a club match and the same Team who would dive and feign injury to get anyone sent off!  Only good thing that can come out of this is that this will hopefully end the Fermanagh Band parading around at Ulster matches!

Quote from: general_lee on June 09, 2014, 08:39:04 PM
Quote from: naka on June 09, 2014, 08:34:25 PM
Cavan had a big support with them
Was sitting beside two elderly cavan men
Have to say perfect gentlemen , we chatted about game and try seemed very knowledgeable about tactics etc
They also told me that dunne wasn't starting so were surprised when he lined up
Were scathing on the Cavan kick out policy and about the room Caolan and Eugene had
When game over they shook hands with me and that was it.
Cavan folk are an affable bunch, the real aristocrats of Ulster GAA and a county to be respected.
I noticed that most of the players also shook hands after which the BBC et al didn't really pick up on.

Good point.

Duckquay

Very little talk on the actual game itself apart on here! The shenanigans pre parade did not benefit Cavan one bit. Everybody involved both directly and indirectly need to take a look at themselves, both sets of players, the band cocking up with the flags, and the Ulster Council suits being totally clueless as to what was happening. Martin Dunne was always starting, the questions marks were over Rory Dunne, not Martin, pre game as he sustained a foot injury a few weeks ago. As the teams were lining up for the anthem, Martin Dunne signalled to the bench that he was unable to start and Cavan sought permission from Martin Duffy to replace him with Jack. Any suggestions that he was targeted during the parade by Armagh are total bullshit. Brendan Donaghy received treatment right in front of the stand for about ten seconds, he didn't get stitches.
From a Cavan perspective we were as bad as we have been in a long time. Our inability to nullify Dyas throughout the game ultimately cost us. He was the outlet for every ball Armagh kicked out of defence and won it in front time and time again and was excellent when in possession too. Thought Jason did well on Jamie Clarke who was summed up for me in the space of about two minutes in the first half when kicking a scorable free wide and following it up shortly after with a massive point from 50yards. Our kick out strategy was baffling. Having our keeper and Alan Clarke coming out with the ball in hand from short kickouts was not what we wanted.
As for Duffy, he in no way contributed to our defeat and isn't worth even mentioning. If any good comes out of yesterday, please let it be the end of #thefutureisblue crap.

tommysmith

Quote from: Armagh Girl on June 09, 2014, 08:43:01 PM
As someone who was at the Match yesterday, had the Band Member had the Flag in the correct place to begin with or moved the flag when she was asked by both McKeever and her band colleague the problem would not have arose.

How do you know this?

Quote from: tommysmith on June 09, 2014, 09:19:49 PM
As someone who was at the Match yesterday, had the Band Member had the Flag in the correct place to begin with or moved the flag when she was asked by both McKeever and her band colleague the problem would not have arose.

How do you know this?

Maybe she is McKeever. I have heard him called a big girl by opposition fans often enough! ;D

Only joking Armagh Girl.

I'm sorry but I dont buy the "mckeever was only trying to sort out the whole flag problem" chat. The nicest thing I could say is that he plays on the edge. The treatment he dished out to Mackey that the clown Duffy let go time and again was unreal.

tommysmith

Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 09, 2014, 09:42:54 PM
I'm sorry but I dont buy the "mckeever was only trying to sort out the whole flag problem" chat. The nicest thing I could say is that he plays on the edge. The treatment he dished out to Mackey that the clown Duffy let go time and again was unreal.

How does Duffy get away with it.

It's not a once off with him its every game.

Quote from: tommysmith on June 09, 2014, 09:46:18 PM

Not only that he gets away with it, he gets sent up to Ulster games that are notorious for the black arts. Its like some deluded loon in the referee committee think that Duffy is so good he will snuff it out when in fact he just makes it worse. Its rare you see supporters from both sides reduced to laughing at his decisions.

The Greco-Roman wrestling made it onto Sky sports News there this evening ;D Makes me laugh everytime I see it.

Hopefully Armagh don't have any suspensions out of this.  It's now coming on 10 years of excuses for not being able to give Tyrone a game.    We'd like to hammer the dung out of them at full strength..... yet again! :D

THE MIGHTY QUINN

Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 09, 2014, 07:35:40 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on June 09, 2014, 07:07:28 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 09, 2014, 06:55:37 PM
There's barely a cavan supporter commenting here!
You're correct there. The other thing is that most of them weren't even at the game

Were you at the game??? There was a large Cavan support there I can tell you. We didnt have much to shout about that is all. If you go back to these pages before the match you'll find there was a conversation going on about how few Armagh fans were even commenting on the match but now ye are all coming out of the woodwork.

Anway. The fight has been well covered but my take on it is Armagh intentionally went to the wrong flag. Ye have form for messing in a parade, McGeeney himself was on a Armagh team that was at the same shite in Clones against Cavan on 02 or 03. Cavan seen the position that Armagh stood in as a challenge and ran into them and the rest you can see. Ironically Cavan won this psychological battle as Armagh had to move and Cavan held the early lead. But that was as good as it got for us. We were terrible. Armagh played 13 men behind the ball (what happened to Grimleys attacking philosophy) but to be honest I was expecting it. Seems to have taken Cavan management by surprise as we didnt have a clue. Our kickouts and runs for kickouts were as bad as I've seen in a long time from any team and only our Full Back line held their own. Armagh should have won that game by 15 points and they will be worried about their misses. People say Jamie Clarke played well, In my opinion he did only ok as he was very wasteful.
With all the chat about the fight another thing was missed and that was  the performance of the referree Marty Duffy. Let me start by saying he in no way effected the outcome as Armagh were clearly miles better but he did show all that is wrong with new rules as he was completely incapable of implementing the rules. Here are some examples and I am sorry they are mostly Cavan ones but those stick in my mind more.

1- McKeever should have been given black card on 3 occassions. The last one he charged into Mackey with his fists up. Duffy pointed at him indicating he saw it and then gave him a yellow. Pathetic cowardly decision.
2- Half time scuffle. Keating missed a poor free. His marker runs over to him and starts mouthing into his ear. That is a black card offence. Keating enraged runs after him and charges into him and he gets the yellow.
3- Armagh get advantage, as the Armagh player pulls the trigger Duffy pulls him back for the free. Ball goes over the bar and the free is put wide.
4- 2nd half he throws up the ball and watches the Armagh midfielder bear hug Gearoid McKiernan 3 yards in front of him and then allows armagh run up  the field unpunished to score a point.
5- He follows  that up by giving Armagh a 45 which no one else on the pitch or in the ground could see.
6- When the game is over and there is nothing at stake, Marty decides he'll hand out the black card. Coward.

I am not saying he was biased to cavan, he is just absolutley diabolical ref that should be retired asap.

Best of luck to Armagh in the next round, ye will give Tyrone lots of it.

I'd just like to finish by saying I have never seen so many sober Armagh people in one place in my life. Surely a record. :-*
My comment was aimed at non Cavan posters on this thread. I was at the match, on the terrace close to the melee. There were a number of Cavan people round me and they were all dead on.  I have no axe to grind with Cavan folk

Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 09, 2014, 10:04:37 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on June 09, 2014, 09:46:18 PM

Not only that he gets away with it, he gets sent up to Ulster games that are notorious for the black arts. Its like some deluded loon in the referee committee think that Duffy is so good he will snuff it out when in fact he just makes it worse. Its rare you see supporters from both sides reduced to laughing at his decisions.

He must have some dirt on someone. It's ridiculous he's a top level ref.

(I don't like commenting on refs but this fella ruins so many games)

THE MIGHTY QUINN

As someone who was at the Match yesterday, had the Band Member had the Flag in the correct place to begin with or moved the flag when she was asked by both McKeever and her band colleague the problem would not have arose. Cavan ran in and started throwing their weight around and the talk before the match with Cavan supporters was that Dunne was not starting anyway???  Coincidentally Brendan Donaghy received stitches to a head wound immediately after the brawl, he must have hit himself!  It ironic that most of the posts that are disgusted by what happened are from Tyronies, the same ones who nearly blinded Brian McGuigan at a club match and the same Team who would dive and feign injury to get anyone sent off!  Only good thing that can come out of this is that this will hopefully end the Fermanagh Band parading around at Ulster matches!
Probably the best post on this thread. I too hope that the Fermanagh Band never darkens the door of the Athletic Grounds again. I wonder how much they have to get for playing at matches

StGallsGAA

QuoteArmagh Girl
View Profile  Personal Message (Offline)

Re: Armagh v Cavan Sun 8th June
« Reply #450 on: Today at 08:43:01 PM »
As someone who was at the Match yesterday, had the Band Member had the Flag in the correct place to begin with or moved the flag when she was asked by both McKeever and her band colleague the problem would not have arose. Cavan ran in and started throwing their weight around and the talk before the match with Cavan supporters was that Dunne was not starting anyway??? Coincidentally Brendan Donaghy received stitches to a head wound immediately after the brawl, he must have hit himself!  It ironic that most of the posts that are disgusted by what happened are from Tyronies, the same ones who nearly blinded Brian McGuigan at a club match and the same Team who would dive and feign injury to get anyone sent off!  Only good thing that can come out of this is that this will hopefully end the Fermanagh Band parading around at Ulster matches!

Regular Armagh poster posing as eye witness "Armagh Girl " on 'her' first ever post blames:

- the Flag Girl for starting it all
- Dunne for feigning injury as he wasn't starting anyway according to reliable sources
- Tyrone thuggery!
- St Michaels Enniskillen

No doubt "Armagh Girl" normally doesn't contribute to discussion boards but felt she simply had to come on and register to provide her eye witness testimony in support of the beleaguered and much-maligned men from her county.