Armagh v Cavan Sun 8th June

Started by illdecide, May 07, 2014, 10:45:29 AM

Quote from: yellowcard on June 09, 2014, 10:04:54 AM
If the home team are designated to walk on the outside of the pitch closest to the stands then why after the melee had broken up did the Ulster Council officials order that the Cavan flag holder remain on the outside? Did the Ulster council make a mistake and then fail to rectify it or was it a case that the band made the mistake by having the flag holders on the wrong sides. Its interesting to hear so many people slating McKeever when they weren't even at the match, McKeever done nothing wrong and he even advised the Cavan flag holder that she was on the wrong side. The Armagh flag holder then asked her to swap but she refused to move over to where she should have been. I don't think any bans will result after the Sunday Game played it down for a change last night.

It has overshadowed what was a very good Armagh performance bar the woeful finishing. Armagh if they had taken their chances should have won this game by 10-15 points but it leaves plenty to work on for the next game.

I'm loving this phantom rule that the home team must be on the stand side for the parade!

Shame on the Ulster Council and the band for not consulting the phantom rule book  ;D

Zip Code

Quote from: OakleafCounty on June 09, 2014, 01:00:45 PM
Quote from: Carbery on June 09, 2014, 11:41:10 AM
I think the posting by Oakleaf County should be removed immediately as it is deeply offensive to our Travelling Community and to avoid possible litegation

Wise up I could have said any word. It was more to do with the way McKeever has always conducted himself than travellers. But I apologise to travellers for accidentally linking a knob like McKeever to them. Though I would like to see him in a real bare knuckle fight getting the hammering he needs.

You sound like a lovely boy, maybe you should issue him a challenge?

Zip Code

Quote from: trileacman on June 09, 2014, 01:13:19 PM
Not nothing but not the end of the world either, all you lads like the players need to calm a bit.

Looks like Cavan waded in after Armagh took their side but McKeever consciously took his team over behind the Cavan flag he is as much to blame. Just stand behind your own flag or get them to change it round to suit you, no need to be causing hassle by going out looking for a row at the parade. That's just f**king about.

Yeah bit like a team daring to kick into the Hill before a match against the dubs!

Quote from: Hound on June 09, 2014, 01:24:45 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 09, 2014, 10:04:54 AM
If the home team are designated to walk on the outside of the pitch closest to the stands then why after the melee had broken up did the Ulster Council officials order that the Cavan flag holder remain on the outside? Did the Ulster council make a mistake and then fail to rectify it or was it a case that the band made the mistake by having the flag holders on the wrong sides. Its interesting to hear so many people slating McKeever when they weren't even at the match, McKeever done nothing wrong and he even advised the Cavan flag holder that she was on the wrong side. The Armagh flag holder then asked her to swap but she refused to move over to where she should have been. I don't think any bans will result after the Sunday Game played it down for a change last night.

It has overshadowed what was a very good Armagh performance bar the woeful finishing. Armagh if they had taken their chances should have won this game by 10-15 points but it leaves plenty to work on for the next game.

I'm loving this phantom rule that the home team must be on the stand side for the parade!

Shame on the Ulster Council and the band for not consulting the phantom rule book  ;D

Its written in the great GAA rule book labelled "Tradition". Much more enforceable than any rule book.

cockahoop

just saw the row again on bbc news and i noticed a spectator from armagh swing a punch at a cavan player!!what ever players get in regards suspension is one thing but this clown should never be allowed into a gaa match again.

Abble

armagh done everything right, lining up on their normal side for their own home games, nothing new there, that's our standard practice.

the second them few cavan boys made a go for The Rock they may as well a signed their own death warrants, they picked the wrong man and the wrong team. was great to see every man bust their hole to go in and back up their main man, that told me a lot before a ball was even thrown in.

as for any repercussions, good luck trying to single out anyone especially from armagh, unless they think ciaran mckeever is just going to stand and take a hiding as he stands behind the band in his usual spot.

keep it lit Armagh and well done big Paul, Geezer and all the team

OakleafCounty

Quote from: Zip Code on June 09, 2014, 01:35:55 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on June 09, 2014, 01:00:45 PM
Quote from: Carbery on June 09, 2014, 11:41:10 AM
I think the posting by Oakleaf County should be removed immediately as it is deeply offensive to our Travelling Community and to avoid possible litegation

Wise up I could have said any word. It was more to do with the way McKeever has always conducted himself than travellers. But I apologise to travellers for accidentally linking a knob like McKeever to them. Though I would like to see him in a real bare knuckle fight getting the hammering he needs.

You sound like a lovely boy, maybe you should issue him a challenge?

Haha, aye alright then. Ciaran McKeever if your out there I'll fight ye! YOU UP FOR IT?

sheamy

Gaelic games are traditional sports played in Ireland and Scotland. The main Gaelic games are Gaelic football and Hurling organised by the Gaelic Athletic Association in Ireland and Shinty organised by the Camanachd Association in Scotland.

Hurling is older than the recorded history of Ireland. It is thought to predate Christianity, having come to Ireland with the Celts. It has been a distinct Irish pastime for at least 2000 years. The earliest written references to the sport in Brehon law date from the fifth century.

As shown by contemporary sources and Irish literature, clan warfare was commonplace in Gaelic lands. Young Gaelic males organised themselves into small, semi-independent warrior bands called Fianna, which engaged in constant training, hunting and raiding during the warmer months.

Quote from: antoinse on June 08, 2014, 11:52:09 PM
Ah lads and lassies, is it not being taken to the extreme calling it thuggery. Was Paul Grimley not right with his comments that it was only a bit of pulling and pushing. Are we going soft?

Not soft no, but a terrible advert for our national sport. Even though I'm from Armagh, I'm again disappointed in the actions of a couple of Armagh players. Right in front of the fans, Ciaran McKeever had a Cavan player in a headlock for what seemed like minute (maybe shorter).

Amateur sport or not, that is not the kind of behaviour I expect from someone that our kids look up to.

Quote from: cockahoop on June 09, 2014, 01:48:52 PM
just saw the row again on bbc news and i noticed a spectator from armagh swing a punch at a cavan player!!what ever players get in regards suspension is one thing but this clown should never be allowed into a gaa match again.

Exactly.

comeysfield

If it happened in a playground what would you do

Take the Ball of them
Make them shake hands

Ball should be taken off both teams for the rest of the year

Total absolute Gobshites of little kids

Problem Solved no more Melees or other strange words we use for handbags and cute ass holes hitting from behind

Quote from: Abble on June 09, 2014, 01:49:40 PM
armagh done everything right, lining up on their normal side for their own home games, nothing new there, that's our standard practice.

the second them few cavan boys made a go for The Rock they may as well a signed their own death warrants, they picked the wrong man and the wrong team. was great to see every man bust their hole to go in and back up their main man, that told me a lot before a ball was even thrown in.

as for any repercussions, good luck trying to single out anyone especially from armagh, unless they think ciaran mckeever is just going to stand and take a hiding as he stands behind the band in his usual spot.

Who in the name of god is 'the Rock'?

sheamy

presumably we do the same with the cork and waterford hurlers following the 'melee' after the penalty?

Ah but look-it, t'was only handbags, Ger.

OakleafCounty

Quote from: Jinxy on June 09, 2014, 02:47:13 PM

Former Cork Hurling full back Diarmud O'Sullivan. Didn't realise he plays for Armagh footballers these days.

Quote from: OakleafCounty on June 09, 2014, 02:50:37 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 09, 2014, 02:47:13 PM

Former Cork Hurling full back Diarmud O'Sullivan. Didn't realise he plays for Armagh footballers these days.

He prefers to go by the name Dwayne O'Sullivan these days