Tyrone v Down - Sun 18th May, Omagh

Started by tyroneman, April 15, 2014, 06:58:12 AM

Quote from: Schkite on May 18, 2014, 10:33:29 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on May 18, 2014, 10:27:08 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 18, 2014, 09:35:19 PM
Down v Tyrone & Down v Monaghan will be the next two matches in the Marshes.

Winners of Tyrone /Down play Monaghan in Clones!!!

If Down win on Saturday the quarter-final is in Newry.
I doubt that now. Probably Clones no matter who wins next week.

meatsy86

Quote from: Maguire01 on May 19, 2014, 07:33:36 AM
Quote from: Schkite on May 18, 2014, 10:33:29 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on May 18, 2014, 10:27:08 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 18, 2014, 09:35:19 PM
Down v Tyrone & Down v Monaghan will be the next two matches in the Marshes.

Winners of Tyrone /Down play Monaghan in Clones!!!

If Down win on Saturday the quarter-final is in Newry.
I doubt that now. Probably Clones no matter who wins next week.

If Tyrone win match is in Clones if Down win match is in Newry due to Down being originally drawn away from home in Preliminary round, regardless of the fact the match went to a replay.

Watched the game in full there. Sorry if I'm only joining with a chorus.

While Down should be commended for getting back into a game they could have lost by half time, they'd have to be sick not to have won that with some of the chances in the last ten minutes. I've seen Meath do that in games recently that they could have won.

Tyrone were lucky of course. I can't say I'm completely au fait with the black card rule but surely Tyrone's keeper should have got a red, no?

I hate diving as much as anyone and I don't think we should explain it away or excuse it. Sean was far from the only one doing it, I guess it's just a bit more noticeable and comical when it's someone as big as him.

It's the next big challenge for the officials. Perhaps a pink card with a pansy on it. There's no punishment as such for getting the pansy card. Just shame on you and your family.

Quote from: ardtole on May 19, 2014, 02:18:45 AM
Not only the free at the end. But the tyrone goal in the second half came from a dive from the tyrone full back, deceiving a poor referee which led to the goal. Im just after watching the game again and Coldrick was nothing short of dreadful throughout.

That was one of the worst decisions I've ever seen. We often say 'he never touched him' as an exaggeration, but literally the fb bent down, lifted the ball of the ground and then fell, the down man just standing behind him with his hands up, and the ref gave a free out. I really hope these lads are made watch their performances and account for some of the decisions they're making, but I doubt it.

Quarterback

Jeez us Tyronies do some crying!!  Cavanagh did dive for his free at the end and got us a draw...Who cares!!!??  How else where we going to score!! Also stop complaining about Laverty's dig to the ribs.. we've had defenders doing that for many of year! problem is we don have them now!!  The down defender is the stupid one for giving the free away!!  The important things from the game that worry me are our defence and how we were cleaned out in the middle.  I question our system - why play with forwards who cant score and offer little threat - Mark Donnelly plays all his football in defence - Mc Ginley is a defender who should be in the half back line!  Niall Mc Kenna's strength is fielding - not scoring - why does he start FF??  We have players like Ronie o Neill, Mc Alisky & She on the bench - Why not use them... We need to stop crying over silly things and look at the bigger picture...

Quote from: hectorsheroes on May 19, 2014, 12:26:57 AM
shame shame and more shame - exactly the wrong example to teach anyone - there is absolutely NO JUSTIFICATION FOR THAT DIVING - lets not pretend - that free at the end was a dive DIVE DIVE DIVE - Shame on that - defend all you want tyrone men - that was a DIVE

I certainly think cavanagh dived and made alot out of different challenges throughout the game, something I cant stand.
But make no mistake about it, the free at the end was a foul.
The referee warned the Down defender several times for holding him, he continued to do it.It was a definite foul.

Something does have to be done about diving, it happened all over the feild yesterday with Laverty & Cavanagh the most obvious culprits.
The most recent rule changes have increased the gains from diving if you get away with it, without adding any further punishment for doing it .

Ya'd have to laugh at some of the selective viewing some of the posters on here had of the game. Firstly anyone who things it wasn't a free at the end after watching the replays is deluded. The foul was going on for about 3-4 seconds before the free was actually given. It's fecking clear on the replays. While I'll completely admit Cavanagh goes down easy for frees, he was out in front of his man and as it was of the ball he wouldn't have had a clue where the ref was looking. It would have been a huge risk to take a dive especially as he was out in front and odds on to win the ball anyway.
As for the rest of the game. The first half was a tame affair by championship standards. Tyrone huffed and puffed and gave fleeting glimpses of potential. But the quality of football in general was terrible. Conditions weren't great, but I've seen club players handle worse conditions better. Still too much carrying of the ball into the tackle. I know playing against a packed defence means it can be hard to hit the ball into space, but carrying it repeatedly into tackles isn't the answer either. You just get swallowed up.
Changing of the game was the black card of Morgan. As has been mentioned, Tyrone lost all possesion when O'Neill came on. You'd feel sorry on him that he didn't get more time during the League and McKenna cup as he looked slightly lost. But Tyrone's midfield seemed to lose they're legs at this stage aswell which wouldn't have made it easy to pick out midfielders.  The black card was the correct decision. Some calling for a red, possibly but think it would have been very harsh. For Tyrone's penalty, I think the ref had blown the whistle before Donnelly had got the kick away. So once it's blown he can't give advantage. And to be fair I didn't think Donnelly was going to get the kick away either so I wouldn't chastise him too much for not playing the advantage there. But he was definitely at fault for not giving the black card. It was a text book black card. And should have been a very easy call for the ref as he had a clear view. So I'm sure he'll get a slap on the wrist for that. And rightly so.
The second half was certainly more entertaining and the attacking play was better. But some of the defending was shambolic. Tyrone definitely need personell changes in there. Hopefully Justy and Conor can get a bit of fitness back and get in contention for a starting slot.
Another bug bear that came from the game yesterday is the lack of regulation on steps by refs this year. There was numerous times yesterday for both teams when they over ran the ball without punishment. It seems to have gotten looser this year than any other year. And this as well as the black card have tipped the advantage too much in favour of the attacker.
But fair play to Cavanagh for the free at the end. Huge kick under pressure.

We go again.

Any word on TV coverage for Saturday evening?

Under Lights

Quote from: rodney trotter on May 18, 2014, 11:07:28 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 18, 2014, 10:54:00 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on May 18, 2014, 09:27:59 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 18, 2014, 09:24:12 PM
So?

Crowd could be affected.

For a soccer game between two Spanish sides?

2011 Champions league final was on the same time as Armagh and Down in Ulster first round, crowd was affected that day. Man Utd was one of the teams so wasn't all Spanish , but would imagine a lot would have an interest in the Cl final either way ..

Heavens forbid that people be interested in both gaelic and soccer. If both games are on TV I would say a lot of people could be tempted to have the chance to watch both. By attending the Down Tyrone game you don't have that chance.

Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 19, 2014, 09:01:34 AM
Ya'd have to laugh at some of the selective viewing some of the posters on here had of the game. Firstly anyone who things it wasn't a free at the end after watching the replays is deluded. The foul was going on for about 3-4 seconds before the free was actually given. It's fecking clear on the replays. While I'll completely admit Cavanagh goes down easy for frees, he was out in front of his man and as it was of the ball he wouldn't have had a clue where the ref was looking. It would have been a huge risk to take a dive especially as he was out in front and odds on to win the ball anyway.
As for the rest of the game. The first half was a tame affair by championship standards. Tyrone huffed and puffed and gave fleeting glimpses of potential. But the quality of football in general was terrible. Conditions weren't great, but I've seen club players handle worse conditions better. Still too much carrying of the ball into the tackle. I know playing against a packed defence means it can be hard to hit the ball into space, but carrying it repeatedly into tackles isn't the answer either. You just get swallowed up.
Changing of the game was the black card of Morgan. As has been mentioned, Tyrone lost all possesion when O'Neill came on. You'd feel sorry on him that he didn't get more time during the League and McKenna cup as he looked slightly lost. But Tyrone's midfield seemed to lose they're legs at this stage aswell which wouldn't have made it easy to pick out midfielders.  The black card was the correct decision. Some calling for a red, possibly but think it would have been very harsh. For Tyrone's penalty, I think the ref had blown the whistle before Donnelly had got the kick away. So once it's blown he can't give advantage. And to be fair I didn't think Donnelly was going to get the kick away either so I wouldn't chastise him too much for not playing the advantage there. But he was definitely at fault for not giving the black card. It was a text book black card. And should have been a very easy call for the ref as he had a clear view. So I'm sure he'll get a slap on the wrist for that. And rightly so.
The second half was certainly more entertaining and the attacking play was better. But some of the defending was shambolic. Tyrone definitely need personell changes in there. Hopefully Justy and Conor can get a bit of fitness back and get in contention for a starting slot.
Another bug bear that came from the game yesterday is the lack of regulation on steps by refs this year. There was numerous times yesterday for both teams when they over ran the ball without punishment. It seems to have gotten looser this year than any other year. And this as well as the black card have tipped the advantage too much in favour of the attacker.

We go again.
I agree with all of that, a good summary of the game.
Interesting that Brolly didnt mention the lack of balck card for mcginn. He certainly doesnt want 'his ' new rule to get any bad press.

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on May 19, 2014, 09:11:32 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 19, 2014, 09:01:34 AM

We go again.
I agree with all of that, a good summary of the game.
Interesting that Brolly didnt mention the lack of balck card for mcginn. He certainly doesnt want 'his ' new rule to get any bad press.

it was definitely mentioned by the panelists, along with the advantage rule.

regardless of who was diving yesterday, its a hot topic now and hopefully the powers that be can dab off the marie rose sauce and get the fingers out

It was an interesting battle yesterday. I do worry for Tyrone, there didn't seem to be a plan B yesterday. One thing that did strike me was the 14 man-to-man marking, its been a while since we seen this in the championship.

Terrible team selection yesterday and two of the biggest calls (McGinley and McKenna) really back fired.  McGinley looked lost when under pressure up front and missed a lot of easy chances, but he is a defender and not a forward.  I thought that during the league Tyrone had gone away from this endless carrying the ball game, and instead were focused on playing quick foot passes into the forwards.  Yesterday ti seemed like Tyrone had reverted back to their old ways, maybe that was in part due to the lack of space seen up front with the number of Down bodies back, I dunno.  The one thing that does worry me is how easily the Tyrone defence is opened up when a ball is fed in to the opposition full forward line who recycles it to a player who is running through.  One of the goals yesterday came from this and Johnston also nearly had one through the same tactic.  Surely the prevention of this should have been really worked on in training as it was happening very often in the Mayo, Kerry and Dublin games in the league.  As someone said, maybe we have too many offensive orientated players in defence.  I think people are being hard on McBride too, you have to consider that this was his first Ulster Championship start for Tyrone yet I think he performed well, with his man scoring maybe a point. 

Did someone from Down kick Martin McHugh's dog or what?
He hadn't a good word to say about them the whole game, granted he had a field day in the first half as Down were dire, but once the two Johnstons and Benny Coulter (pronounced cool-ter on RTE for some reason) were introduced and Kiernan pushed into midfield, Tyrone were all over the shop. The free given to the Tyrone fullback when Madine was standing over him and not touching him was laughable and as pointed out by sidey, but Martins response was something about it hard for the ref to see!!

Big Whelahan and McStay called it right on the cards front, Maginn should have got a black card for the futile rugby tackle, but Morgan should have gotten a red for his bringing down of Johnston.

Quote from: nrico2006 on May 19, 2014, 09:34:29 AM
Terrible team selection yesterday and two of the biggest calls (McGinley and McKenna) really back fired.  McGinley looked lost when under pressure up front and missed a lot of easy chances, but he is a defender and not a forward.  I thought that during the league Tyrone had gone away from this endless carrying the ball game, and instead were focused on playing quick foot passes into the forwards.  Yesterday ti seemed like Tyrone had reverted back to their old ways, maybe that was in part due to the lack of space seen up front with the number of Down bodies back, I dunno.  The one thing that does worry me is how easily the Tyrone defence is opened up when a ball is fed in to the opposition full forward line who recycles it to a player who is running through.  One of the goals yesterday came from this and Johnston also nearly had one through the same tactic.  Surely the prevention of this should have been really worked on in training as it was happening very often in the Mayo, Kerry and Dublin games in the league.  As someone said, maybe we have too many offensive orientated players in defence.  I think people are being hard on McBride too, you have to consider that this was his first Ulster Championship start for Tyrone yet I think he performed well, with his man scoring maybe a point.

when the defence is opened up like that, it is all to easy to blame the full back line, but alot of it came from runners not being tracked from deep.
The defensive frailties are as much down to the half back line/midfield switching off and exposing the FB line as anything else