Tyrone v Down - Sun 18th May, Omagh

Started by tyroneman, April 15, 2014, 06:58:12 AM

Quote from: WT4E on May 22, 2014, 11:49:36 PM
Is the unusual late team announcement a sign that mickeys just not sure about his choices anymore???

I believe he just draws lots these days  ;)

Quote from: ONeill on May 22, 2014, 09:57:05 PM
There's no team like Down with their dander up. Always been like that since I can remember.

Just that cool confidence the Mournemen have when they know they are going to win.

BarryBreensBandage

Quote from: Fuzzman on May 22, 2014, 09:23:52 PM
I finally got around to watching the match again last night or at least the second half. Some of the defending for Tyrone is just unreal. One time I counted 7 men back and Poland passed and ran on and nobody followed him. Schoolboy stuff time and again. I presume they watch videos of it afterwards.
I see Brolly in the GL is heaping praise on Block for steadying the ship. He also praises Sean after saying how the big man rarely goes down in his own box.

I would say Down will have less fear and more belief this weekend. I still think they'll come up short this time though.
I wonder will Maginn be so abrasive this time as he could have been sent to the line much faster last Sunday. Even before the penalty.

Thats the thing that cheeses me off as well - blanket defence being used and not one tackle being put in on the opposition while they score a point. Down were at it in the first half as well, almost looking for someone else to tackle for them.
"Some people say I am indecisive..... maybe I am, maybe I'm not".

BarryBreensBandage

Great interview with Mickey Linden - Legend.
In light of the Mickey Harte comments on here, there are interesting points made about being discarded from the Down set up by Paddy O'Rourke.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2014/0517/sport/the-mournersquos-supreme-athlete-269024.html
"Some people say I am indecisive..... maybe I am, maybe I'm not".

Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on May 23, 2014, 07:24:44 AM
I finally got around to watching the match again last night or at least the second half. Some of the defending for Tyrone is just unreal. One time I counted 7 men back and Poland passed and ran on and nobody followed him. Schoolboy stuff time and again. I presume they watch videos of it afterwards.
I see Brolly in the GL is heaping praise on Block for steadying the ship. He also praises Sean after saying how the big man rarely goes down in his own box.

I would say Down will have less fear and more belief this weekend. I still think they'll come up short this time though.
I wonder will Maginn be so abrasive this time as he could have been sent to the line much faster last Sunday. Even before the penalty.

Thats the thing that cheeses me off as well - blanket defence being used and not one tackle being put in on the opposition while they score a point. Down were at it in the first half as well, almost looking for someone else to tackle for them.

The was an couple of examples in the second half of Tyrone defending which summed up the old and the new. Johnstone, i think, on 3 occasions was carrying the ball on the left wing. On the first two occasions the was chased by Matty Donnelly and then Peter Harte, they both ran alongside him, tapping him with the near hand attempting no real tackle as he made 40 or 50 yeards progress. A few minutes later the same player was in possession again and Conor Gormley was the defender. He jockeyed him, made a well timed, hard tackle and came away with the ball, at a crucial time. Gormely shouldnt have had the pace of Harte or Donnelly but his understanding of the art of tackling was much superior. I think this exemplifies part of the problem our defence faces - we can still get back in numbers but the tackling isnt as effective as it has been in the past.

had a look at the guides, definitely not on the box lads?

Has all the makings of a facinating macth for the newt-eerls

WT4E

Quote from: BennyHarp on May 23, 2014, 08:55:50 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on May 23, 2014, 07:24:44 AM

The was an couple of examples in the second half of Tyrone defending which summed up the old and the new. Johnstone, i think, on 3 occasions was carrying the ball on the left wing. On the first two occasions the was chased by Matty Donnelly and then Peter Harte, they both ran alongside him, tapping him with the near hand attempting no real tackle as he made 40 or 50 yeards progress. A few minutes later the same player was in possession again and Conor Gormley was the defender. He jockeyed him, made a well timed, hard tackle and came away with the ball, at a crucial time. Gormely shouldnt have had the pace of Harte or Donnelly but his understanding of the art of tackling was much superior. I think this exemplifies part of the problem our defence faces - we can still get back in numbers but the tackling isnt as effective as it has been in the past.

Bring back Paddy Tally!!!!

This is what amazes me lads
You've all these development squads and coaches and GAA camps etc etc and here we have our best 6 defenders in the county and how many of them know how to tackle properly. How to jockey until the right moment. How not to dive in and when they should dive in?
I was actually impressed with McCrory for the first time ever last Sunday. Thought he kept Poland very quiet bar that point.

There is a massive lack of leadership in defence. Nobody eats the head of anybody if their man lets a man go. Nobody hits anybody hard or off the ball any more. I know I know Black card and all that.
Too much shite talked about sure positions mean nothing any more and your wing backs could be your top scorers. We've lost the run of ourselves.

Christmas Lights

Team for Saturday, you heard it here first.

1)Morgan
2)McCrory
3)Conor Gormley
4)Conor Clarke
5)McGinley
6)Justy
7)Peter Harte
8)Colm Cav
9)Matty Donnelly
10)Penrose
11)Sean Cavanagh
12)Mark Donnelly
13)McCurry
14)Coney
15)Ronan O'Neill

Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 23, 2014, 02:00:04 PM

1)Morgan
2)McCrory
3)Conor Gormley
4)Conor Clarke
5)McGinley
6)Justy
7)Peter Harte
8)Colm Cav
9)Matty Donnelly
10)Penrose
11)Sean Cavanagh
12)Mark Donnelly
13)McCurry
14)Coney
15)Ronan O'Neill

Penrose in midfield surely?

Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 23, 2014, 02:00:04 PM

1)Morgan
2)McCrory
3)Conor Gormley
4)Conor Clarke
5)McGinley
6)Justy
7)Peter Harte
8)Colm Cav
9)Matty Donnelly
10)Penrose
11)Sean Cavanagh
12)Mark Donnelly
13)McCurry
14)Coney
15)Ronan O'Neill

I'd be happy with that team if Mattie Donnelly and Sean Cavanagh were switched about. 

I'd be happy with that team as well but I will be shocked if that's what he names.
I am not happy though with Conor Clarke and corner back. He's grand if he's marking a big man his own size and speed but at one stage on Sunday young Wilo the Wisp was on him and I feared more goals.

Am very disappointed no SON, No Dooher. No Patsy Kerlin.
Disillusioned.

Would be much happier with that team. Would like to see Sean thrown in at FF with Coney and McCurry feeding off the breaks for a couple of ten minute spells to see what results. Defence looks a lot more solid aswell. Be interesting to see if that team Iis correct.

WT4E

Guarantee you he names same 15 - with only possibility of 1 or 2 of the subs coming in as replacements before throw in.

Remember Micky is smarter than everyone else!  :P

Did any of ye see Joey on Sunday. He looked kinda on the heavy side
Would McNamee be in with a shout again? Is Full back his new position?