Gooch Out

Started by Any craic, February 17, 2014, 03:26:10 PM

Quote from: Rossfan on February 17, 2014, 08:44:15 PM
Tough on CC at this stage of his playing career.
Glad now I saw him in the game v Dublin last September.
Best wishes for a speedy recovery.

You didn't see him make mince meat of Mayo in 2011 as the closer for the Ros-Tipp main event? For shame, thought you'd have enjoyed that one more.

Didn't say I didn't enjoy that too  ;D - but his first half v Dublin was something else.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

That's two big players in a week. Kevin O'Brien last Thursday and Gooch on Saturday.

Terrible news for their clubs, counties and the lads themselves. I hope both make a fully recovery.

Wasn't there a spate of these injuries at the Nou Camp the other year?

Quote from: orangeman on February 17, 2014, 10:40:08 PM
That's two big players in a week. Kevin O'Brien last Thursday and Gooch on Saturday.

Terrible news for their clubs, counties and the lads themselves. I hope both make a fully recovery.

You could also add Aidan Forker who did his in the first National League game for Armagh against Louth.

I hope all, and others who have suffered other long term injuries, make it back to play again. Too often players never make it back eg. Ronan Clarke.

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 17, 2014, 06:52:13 PM
Looking at the reply Gooch's injury is nothing to do with blades...he was hit hard in the wrong place by the Mitchel's defender. Bit of controversy over whether he was "done" or not...

Controversy where and with whom? How was he 'done'?

Gooch saw an opportunity and went for it when most players would have taken an easy point. His marker turned and pursued him as best he could and another defender came across to make a block on the shot.

How in the name of God is that a 'done'?

f**k it, we can't get get anything right in this county. If Gooch scores goals against us in AI finals, we 're soft and didn' t man up and if he gets injured in a harmless challenge in a club game we' ve destroyed the son of the morning star of football.

Quote from: moysider on February 18, 2014, 12:29:41 AM
Looking at the reply Gooch's injury is nothing to do with blades...he was hit hard in the wrong place by the Mitchel's defender. Bit of controversy over whether he was "done" or not...

Gooch saw an opportunity and went for it when most players would have taken an easy point. His marker turned and pursued him as best he could and another defender came across to make a block on the shot.

f**k it, we can't get get anything right in this county. If Gooch scores goals against us in AI finals, we 're soft and didn' t man up and if he gets injured in a harmless challenge in a club game we' ve destroyed the son of the morning star of football.

Exactly, there was no malice whatsoever in that tackle, and it's very unfair for that to be said about the Mitchels player involved.
We're all big gooch fans, and his display in the semi-final against Dublin was a complete masterclass, but jesus a bit of perspective ffs:

Speaking to RTÉ Sport, Kerry county board chairman Patrick O'Sullivan confirmed that Cooper had the scan and that he will be sidelined for the rest of the year.

He said: "He (Cooper) visited Santry today to have a scan done on the knee. It showed that he ruptured his anterior cruciate ligament. As a result he is out of football for the year.

"The news is devastating for Colm. I don't recall him ever having an injury that kept him out for a long time except for the eye injury he got playing against Monaghan a few years back."

"It's hard to figure life without Colm Cooper in this year's Championship and it's like a death in the family to all of us."

Parkinson all over twitter saying he was deliberately taken out, the man dived at him and that's not how he was taught how to block a ball. Like that gobshite ever blocked a ball in his life.

The Hill is Blue

Colm's injury is bad news for all football fans. He's a very special talent.

There has been much talk about his display in last year's semi-final against the Dubs but of course for Colm that was just a normal day at the office. I remember my heart dropping early in the 2011 final when Colm got an early goal and we had nightmare visions of the 2009 quarter final when Gooch scored a goal after 35 seconds and the Dubs collapsed. He's done that sort of thing throughout his career. May he have many more great days like that (but just not against the Dubs  ;)).
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

Hope he recovers well and gets back to entertaining the Irish people again soon.

Had to laugh at the below quote ;D  He is not dead FFS...

QuoteSpeaking to RTÉ Sport, Kerry county board chairman Patrick O'Sullivan confirmed that Cooper had the scan and that he will be sidelined for the rest of the year.

He said: "He (Cooper) visited Santry today to have a scan done on the knee. It showed that he ruptured his anterior cruciate ligament. As a result he is out of football for the year.

"The news is devastating for Colm. I don't recall him ever having an injury that kept him out for a long time except for the eye injury he got playing against Monaghan a few years back."

"It's hard to figure life without Colm Cooper in this year's Championship and it's like a death in the family to all of us."

A guy who did his ACL 6 months ago has just  won a Gold in Snowboarding at the Olympics.  There's hope yet.

FL/MAYO

Sorry to hear about the Gooch injury he is a class player, having said that I don't see anything malicious in the tackle, it was awkward if anything. If you see Colm Cooper bearing down on goal like that the alarm bells are ringing, all players involved in the play were giving total commitment.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKRXwGnUW-c

Put the dummy back in there Moysider. Bit touchy aren't we? It was a major talking point on Twitter as to whether he deliberately taken out or not.

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 18, 2014, 03:05:06 PM

Put the dummy back in there Moysider. Bit touchy aren't we? It was a major talking point on Twitter as to whether he deliberately taken out or not.

Colm Parkinson ffs?

That isn't controversy. That is attention seeking.

The player dived at Cooper's feet, as anyone who ever blocked a ball has done. The subsequent collisions was awkward and Cooper fell over him. This happens in every match from minor up without incident. But unfortunately in this case Gooch got injured badly.

There isn't a word from Croke's nor anyone ins Kerry. They would rightly be up in arms if they thought he was 'done'. But they aren't. Kerry people know their football. He wasn't 'done', it was just one of those things.

The only negative comments I've seen are lazy comments from a couple of journalists in RTE and The Irish Times, both who name the wrong player. If they can't get the player right, with coverage the match available online, how valid is their criticism of him?

And then there is Parkinson. Yawn.

Quote from: muppet on February 18, 2014, 05:28:16 PM
There isn't a word from Croke's nor anyone ins Kerry. They would rightly be up in arms if they thought he was 'done'. But they aren't. Kerry people know their football. He wasn't 'done', it was just one of those things.

Well apart from the Dr Crokes manager Noel O'Leary who claimed you would get Life imprisonment for challenge like that down in Kerry  :o