Mayo v Kerry 2nd March. Beo ar TG4

Started by Farrandeelin, February 13, 2014, 08:56:13 PM

Quote from: larryin89 on March 02, 2014, 04:03:48 PM
Quote from: Chimley on March 02, 2014, 03:12:59 PM
Win, lose or draw from here, Mayo look very poor today and so far this year.

Totally agree , Mayo are fooked and will not be the slightest bit surprised if we came a cropper in the Hyde in June .

Jez this is early March! Not feckin August! To stay in this Division you only need to finish 6th out of 8 teams and you only need to finish 4th to Qualify for the league play-off! We have players out injured and on or just back from Club duty. Experimentation has to be carried out now. But this experimentation can only be limited or else you'll lose all shape and you won't know your arse from your elbow! There was not much wrong with us last year despite all the doom and gloom. Lets get through this league first and see where we are.

oneoftheseyears

Quote from: Chimley on March 02, 2014, 02:42:48 PM
Quote from: Beantown on March 02, 2014, 02:36:21 PM
Andy Moran, Black Card??

Agreed. Makes a mockery of the rule if that's not a black card.

Its only a black card if the fouled player goes to ground.

Quote from: oneoftheseyears on March 02, 2014, 05:14:31 PM
Andy Moran, Black Card??

So it's encouraging diving after being fouled (really)!

oneoftheseyears

Quote from: From the Bunker on March 02, 2014, 05:24:04 PM
Andy Moran, Black Card??

So it's encouraging diving after being fouled (really)!

My thoughts exactly!!

Ringfort

Andy Moran, Black Card??

Should not be the case if so. Blatant cynical pull back from Moran. Has to be black. I was thinking at the time watching it that the refs might be inclined to dish out the black only for the Sean Cavanagh rugby tackle.

Larryin89. Ros have to get past LM first before getting a crack at Mayo. Ros are perennially unpredictable and LM seem to be motoring well so far this year so there are no foregone conclusions.

oneoftheseyears

Quote from: Ringfort on March 02, 2014, 05:28:20 PM
Andy Moran, Black Card??

Should not be the case if so. Blatant cynical pull back from Moran. Has to be black. I was thinking at the time watching it that the refs might be inclined to dish out the black only for the Sean Cavanagh rugby tackle.

Larryin89. Ros have to get past LM first before getting a crack at Mayo. Ros are perennially unpredictable and LM seem to be motoring well so far this year so there are no foregone conclusions.

Taken from The Examiner Jan 9th 2014
Over the weekend a total of 20 pre-season games were played in the four provinces. Those 20 games produced 18 black cards. Naturally, there were a few contentious decisions. In the Athletic Grounds, Armagh's Robbie Tasker was replaced after he pulled the jersey of Queen's student Conal McNulty. Jersey pulling doesn't come under the black card's jurisdiction.

When Paul Grimley asked the referee to explain his decision, he was told that Tasker "had initially fouled the Queen's player and had then fouled him a second time".

Even the referee's explanation doesn't offer a sufficient reason for showing a black card.

The rule is clear. A player must "deliberately pull down an opponent". Tasker didn't take McNulty to the floor.

Ringfort

A bit short sighted from the rule makers so. How is dragging a man to the floor worse than dragging him back by sleeve or collar if the end result is the same ie a man storming through on goal is deliberately and cynically stopped illegally???

So you can still pull a man back like Moran did today and not be black carded. Third round of the league and it's all been figured out. Just grab a fist of the players jersey and hold on to stop him from going through. He has to dive in order to go to ground so you won't be black carded. Great.

I would say without the "bring down" element there would be a contradiction to the advantage rule.

What was the difference between Moran's and the Kerry fella who got black carded. Both cynical, one went down the other didn't. Both had the desired effect.

Was at a black card course today so didn't see either offence but some interesting scenarios came up that weren't fully clarified. However, you have to drag a man down for it to be a black card, lifting him up, bear hugging him etc. are yellows.

Beantown

So Bear Hug it is then! Bring on brolly and Spillane twisting over this in the summer! If it's cynical it's cynical, but to be fair only the GAA can make a grey issue even greyer and murkier than is humanly possible.

At least it will have a comedy value when players start to dive to get other players black carded. We can have a thread on the most spectacular dives and hand out an award at the end of the year.

Quote from: larryin89 on March 02, 2014, 04:30:52 PM
Quote from: Kimbap on March 02, 2014, 04:20:20 PM

Totally agree , Mayo are fooked and will not be the slightest bit surprised if we came a cropper in the Hyde in June .

Thats a typical over the top attitude that seems to effect some of our supporters.

Horan is still trying out new players.The team isnt at championship pitch yet.We bet Kerry by 5 points and you're focusing on the negative and saying we'll lose a game three months from now,ffs.

And there's the other end of the scale that never see anything wrong with Mayo under Horan.

Have Mayo been poor  in the league so far, yes they have , nothing sensationalist about it.

Today's game could of gone either way , Kerry looked far sharper for a lot of the game but as per they seem to run out of steam lately.

The hits that Kerry were putting in during the first half made Mayo look very boy like .

The elephant in the room that nobody is willing to air their opinion on is Andy Moran, he's finished as a starter .

The full back line is atrocious and a very exposed line everytime ,hennelly is not as solid as Clarke.

They are some points imo that make for my verdict of poor form, if you disagree fair enough , doesn't make you right.

June 8th v Roscommon, if you're a betting man get on the Rossie to end their thirteen year famine against the mighty Mayo.

I wouldn t despair Larry although at times today we didn t look great.

I think Andy was always mostly about leadership and cleverness in possession rather than fleetness of foot. Today he handled a sight of ball in deep positions and I thought he used it well and constructively while others just wanted to force things and we were getting dispossessed. Again today when we moved the ball quickly through the hands we cut them up. But a few continue to take too much out of the ball.

Surprised they started Gallagher in a strange position in the corner and disappointed he wasn t switched before he was taken off. Hope it doesn t damage his confidence. He s not a corner man and this trial was unnecessary. Doherty, Freeman and Varley all did very well. As did Harrison. His display was very heartening. I didn t think the fb line was bad once Higgins settled back in there and putting Higgins back was the correct decision under the circumstances.

I also felt we had a more resolute look about us at the end with Seamie and Vaughan on the pitch.

Look, the 2 points was the important bit today and a few players will be feeling better about themselves after good showings. 2 more wins and we re safe. 3 wins and we ll get a bonus game in a semi. I d take a bit of rustiness as long as the core players get back to fitness and we don t lose likes of a Boyle, Aidan, Keegan, McLoughlin or God forbid Higgins. I thought our appetite was obvious today and attitude/discipline was good too. I m not despairing yet. We might give the Rossies a game yet in Summer!

Quote from: moysider on March 02, 2014, 10:16:11 PM

Thats a typical over the top attitude that seems to effect some of our supporters.

Horan is still trying out new players.The team isnt at championship pitch yet.We bet Kerry by 5 points and you're focusing on the negative and saying we'll lose a game three months from now,ffs.

And there's the other end of the scale that never see anything wrong with Mayo under Horan.

Have Mayo been poor  in the league so far, yes they have , nothing sensationalist about it.

Today's game could of gone either way , Kerry looked far sharper for a lot of the game but as per they seem to run out of steam lately.

The hits that Kerry were putting in during the first half made Mayo look very boy like .

The elephant in the room that nobody is willing to air their opinion on is Andy Moran, he's finished as a starter .

The full back line is atrocious and a very exposed line everytime ,hennelly is not as solid as Clarke.

They are some points imo that make for my verdict of poor form, if you disagree fair enough , doesn't make you right.

June 8th v Roscommon, if you're a betting man get on the Rossie to end their thirteen year famine against the mighty Mayo.

I think Andy was always mostly about leadership and cleverness in possession rather than fleetness of foot. Today he handled a sight of ball in deep positions and I thought he used it well and constructively while others just wanted to force things and we were getting dispossessed. Again today when we moved the ball quickly through the hands we cut them up. But a few continue to take too much out of the ball.

Surprised they started Gallagher in a strange position in the corner and disappointed he wasn t switched before he was taken off. Hope it doesn t damage his confidence. He s not a corner man and this trial was unnecessary. Doherty, Freeman and Varley all did very well. As did Harrison. His display was very heartening. I didn t think the fb line was bad once Higgins settled back in there and putting Higgins back was the correct decision under the circumstances.

I also felt we had a more resolute look about us at the end with Seamie and Vaughan on the pitch.

Look, the 2 points was the important bit today and a few players will be feeling better about themselves after good showings. 2 more wins and we re safe. 3 wins and we ll get a bonus game in a semi. I d take a bit of rustiness as long as the core players get back to fitness and we don t lose likes of a Boyle, Aidan, Keegan, McLoughlin or God forbid Higgins. I thought our appetite was obvious today and attitude/discipline was good too. I m not despairing yet. We might give the Rossies a game yet in Summer!
I was far happier leaving the grounds than I was going in.
For one thing, all the regulars seem to be willing and able to get stuck in again. It's early days yet but it seems they've shrugged off the disappointment of last September and are up and running. For another, lads like  Gibbons and Doherty are going to fight for places on the championship  panel instead of resigning themselves to sitting on their backsides on the subs' bench once again. Also, Alan Freeman is showing form and he was easily the best forward on view today- IMO anyway. If he keeps it up, God knows where we will wind up this year.
I'm a little bit more confident that we'll scrape past Roscommon. ;D
I thought the passing both by hand and foot was very good at times. Better than the aimless hoofing and thumping that I've seen to date.I know the outcome was in doubt right up to the closing minutes but Kerry don't want to be relegated either and they weren't there just to make up the numbers.
I'm  happy that the team is beginning to take shape and that's enough to be going on.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 02, 2014, 10:47:31 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 02, 2014, 10:16:11 PM

I was far happier leaving the grounds than I was going in. For one thing, all the regulars seem to be willing and able to get stuck in again. It's early days yet but it seems they've shrugged off the disappointment of last September and are up and running. For another, lads like  Gibbons and Doherty are going to fight for places on the championship  panel instead of resigning themselves to sitting on their backsides on the subs' bench once again. Also, Alan Freeman is showing form and he was easily the best forward on view today- IMO anyway. If he keeps it up, God knows where we will wind up this year.
I'm a little bit more confident that we'll scrape past Roscommon. ;D
I thought the passing both by hand and foot was very good at times. Better than the aimless hoofing and thumping that I've seen to date.I know the outcome was in doubt right up to the closing minutes but Kerry don't want to be relegated either and they weren't there just to make up the numbers.
I'm  happy that the team is beginning to take shape and that's enough to be going on.

Told ye it wouldn t rain Lar ;D

I listened on MWR and there appeared to be a lot of ball going into the forwards for a while which had no one to win them. Will Barry Moran have a role to play in there in the summer. Keith Higgins sounded unstoppable when running from deep, rather than dead footed as ya can be if ya have the ball coming into you.