Tyrone v Mayo - 9th Feb in Omagh - Deferred coverage on TG4

Started by Fuzzman, February 03, 2014, 01:39:32 PM

Redhand Santa

I think there's seems to be a we bit of disrespect from some Mayo posters towards tyrone. Tyrone were easily in the top 5 teams last year as proven by a run to the semis as well as running Dublin to a point in the league final. Yes we beat mayo last year and it didn't matter come championship but we won by 5 points more than last year today, have numerous improving young players and had only 6 of last years team on. I wouldn't be so confident if I was a mayo supporter of winning later in the year.

I thought we played really well in spells today. I'm still concerned with defence though. I personally think Harte should be left half back and a more defensive presence in the centre as well. Our half forward line in first half didn't win enough ball, especially the breaks.

The full forward lime was dangerous and there's great signs there for later in the year. I thought colm cavanagh put in a great shift in the middle and the younger players should look at his work rate and bravery. Grugan is good on the ball but needs to win more ball round the middle. He may be able to do a job in the half forward line.

Overall a lot to build on. Going to be interesting when we get the experienced boys back. If injuries stay away there is potentially a great blend of a team there.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 09, 2014, 09:12:44 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 09, 2014, 07:32:57 PM
I wouldn't say it meant nothing, your forwards have been leaving you down for years and they don't look like they are going to be dependable. Tyrone, Donegal, Kildare and Monaghan all look like they'll be better this year than last. I think Mayo fans should have genuine concerns.

As one of the 'more concerned' posters, I agree totally Zulu. This high-pressing game had stood us well for two years. But I think that today we were out-played, and simply weren't good enough in some key areas. When we were having our best spell of the game (early on), the scoreline was 2 points to 1 in our favour. Games always ebb and flow, so Tyrone were always going to come into it, and they did. Our defence were caught napping for the first goal.

Gibbons and O'Shea did well in midfield however, and they seemed to win more breaking ball this week, in comparison to last, but again the end product let us down. I know we shouldn't be worrying yet, but I am. Is Higgins going to be left at number 11? Will Boyle and Keane remain as the cornerbacks? I wasn't impressed with either today. Brian Gallagher offered next to nothing after coming on. McLoughlin shouldn't start in the corner, he's much better running at defences. As mentioned before, Stephen Coen did well when he came on. Drake also had a very good game. On reflection taking off Carolan was a mistake as he would have been more of a worker around the middle area than Gallagher was as he tends to 'rough it up'.

The only plus points are that Kerry have 0 points and Westmeath have 0 points and we play them in our next two games. Like larryin89, I am worrying. Staving off relegation is probably what the team will be doing.

Avoiding relegation would be a result from here now. Look, in spite of what Horan was saying about winning the league this was always going to be about threading water. That was old soft chat. He was hardly going to say 'no - we are not going to bother with the league'. The reality is we didn t do much pre season. Proper call. After 2 AI finals getting this team fresh later in the year is the key.
Last year we lost 3 matches in McHale Park to Kildare, Tyrone and Down. We were concerned. Both Kildare and Tyrone gave us the run around for long spells. We got to the AI.
The year before the sky fell in Ballyshannon. Donegal  killed us and made us look like a rabble. Things looked real bad but we recovered and made AI final. There s always worries.
Our forwards are taking a shoeing tonight and rightly so but its often a thin line. If Higgins and Carolan had goaled - and both should have- we d have people wetting themselves about finishes after carving Tyrone open. Meanwhile McCurry nails 2 half chances - with great quality, in case I m accused of being disrespectful again by the Tyronies ::). We fucked up 4 or more great  opportunities while Tyrone in fairness blew one. McLoughlin missed 2 gimmies from frees as well. It doesn t  take Einstein to work out why we lose games. But we wont always miss those and McCurry might not always get those either. Thats sport.
The Boyle thing doesn t look great and hopefully won t damage his confidence. But we're stuck for corner backs. Michael Walsh was dropped after grooming him for 2 years and not giving him matches. He s a natural marker ( you can be sure McCurry wouldn t have got 2 - 'pick an number' off him), but maybe James only saw him as a tackle bag in the squad but it seems a waste of time for everybody concerned. The Higgins thing I wouldn t be too worried about. It might not work out. His natural game is coming onto ball and he wouldn t be used to being marked or playing with his back to goal. If he was to stay in the forwards it could be as free deep role with 15 on his back. I would prefer a playmaker like Cillian O Connor at 11. There is another name that could improve the forwards but we cant go there without upsetting some people. Máirtín McHugh must be wondering where he is. He predicted before the Kildare game that himself and Adam Gallagher would make a big impression for Mayo in this league. He was right about Gallagher. James is begining to look a bit foolish about the other.

QuoteOur forwards are taking a shoeing tonight and rightly so but its often a thin line. If Higgins and Carolan had goaled - and both should have- we d have people wetting themselves about finishes after carving Tyrone open. Meanwhile McCurry nails 2 half chances - with great quality, in case I m accused of being disrespectful again by the Tyronies ::). We fucked up 4 or more great  opportunities while Tyrone in fairness blew one. McLoughlin missed 2 gimmies from frees as well. It doesn t  take Einstein to work out why we lose games. But we wont always miss those and McCurry might not always get those either. Thats sport.

While that's true, it's also true to say that Mayo forwards tend to miss more than they should at this level. You're unlikely to score goal opportunities in CP on All Ireland final day if you can't keep your head and finish them in February. As a neutral I liked the look of some of those Tyrone forwards while I was less impressed with Mayo's. Of course some of those Mayo forwards will have better days and the Tyrone boys will have poor outings too but Tyrone look like they've lads that will deliver more often than not. I can't say the same about Mayo.

Redhand Santa

As I said earlier I was disappointed with the half forward line in the first half. I thought out of the 3 Hughes was unlucky to be the 1st off. I'd give McGuigan a few more goes as he has a bit of class and a good passer of the ball. However he gave the ball away too cheaply today and didn't do enough. More disappointing than that was that after losing the ball he didn't bother chasing back. He's still learning though and can hopefully improve from today.

Agree with you Moysider about the other forward but like you say no point going there ,It just beggars belief though, the gaa population are often left scratching their heads with some bizzare decision making in Mayo.

It reminds of this time I was travelling back to Dublin from the 08 Connacht final defeat to Galway on the Monday morning and this random Cavan man says to me, " no offence but are ye well in the head at all in Mayo, Macdonald is the best footballer in Ireland never mind Mayo , yet ye ignore him like ye have a team who don't need him"

I replied , I agree and I texted him but he ignored me.

Who is it that Mayo men aren't allowed to talk about ?

Ronald Regan ?

Quote from: Zulu on February 09, 2014, 10:36:31 PM
QuoteOur forwards are taking a shoeing tonight and rightly so but its often a thin line. If Higgins and Carolan had goaled - and both should have- we d have people wetting themselves about finishes after carving Tyrone open. Meanwhile McCurry nails 2 half chances - with great quality, in case I m accused of being disrespectful again by the Tyronies ::). We fucked up 4 or more great  opportunities while Tyrone in fairness blew one. McLoughlin missed 2 gimmies from frees as well. It doesn t  take Einstein to work out why we lose games. But we wont always miss those and McCurry might not always get those either. Thats sport.

While that's true, it's also true to say that Mayo forwards tend to miss more than they should at this level. You're unlikely to score goal opportunities in CP on All Ireland final day if you can't keep your head and finish them in February. As a neutral I liked the look of some of those Tyrone forwards while I was less impressed with Mayo's. Of course some of those Mayo forwards will have better days and the Tyrone boys will have poor outings too but Tyrone look like they've lads that will deliver more often than not. I can't say the same about Mayo.

Well we have in last 2 games anyway but when we were scoring goals for fun last summer it was put down to poor quality opposition. Yet we carved out similar and as easy chances against Div1 teams last 2 games. The fact that we missed them was not down to anything opposition did. they were open goals. They were awful missses. Maybe these teams should be a bit concerned about giving up chances like Leitrim and London do. There seems to be a bit of smugness about that we are in decline. I wouldn t be so sure. I ve no doubt that if Cillian O Connor or the lad we cannot mention, was on the end of some of those chances we would be 2 wins from 2.

I d also factor in the intensity of marking Andy and Conroy in second half had to contend with compared to Tyrone forwards. Tyrone were able to get close and double up. Maybe it s a fitness thing. Like Kildare last week Tyrone forwards would have tighter marking in the warm up drills. If those performances are the real deal McCurry, Mattie D and Paddy Brophy should be handed their All Stars now.

Mayo s lack of bench and lack of fitness a factor. AOS burning oil early and Higgins not in best shape either. Because some starters didnt function and Boyle got injured the cupboard was bare long before the end today. Not the end of the world.
We ll have to give Andy games and hope he makes it but it is wait and see with him.

Quote from: orangeman on February 09, 2014, 10:54:25 PM
Who is it that Mayo men aren't allowed to talk about ?

Ronald Regan ?

Shhhhh!

Don t be upsetting Rosnarun or the East Mayo lads.

kickingmule

Big improvement from last weeks performance against derry,but we have a disaster waiting to happen @ chb, in saying that the wing halfs worked very hard , as did the full back line , tierney a great find. I think the bench is a good place for relatives.

maigheo

In case we forget it was Regan who turned down the invitation to join the panel ,but shur never let the facts get in the way of a rant against the mayo management.Tyrone deserved there victory and I think if Harte gives them a bit more freedom than last year they will be contenders come August and September.

Quote from: maigheo on February 10, 2014, 12:24:47 AM
In case we forget it was Regan who turned down the invitation to join the panel ,but shur never let the facts get in the way of a rant against the mayo management.Tyrone deserved there victory and I think if Harte gives them a bit more freedom than last year they will be contenders come August and September.

Will James go after him again and look him to rejoin the panel ?

Let's not forget he was cut from the panel last year in the middle of the summer .

Look we can debate this all night and day , it still doesn't take away from the fact  he is a better footballer than at least three of the forwards on display today and more potential than most of them. He's a young man of 21 years of age , if you as a manager can't make a house call and give some encouragement to persuade him , you're not doing your job imo. Get the best men in the county on the pitch is surely still part of your job as a manager .

In case we forget it was Regan who turned down the invitation to join the panel ,but shur never let the facts get in the way of a rant against the mayo management

Not true. Dropped last Summer. And who s ranting?

Quote from: larryin89 on February 10, 2014, 12:35:58 AM

Let's not forget he was cut from the panel last year in the middle of the summer .

Look we can debate this all night and day , it still doesn't take away from the fact  he is a better footballer than at least three of the forwards on display today and more potential than most of them. He's a young man of 21 years of age , if you as a manager can't make a house call and give some encouragement to persuade him , you're not doing your job imo. Get the best men in the county on the pitch is surely still part of your job as a manager .

So basically what you're saying is that there is a class forward in Mayo not playing ball who because he got the chop in his mind very unfairly last year, ignored  a text or phone call from James to rejoin the panel this year and that James is so pig headed that we won't swallow his pride and go and track the lad down, knock on his door and ask him to come and play for Mayo.

That's all fair enough but you could be forgiven for thinking that Mayo and James had loads of brilliant, natural forwards already.

Good managers can usually find a way of resolving issues like these without behaving like an ostrich.

Forgive me if I've got bits of it wrong here. I'm only reading between the lines.

Quote from: larryin89 on February 10, 2014, 12:35:58 AM

He s still U 21 but was good enough last year after injury. Possibly good enough year out of minor but injured. But Horan didn t like the cut of him and that s fair enough. A coach/manager has to go with what he wants and he obviously didnt like the cut of the lad and let him go. But it s not a shock that the player does not see the sense in going back.