O'Byrne Cup 2014

Started by Shamrock Shore, November 14, 2013, 03:13:12 PM

Ard-Rí

Quote from: Sea The Stars on January 05, 2014, 11:01:17 PM
A good enough start for Meath. I'd expect them to beat Carlow IT on Wednesday as well. Although Eamonn Wallace is now on the injury list at least for now. Meath have about 20 fit and available players by the sound of things. So it's hardly ideal.

Are there any long term injuries? (Other than Brian Meade?) Any word on what happened to Carroll?
Ar son Éireann Gaelaí

Of course from a Longford point of view it was an encouraging start as only 2 of the starting 15 played in the championship in 2013.

Good also to see 2 Mostrim lads start - the first time 2 Mostrim players on the starting 15 since probably the early 90s. But I am open to correction.

Early days and all that but I am 100% certain, based on yesterday's game, that we'll win the All Ireland this year.

How did Shane O'Rourke get on? Good to see him back after what seems like years out..

The Hill is Blue

It was interesting to see three Dublin team mates from the 90s managing county teams yesterday – Paul Bealin, Jack Sheedy and Jim Gavin
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

Sea The Stars

Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 06, 2014, 01:49:19 AM
A good enough start for Meath. I'd expect them to beat Carlow IT on Wednesday as well. Although Eamonn Wallace is now on the injury list at least for now. Meath have about 20 fit and available players by the sound of things. So it's hardly ideal.

Are there any long term injuries? (Other than Brian Meade?) Any word on what happened to Carroll?

I think Carroll just had a flu or an illness of some sort.

Only other long term injury that I can think of is Brian Dillon. However neither he nor Meade are in the 30 approx man squad.

It's good to see Shane O'Rourke back alright. Himself and Gillespie would be a midfield partnership I would like to see more of.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2014, 08:36:58 PM
God. Carlow were putrid in the first half today. Bit better in the second half but Longford were never troubled.

Group decider this Wed in Cashel under lights v Kildare.

If Dinny or DH need directions then let us know

Thanks SS but I'll be giving it a miss, waiting for the final, DH might be venturing up.

Quote from: Sea The Stars on January 06, 2014, 11:28:09 AM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 06, 2014, 01:49:19 AM

I think Carroll just had a flu or an illness of some sort.

Only other long term injury that I can think of is Brian Dillon. However neither he nor Meade are in the 30 approx man squad.

It's good to see Shane O'Rourke back alright. Himself and Gillespie would be a midfield partnership I would like to see more of.

I'd nearly rather have Shane on the 40.

Enjoyable start to the year in Mullingar yesterday, not withstanding the result. Decent crowd too, in terms of numbers and the more knowledgeable visitors from the capital. I would have to sit behind the one arsehole in the crowd who informed us he was entitled to say what he wanted as he had paid his money.

Impressed with Westmeath and work they have done to date. Sharry was unquestionably best for us but was impressed with the fb line and Quinn's kickouts. Put decent pressure on Cluxtons kickouts as well and seemed organised. Need to work on not taking the ball into the tackle and working the goal when we're breaking through with an extra man. Thought we played too deep and at times there was no one stationed in the scoring zone. Encouraging start though.

stevecw

God. Carlow were putrid in the first half today. Bit better in the second half but Longford were never troubled.

Sad sad days these are for Carlow football. Kilkenny would have beaten that team yesterday.

Most of the better players don't want to be involved with the current set-up, we had 2 lads starting yesterday that have only played a few mins of senior club football. They are 4th/5th subs on their club sides! We ended up with one of the selectors having to sit on the bench as sub keeper!

Under Luke Dempsey we were a mid-table div 4 side who gave most teams a decent game & could produce the odd shock. Beating Louth in Leinster in 2011, drawing with Meath in Leinster in 2012 etc. Since Rainbow took over we have gone so far backwards, it's hard to believe.

Last year was a clueless mess, with players played out of position, lads starting instead of better players and a crazy sweeper system that failed but always stayed in place even if 10 points down!

This year at least 10 of last years team/subs have packed it in or in a few cases gone to play with the hurlers. Rainbow fell out with 3 or 4 more including last years captain for stupid reasons. For anyone fancying a sure thing bet, ask your bookies for odds on Carlow losing all league games in Div 4.

Sorry for going off on a rant there, but it's so frustrating. Longford looked impressive enough, good level of fitness and broke through from half fwd line/mf at pace plenty of times which led to easy scores. Bit shaky in the full back line tho. Kildare game will at least give ye a proper idea of where ye stand.

Catch and Kick

Re Carlow. SteveCW please don't paint Luke's reign as anything other than a disaster - the rot started then and he had the cheek to 'appoint' Rainbow, something the County Board went along with...
County is in a dreadful state alright which is a shame as we have the bones of a decent outfit here...if they were picked. I know of a number of the best footballers in the county who were NOT asked onto the panel.
Rainbow has ONE selector with him.....
I think you might be right that Carlow will lose every game in the League....

Quote from: Catch and Kick on January 06, 2014, 06:11:23 PM
Re Carlow. SteveCW please don't paint Luke's reign as anything other than a disaster - the rot started then and he had the cheek to 'appoint' Rainbow, something the County Board went along with...
County is in a dreadful state alright which is a shame as we have the bones of a decent outfit here...if they were picked. I know of a number of the best footballers in the county who were NOT asked onto the panel.
Rainbow has ONE selector with him.....
I think you might be right that Carlow will lose every game in the League....

In all fairness lads, when has Carlow not been at rock bottom? It's hard to accept that every manager is a fool when the only constant is the players and the county.

Catch and Kick

With all due respects Syferus, we now well that Carlow has been a Div 4 outfit for as long as we care to remember. We have enough decent players to be competitive at this standard. Players will respond when set up is half right. It isn't and hasn't been. Players go back to their clubs and they face a better quality of training and coaching I'm many instances. That's true for the top 5/6 senior teams. Their enthusiasm and ambition re quickly stifled in inferior set ups.
I know it sounds like a cop out to blame managers but players do respond to good leadership. And it's more important in a county like Carlow to have that than in traditional strong counties......like your own....

Quote from: Syferus on January 06, 2014, 04:50:05 PM
Moyna sure can coach, eh CK?
Off on this hobby horse/love in again are we?  :P
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Thanks SS. I'm out of the country on Wednesday so unfortunately I won't be popping over in the Range Rover and sampling the delights of Larryland for the evening.

Kildare looking very strong under a new manager