Ireland v Australia, Rules Test 1, Breffni Park, Saturday 19 October 2013

Started by BennyCake, October 02, 2013, 10:15:01 PM

Quote from: Sidney on October 28, 2013, 08:44:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 28, 2013, 08:36:32 PM

Do you genuinely not understand the difference between the two things?
Yes. One was transmitted on live TV nationally and got a much larger crowd than the other.

Another 'product' merchant so.
I doubt your local club see too much of you.

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

QuoteAnother 'product' merchant so.

Are all of us one of these creatures?

Quote from: Sidney on October 28, 2013, 08:44:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 28, 2013, 08:36:32 PM

Do you genuinely not understand the difference between the two things?
Yes. One was transmitted on live TV nationally and got a much larger crowd than the other.

I see the ethos of the GAA is alive and well with this post!  ::)

Tell the lads playing in and the people watching the Wexford county final that their "product" wasn't up to standard. The fact that none of them care will tell you all you need to know. The game itself meant something and that's what the GAA is about - Saturdays International Rules means little so the key thing is that it entertains - once it fails to deliver entertainment then the "product" is no longer viable. The Wexford County final may be shite for the next 50 years but the local championships will always mean something to many more players and supporters than the international rules ever will.

By the way, I actually don't mind the concept of a compromise rules series, my issue is that the current system is just not working.

Sidney

Quote from: Zulu on October 28, 2013, 09:59:57 PM
QuoteAnother 'product' merchant so.

Are all of us one of these creatures?
Yes, everybody who thinks International Rules can be a success is a "product merchant". Every last one of us.

Sidney

Quote from: BennyHarp on October 28, 2013, 10:00:48 PM

Tell the lads playing in and the people watching the Wexford county final that their "product" wasn't up to standard. The fact that none of them care will tell you all you need to know. The game itself meant something and that's what the GAA is about

Well, duh.

Quote from: Sidney on October 28, 2013, 10:05:58 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on October 28, 2013, 10:00:48 PM

Tell the lads playing in and the people watching the Wexford county final that their "product" wasn't up to standard. The fact that none of them care will tell you all you need to know. The game itself meant something and that's what the GAA is about

Well, duh.

Exactly!

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 28, 2013, 03:52:41 PM
Which players Indianna,? Brogan was carrying a knock so couldn't play. He has played before and probably would have made himself available again. Cluxton was also carrying an injury. Cooper turned it down in the past but was interested in playin this year only for club action...
http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CCoQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.breakingnews.ie%2Fsport%2Fgaa%2Finjuries-rule-out-cluxton-and-brogan-for-international-rules-609068.html&ei=_4ZuUs-jCuTX7Aan0IAY&usg=AFQjCNHxYhZLiZouCUsi9ZGUrJaET0-RQw&bvm=bv.55123115,d.ZGU

Michael Murphy , Jack McCaffrey, Aidan Walsh, Paul Flynn, Cavanagh, Aidan O Shea are some of the biggest names in Gaa.
Saying the big names don't make themselves available isn't accurate

Both of them have played at club recently Rodney. Stick to your knowledge of cavan club football Rodney and leave dublin to me.

Quote from: INDIANA on October 28, 2013, 10:34:50 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 28, 2013, 03:52:41 PM
Which players Indianna,? Brogan was carrying a knock so couldn't play. He has played before and probably would have made himself available again. Cluxton was also carrying an injury. Cooper turned it down in the past but was interested in playin this year only for club action...
http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CCoQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.breakingnews.ie%2Fsport%2Fgaa%2Finjuries-rule-out-cluxton-and-brogan-for-international-rules-609068.html&ei=_4ZuUs-jCuTX7Aan0IAY&usg=AFQjCNHxYhZLiZouCUsi9ZGUrJaET0-RQw&bvm=bv.55123115,d.ZGU

Michael Murphy , Jack McCaffrey, Aidan Walsh, Paul Flynn, Cavanagh, Aidan O Shea are some of the biggest names in Gaa.
Saying the big names don't make themselves available isn't accurate

Both of them have played at club recently Rodney. Stick to your knowledge of cavan club football Rodney and leave dublin to me.

Yeah ok, Jim Gavin, I was just going by what the article said.

superbad

I felt sorry for those who travelled and paid money out to watch it.

Quote from: INDIANA on October 28, 2013, 03:37:02 PM
Quote from: Zulu on October 28, 2013, 11:11:00 AM
QuoteI'm tired of listening to people defending this charade as if to criticise it is an imprisionable offence.

Nonsense, nobody has a problem with criticism of IR the issue is some posters are coming on here and making the same points, some of which are quite daft, over and over again. If a soccer supporter was doing the same about football or hurling your call them a WUM and say we should ignore them.

While some of your points are valid others are weak and if yhe best players continue to make themselves available and crowds are still good then I see no point in abandoning it. More to the point I fail to see why you and others get your knickers in a twist over it. It's two games and is successful in many ways.

But the best players aren't making themselves available so your point is redundant on that Zulu.

I know of three other Dublin players who wwill win all-stars this year who also turned it down because they couldn't be bothered with it.

If the All-Australian team and our best Gaelic Footballers don't want to play in it- why bother?

No matter what, the team that played on Saturday is not representative of the 15 best footballers in Ireland.  You had Paddy O' Rourke, Colm Begley, Ciarán Byrne, Paul Conroy, Chrissy McKaigue and Zach Tuohy starting with the like of Ciarán McKeever and Ciaran Kilkenny lucky enough to get a spot.  There are lots of top county players who would be better than these fellas yet they are not involved for whatever reasons.

Quote from: nrico2006 on October 29, 2013, 08:16:28 AM
QuoteI'm tired of listening to people defending this charade as if to criticise it is an imprisionable offence.

Nonsense, nobody has a problem with criticism of IR the issue is some posters are coming on here and making the same points, some of which are quite daft, over and over again. If a soccer supporter was doing the same about football or hurling your call them a WUM and say we should ignore them.

While some of your points are valid others are weak and if yhe best players continue to make themselves available and crowds are still good then I see no point in abandoning it. More to the point I fail to see why you and others get your knickers in a twist over it. It's two games and is successful in many ways.

But the best players aren't making themselves available so your point is redundant on that Zulu.

I know of three other Dublin players who wwill win all-stars this year who also turned it down because they couldn't be bothered with it.

If the All-Australian team and our best Gaelic Footballers don't want to play in it- why bother?

No matter what, the team that played on Saturday is not representative of the 15 best footballers in Ireland.  You had Paddy O' Rourke, Colm Begley, Ciarán Byrne, Paul Conroy, Chrissy McKaigue and Zach Tuohy starting with the like of Ciarán McKeever and Ciaran Kilkenny lucky enough to get a spot.  There are lots of top county players who would be better than these fellas yet they are not involved for whatever reasons.

In your opinion.., Begley has played AFL and played plenty of times in the past for Ireland. Zach Tuohy plays AFL with Carlton and was Ireland best player  in the first test, what games were you watching. O Rourke is one of the top keepers in the country and has a great presence. Because he doesn't take 45's like Morgan from Tyrone he's not a top Keeper?
McKeeverr has plenty of IR experience and more then likely why he was picked, Byrne recently signed a 2 year deal with Carlton to play AFL from next season.

You were raving about Ciaran Kilkenny on the All Stars thread at one stage and now you are saying he isn't a top player, Gas

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 29, 2013, 10:21:06 AM

In your opinion.., Begley has played AFL and played plenty of times in the past for Ireland. Zach Tuohy plays AFL with Carlton and was Ireland best player  in the first test, what games were you watching. O Rourke is one of the top keepers in the country and has a great presence. Because he doesn't take 45's like Morgan from Tyrone he's not a top Keeper?
McKeeverr has plenty of IR experience and more then likely why he was picked, Byrne recently signed a 2 year deal with Carlton to play AFL from next season.

You were raving about Ciaran Kilkenny on the All Stars thread at one stage and now you are saying he isn't a top player, Gas

Never raved about Kilkenny at all.  My point is that there are better players available than Tuohy, Byrne, Conroy, McKaigue, Begley and O'Rourke.  None of them would be the best players available in the position they played during the international rules.  Why should signing a 2 year deal with Carlton or any Aussie rules team suddenly make you an ideal candidate to play for Ireland?

Quote from: nrico2006 on October 29, 2013, 10:28:31 AM

Never raved about Kilkenny at all.  My point is that there are better players available than Tuohy, Byrne, Conroy, McKaigue, Begley and O'Rourke.  None of them would be the best players available in the position they played during the international rules.  Why should signing a 2 year deal with Carlton or any Aussie rules team suddenly make you an ideal candidate to play for Ireland?

I remember you said he should be nailed on for centre forward or something along those lines ahead of Cooper
Those players are picked because they are suited for the game and have experience playing IR. Tuohy was Irelands best player in Breffni Park. Conroy is a quality footballer, maybe not in your eyes.

Byrne gave a master class against Kildare in Newbridge in the qualifiers, maybe that's what the selectors liked

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 29, 2013, 10:33:30 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 29, 2013, 10:28:31 AM

I remember you said he should be nailed on for centre forward or something along those lines ahead of Cooper
Those players are picked because they are suited for the game and have experience playing IR. Tuohy was Irelands best player in Breffni Park. Conroy is a quality footballer, maybe not in your eyes.

Byrne gave a master class against Kildare in Newbridge in the qualifiers, maybe that's what the selectors liked

Never said anything regarding Kilkenny getting an all star, if I did it was probably along the lines that I didn;t think he should get one.  Fair enough if Byrne played a decent game in the qualifiers, in my view his selection is more to do with him going to play Aussie rules more than anything else.  All the players I have mentioned are good footballers, the point I am trying to get across is that they would not be the best players in the position they played and the team fielded by Ireland wasn't the strongest team they could have put out.