Ireland v Australia, Rules Test 1, Breffni Park, Saturday 19 October 2013

Started by BennyCake, October 02, 2013, 10:15:01 PM

Quote from: BennyHarp on October 22, 2013, 12:38:06 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 22, 2013, 11:17:32 AM
Geraghty wasn't on the squad in 2010 was awre, anyways it was in Limerick and Australia won im aware of all that yep,

Rodney - I've completely lost the run of what you are talking about? The Geraghty incident was in 2006 when Ireland won the first test in Galway, yet you are talking about the 2010 test in Limerick when Geraghty wasn't even on the squad as if it had some baring on what happened in 2006 in Croke Park.

You posted that Australia won the test in Galway 2006 before the Croke Park game that led to the Geraghty incident, yet when it is pointed out they lost you say, yes i know they won in Limerick, as if that was the game we were referencing.  :o

Fair play to you - you've managed to (Joe) mangle my head with utter nonsense. (I'm quite proud of my aussie pun there, by the way.  ;D)

Yeah I'm aware he wasn't in the Squad in 2010, I was trying to say tongue in cheek that Australia beat Ireland in 2010,.. when you asked did they beat Ireland in Galway.. that's what I was referring too,  the 2010 test was in Limerick so yes I was wrong.

Anyways,  2006 was the last year of the fighting , nothing recent. No players getting floored like Geraghty

cavanmaniac

Quote from: Jinxy on October 22, 2013, 10:18:14 AM
Soccer players are stronger than tennis players.
Gaelic footballers are stronger than soccer players.
Aussie rules players are stronger than gaelic footballers.
Rugby players are stronger than aussie rules players.
etc.
There's no need to feel inferior because the physical demands of gaelic football are different to the physical demands of aussie rules.

+1.

Some people's sense of manliness and Irish pride is being offended by suggestions we're a bit behind the Aussies in the contact end but with the exception of a few players (most notably McGeeney although yes, a few others too) I never had any other feeling watching any test, bar the last few, that if the Aussies had their bigger lads on board and took the notion they could take our lads apart at will. A couple of times, they did. AFAIR, McGeeney was the only one who ever came off best in one of those all too frequent roll-around-the turf grappling shemozzles we used to see all the time.

I feel no sense of shame saying that; it's not as if we're comparing like for like anyway. If we were the series wouldn't have had to be anaesthetised in the first place.

STREET FIGHTER

From memoryDerry's SM Lockhart also had the ability to 'look after' himself.

pat spillane used to say it best, just sent out McGilligan to clock the opposition, the aussies never wanted to both with him, werent too fussed dealing with the grimleys back round 1990 either, they are plenty of gaelic footballers who can look after themselves, but they are footballers not boxers. If the macho Aussies were so great at boxing, they have a decent heavyweight, or decent fighters at any level in real boxing giving the population, Ireland produce plenty of quality boxers, just never had  a serious heavy weight puglist. Any time i see Ireland play the aussies in rugby am convinced our team would kick the shit out of them if it came down to it

plus its not hard to take a man apart if u holding him down and hitting him unawares, or from behind which is a typical aussie cheapshot in a melee, thats tr**p johnston i think his name was, hit 3 or 4 irish lads, one of which was only looking at him, that aint a fighter that's a f**king coward

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 23, 2013, 08:09:15 PM
plus its not hard to take a man apart if u holding him down and hitting him unawares, or from behind which is a typical aussie cheapshot in a melee, thats tr**p johnston i think his name was, hit 3 or 4 irish lads, one of which was only looking at him, that aint a fighter that's a f**king coward

This looks like it should be in the I hate the international rules thread!  :D

samwin08

and so we come to the Final   game . The media have done their best to  tell us all how good the 2nd test will be , the physical stakes are supposed to be raised, the junket men have had their say, the players have talked it up  (to ensure future trips). Facts are the GAA grass roots have no interest, and where it not for an expensive marketing campaign aimed at kids ( and when Joey / Molly wants to go, Da and Ma will ensure he/she gets there) and the corporate market ( remember Celebrity apprentice) few would have attended Breffni and don't forget the free patriotic flags provided to ensure  " rent a mob " looked really patriotic.
On a more serious side, Donegal and other counties have come in for unwarranted  severe criticism  over clash of fixtures. The real culprit here is Paul Earley  who should of announced his captain months before hand  and then perhaps  Donegal and others would have had time to re arrange their schedule. I think its time Paul held his hands up and said "I got this one wrong, It was really me who disrespected Michael Murphy, Donegal GAA and clubs fixtures through out the country".

Quote from: samwin08 on October 25, 2013, 11:17:39 AM
and so we come to the Final   game . The media have done their best to  tell us all how good the 2nd test will be , the physical stakes are supposed to be raised, the junket men have had their say, the players have talked it up  (to ensure future trips). Facts are the GAA grass roots have no interest, and where it not for an expensive marketing campaign aimed at kids ( and when Joey / Molly wants to go, Da and Ma will ensure he/she gets there) and the corporate market ( remember Celebrity apprentice) few would have attended Breffni and don't forget the free patriotic flags provided to ensure  " rent a mob " looked really patriotic.
On a more serious side, Donegal and other counties have come in for unwarranted  severe criticism  over clash of fixtures. The real culprit here is Paul Earley  who should of announced his captain months before hand  and then perhaps  Donegal and others would have had time to re arrange their schedule. I think its time Paul held his hands up and said "I got this one wrong, It was really me who disrespected Michael Murphy, Donegal GAA and clubs fixtures through out the country".

Oh ffs, the problem is not Paul Earley!!
Aidan O'Shea is not the captain and he has pulled out because his club, Breaffy, are in the Mayo Co Final on Sunday.
The problem is with the fixtures planners who just shove the Int'l Rules series in after the All-Ireland, knowing full well that is when county finals are played in the vast majority of counties. When that is done, there will always be a clash and players will be left in the very unfair situation of having to make a decision on which to play.

Schkite

There's no reason to believe this will be much tighter than the 1st test is there? Paddy power have the handicap for Ireland at -9.5, that looks pretty good to me.

Quote from: samwin08 on October 25, 2013, 11:17:39 AM

There's a separate thread for the whingers and killjoys.
You should post this rant/whinge there.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Take out the whinging and this thread is about two pages long.