2013 All Ireland Final: Mayo v Dublin

Started by All of a Sludden, August 26, 2013, 10:16:35 AM

FFS Mayo lads get this in perspective. You were beaten in an AI final, a good team doesn't become bad over night. You won the minor and have a few handy players coming through. As an Armagh supporter I've walked in you shoes quite a bit either side of '02 and I'll teel you what I'd swap places with you right now.

Quote from: INDIANA on September 24, 2013, 07:28:05 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 24, 2013, 12:55:46 AM
Quote from: Sam2011 on September 24, 2013, 12:04:51 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 23, 2013, 11:41:40 PM
Think i said on here with 15mins to go that A O`Shea should have went to full forward with Barry Moran coming into the middle along side S O`Shea, as Mayo were playing alot of long high balls at that stage, The biggest mystery for Mayo is why Seamus O`Shea was took off, he was the best of the 4 midfielders on show yesterday

Aidan was thrown in full forward for the last 10mins in last years final and we got no return out of it. So that argument is utterly pointless. At that stage in the game Dublin had men behind the ball and were hauling all Mayo men down around them.

Agree. We needed to be in a position to do the hauling down with a bit to go. I wouldn t mind but we had enough about us in the first half to take control of the game. Starting the 2nd half so flat was critical. Look, we saw it last year. Chasing a game against a top team in an AI final is not something we re good at. We need to dictate things. Tyrone game set alarm bells ringing for me. Taken out of our zone we are vulnerable. Management have to take a bit of flak for this. I could be completely wrong here, but it appears to me that management hope/expect/ trust players to find their way out of situations - like say the Tyrone semi. OK they did find a way, and I think Horan used that expression in postmatch interview.

Fair enough, he s the coach/boss and that s his philosophy and I m sure a lot he says to media is not 'talk turkey'. 'learning from mistakes' is another soundbite that Horan uses. Again, sound way to go about things. But as I ve said already endemic flaws probably lost us another AI.

Sometimes players need to be told what to do and not do,and not repeat bad habits ad nauseum. Players often like to have their role defined in simple terms.

Its more down to Mayo missing the 3/4 players needed to to get the job done. I don't think anyone could say they didn't expend every effort trying to win. They have 10/11 of the starting 15 there its adding the few extras that will be the difference.

I also think Horan is starting to make a tit of himself in the cynical fouling stakes. Its startingt to look like sour grapes now. If Mayo hadn't indulged in the same carry on last year he'd have a point. But because they did he has no point.

That bullshit to be blunt Indiana. Jim Gavin was the manager that made a tit of himself and came across as a very poor winner complaining about having to play against 16 men etc. McQuillan didn't favour either team to any noticeable extent.
And Gavin preached about how there was no cynicism in his team and he would step back from his job if any of his players resorted to that type of play. They did resort to that type of play, and I have absolutely no complaint about that, but he should be man enough to admit it.
Instead he tried to brush it off as 'frustration'.

criostlinn

QuoteJAMES HORAN HAS revealed his amazement at Dublin manager Jim Gavin's assertion that 'not only were we playing Mayo, we were playing the referee' in Sunday's All-Ireland final.
Gavin made the comment in the aftermath of the game as he felt aggrieved by the free count of 32-12 against his side.
Yet Horan responded yesterday and referred to Gavin's comments at a press event before the final when the Dublin manager had stated, 'I would be loathe to think that if anyone said this Dublin team is cynical, you know, I'd take a step back if that was the case'.
"I find that amazing," revealed Horan at the Citywest Hotel yesterday. "I find that absolutely amazing if that was the comment.
"I know Jim made another interesting comment, that he'd walk away if his team were cynical so maybe that's another comment Jim should look at.
"What was the free count? And what were Dublin saying after the semi-final last year, were they shouting up and down about it?
"Sure look it, fair play to Jim and fair play to Dublin, they won the game and they deserved to win it."
At Dublin's team base yesterday morning at the Gibson Hotel, Gavin expanded on the comments he made on Sunday and insisted that he only raised the issue from the position of strength as All-Ireland champions.
He also expressed his belief that two referees should be introduced for games in the GAA.
"In defeat it's not the place to be saying it so we were never going to bring it up before this unless we were in a position where we could mention it.
"I still think we should have two referees on the pitch. When you see the quality of Cormac Reilly there on the sideline, why shouldn't he be able to referee as well.
"We've got such quality referees, to leave one man in there on his own, it's a big ask on anybody, especially with the way the game is gone so fast and furious.

This is the article about what Horan said. Now have a read INDIANA and honestly come back and say who is making a tit of themselves

Think i said on here with 15mins to go that A O`Shea should have went to full forward with Barry Moran coming into the middle along side S O`Shea, as Mayo were playing alot of long high balls at that stage, The biggest mystery for Mayo is why Seamus O`Shea was took off, he was the best of the 4 midfielders on show yesterday

Aidan was thrown in full forward for the last 10mins in last years final and we got no return out of it. So that argument is utterly pointless. At that stage in the game Dublin had men behind the ball and were hauling all Mayo men down around them.

Agree. We needed to be in a position to do the hauling down with a bit to go. I wouldn t mind but we had enough about us in the first half to take control of the game. Starting the 2nd half so flat was critical. Look, we saw it last year. Chasing a game against a top team in an AI final is not something we re good at. We need to dictate things. Tyrone game set alarm bells ringing for me. Taken out of our zone we are vulnerable. Management have to take a bit of flak for this. I could be completely wrong here, but it appears to me that management hope/expect/ trust players to find their way out of situations - like say the Tyrone semi. OK they did find a way, and I think Horan used that expression in postmatch interview.

Fair enough, he s the coach/boss and that s his philosophy and I m sure a lot he says to media is not 'talk turkey'. 'learning from mistakes' is another soundbite that Horan uses. Again, sound way to go about things. But as I ve said already endemic flaws probably lost us another AI.

Sometimes players need to be told what to do and not do,and not repeat bad habits ad nauseum. Players often like to have their role defined in simple terms.

Its more down to Mayo missing the 3/4 players needed to to get the job done. I don't think anyone could say they didn't expend every effort trying to win. They have 10/11 of the starting 15 there its adding the few extras that will be the difference.

I also think Horan is starting to make a tit of himself in the cynical fouling stakes. Its startingt to look like sour grapes now. If Mayo hadn't indulged in the same carry on last year he'd have a point. But because they did he has no point.

I hope to Christ that Horan is saying damn all. I heard nothing but then again I m not exactly looking for stuff about the game.

As regards the 3/4 players I dunno. I thought the difference between the teams was more tactical than quality. Mayo had some stand out individual performances and a couple of lads that had disappointing games have been stand out players for us in the past. Freeman was ill. If I was picking an All-Stars team it would be as close as 6-5 to the dubs. Maybe even 6-6.

On the other hand a few of the younger Dublin guns who looked so good in previous games did not stand out. Cunniffe seemed to be well able for Mannion before both got injured. McCaffrey and Kilkenny had little impact.

I d be happy enough with our panel. Just freshen it up with some new blood. We don't have a Gooch or a Bernard Brogan I admit.

Unless there are some other quotes, I can't see to much wrong with what Horan said, but he'd be better off staying quiet and not doing anything to rescue Gavin.

prewtna

to be honest, i think we are all looking too much into the tactics of sunday. if we had taken the chances we got in the first half (like we were doing all year), then we would have been out the gate at half time. eg higgins hawkeye point, mclough wide, cillian missed free etc - at 4-1 up we should have been 7-1 up and we should have driven on. dublin hadn't settled, brogan wasnt in it, we were doing reasonably well on the dublin kickouts and it felt like it was one way traffic (more or less). we didnt make our period of dominance pay.

we should have won the game in that first 20 minutes when the opportunity was there. conversely, dublin missed at least 3 goal chances after that, and dropped maybe 3 shots short into hennellys hands over the course of the game. both teams stumbled on sunday, mayo just stumbled a bit more.

to an extent i agree with Horan when he talked about the basics letting us down (refer missed points as above), bad handpassing, some poor kick passing. as he said if these 'stick', you get the scores and tactics dont really come into it. is he deflecting from himself when he talks about this? maybe he is, but he does have a point.

we can torture ourselves by over-analysing this or we can accept the fact that on a day when neither team played to the maximum extent of their abilities, dublin played slightly better. thats whats going to get me through the winter.

Quote from: moysider on September 24, 2013, 09:48:20 AM

I hope to Christ that Horan is saying damn all. I heard nothing but then again I m not exactly looking for stuff about the game.

As regards the 3/4 players I dunno. I thought the difference between the teams was more tactical than quality. Mayo had some stand out individual performances and a couple of lads that had disappointing games have been stand out players for us in the past. Freeman was ill. If I was picking an All-Stars team it would be as close as 6-5 to the dubs. Maybe even 6-6.

On the other hand a few of the younger Dublin guns who looked so good in previous games did not stand out. Cunniffe seemed to be well able for Mannion before both got injured. McCaffrey and Kilkenny had little impact.

I d be happy enough with our panel. Just freshen it up with some new blood. We don't have a Gooch or a Bernard Brogan I admit.

But you wouldn't have a forward in the all stars in my view. If you had ciaran mc Donald last Sunday you may well have won.

Quote from: INDIANA on September 24, 2013, 10:33:18 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 24, 2013, 09:48:20 AM

But you wouldn't have a forward in the all stars in my view. If you had ciaran mc Donald last Sunday you may well have won.

True I suppose, but of the Dublin forwards I d only be taking your hand off for Bernard Brogan. Our lot had a miserable time of it mostly alright but still a bit of quality about them if they were right.

Cillian - busted shoulder.
Andy - amazing he made it back so soon and doing well to be as good as he is.
McLoughlin - miserable form all year but possibly our best player previous 2 years.
Dillon - long term injury has taken its toll. Might still have a future if he gets it sorted. Will be approaching 32 next summer though.
Freeman - was starting to fire again and AI illness was unlucky.

I reckon the above will be there or thereabouts again next year. hopefully 1 or 2 newbies will emerge. I see Higgins future in hb line. I think Higgins, Keegan, Boyle should have been our hb line this year.

BartSimpson

Few of our stars in the forward lines didn't contibute a lot either, Kilkenny and Andrews and Connolly and Mannion, were either below par, or just awful. If any of these had of been up to their usual standards it couldv've been curtins earlier.
guwan the parish

Lone Shark

Quote from: Hound on September 23, 2013, 09:03:10 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on September 23, 2013, 07:50:52 PM
This is why I mentioned grey area. If COC asked how long was left and the ref said thirty seconds, he should have just thrown in "30 secs after the kickout is taken, yeah?" Then be seen to scream around to everyone that there's thirty seconds from when the ball lands. That would leave the ref with no option. If he didn't do that, then that just wasn't sharp - though someone with more experience should have known to do the same.

That was part of the reason why I was so livid in 2002. Colm Quinn asked Paddy Russell "Is there time for us to get another score if I kick this one over?" I remember Quinn shaped up to take the kick and Ciarán McManus dashed in to ask Russell as well, and Russell confirmed that he was going to play on after the kickout - then blew up as the ball was in the air.
Don't see how you could expect a ref to answer how long will be left after a certain event happens, because he doesnt know how long its going to take.
"There's 30 seconds left now, there'll be 15 seconds left after 15 seconds, and after another 15 seconds time will be up" is all he can really say.

You'd have to think that if COC had looked up and saw a countdown clock going 32 .... 31 .... 30...... 29 that he would have went for goal. Why he thought the ref's clock was stopped at 30 and would only start again when Cluxton kicked it out, only he can answer, but that's not the way it works. The clock keeps ticking unless there's an injury or deliberate timewasting.

That's why I'm saying that you ask about after the kickout. If the ref says thirty seconds from the time the ball is kicked over the bar, then it's obvious that the game will be over - he's essentially saying not to go for a point. Most refs would refer to after the kickout however, since otherwise the goalie will just take forever. 

QuoteJoe McQuillan says he told Cillian O'Connor "there's 30 seconds left" as the Mayo player squared up to that late, late free.

O'Connor popped the ball over the bar at the Hill 16 end of Croke Park deep into added time at the end of Sunday's All-Ireland final but the Connacht champions were left irate when the Cavan official blew his final whistle as soon as Stephen Cluxton took his kick-out.

But the four minutes of injury time were clearly up and McQuillan insists he couldn't have been clearer in his instructions to O'Connor:

"There was absolutely no suggestion that it would be after the kick-out or anything like that," he told The Irish Independent. "I simply said 'there's 30 seconds left' and that was from the moment he asked me.

"I said it three times, I'm sure plenty of players heard me and I was on an open mic to all my match officials, including Dickie Murphy who was the overseer on Hawk-Eye, so all of those can confirm what I said.

"Immediately after the game, some Mayo players said to me that 'you said there was going to be another play', but I never said that because there is no such thing as that.

"I can't tell a player to go for goal or anything like that, I can only tell him how much time was left and that is exactly what I did.

"If the ball had gone out for a '45', I would have had to allow that to be played, but otherwise there was 30 seconds left on the clock.

"The player took some time to take the free and when I blew the final whistle there was 74 minutes and 39 seconds on my stopwatch."

If he had time to tell him 3 times that there were 30 seconds left then it was COCs fault.  Pretty clear and unambiguous from McQuillan.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 24, 2013, 11:56:27 AM
QuoteJoe McQuillan says he told Cillian O'Connor "there's 30 seconds left" as the Mayo player squared up to that late, late free.

O'Connor popped the ball over the bar at the Hill 16 end of Croke Park deep into added time at the end of Sunday's All-Ireland final but the Connacht champions were left irate when the Cavan official blew his final whistle as soon as Stephen Cluxton took his kick-out.

But the four minutes of injury time were clearly up and McQuillan insists he couldn't have been clearer in his instructions to O'Connor:

"There was absolutely no suggestion that it would be after the kick-out or anything like that," he told The Irish Independent. "I simply said 'there's 30 seconds left' and that was from the moment he asked me.

"I said it three times, I'm sure plenty of players heard me and I was on an open mic to all my match officials, including Dickie Murphy who was the overseer on Hawk-Eye, so all of those can confirm what I said.

"Immediately after the game, some Mayo players said to me that 'you said there was going to be another play', but I never said that because there is no such thing as that.

"I can't tell a player to go for goal or anything like that, I can only tell him how much time was left and that is exactly what I did.

"If the ball had gone out for a '45', I would have had to allow that to be played, but otherwise there was 30 seconds left on the clock.

"The player took some time to take the free and when I blew the final whistle there was 74 minutes and 39 seconds on my stopwatch."

If he had time to tell him 3 times that there were 30 seconds left then it was COCs fault.  Pretty clear and unambiguous from McQuillan.

Yes but he should have said: "there are 30 seconds left.....there are 27 seconds left.....there are 24 seconds left....."

Not: "there are 30 seconds left.....there are 30 seconds left........there are 30 seconds left....".

Not that it made much difference anyway.

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 24, 2013
Football in Mayo is alive and well.

If a team loses an evenly-matched game by a point, there's no great mystery in it. The reality of the 2013 Final is that if Mayo caught or broke the next kickout after Cillian O'Connor kicked the final point of the game, thirty seconds would have been an age to either kick the equaliser or engineer a free. That's all that Mayo lost by. A hop of a ball. Nothing else.

Would that have been fair on Dublin? No. It wouldn't. Dublin were the better team over the seventy minutes and deserved their second All-Ireland in three years. Mayo got off to a flyer but didn't score commensurate with their dominance. A very bad goal to give away brought Dublin back, and then Dublin had the upper hand for the rest of the game without ever really putting Mayo away. If Mayo had caught that last kickout, today's narrative would be about how this is a different Mayo team and about Dublin's failure to close it out against Mayo's worst display of the year.

But that's not what happened. Mayo didn't field the final kickout and that was the end of them. Things could very easily have gone differently, and although Dublin deserved to win, that doesn't mean that Mayo couldn't have snatched a draw. Think of the events of 1996, when the shoe was on the other foot.

But this is only your correspondent's opinion, of course. A quick flick through yesterday's papers suggests a different analysis.

I have always, and will always, maintain [sic] that a team will not win an All-Ireland without a marquee forward.
Eoin "The Bomber" Liston, Irish Independent.

But whereas last week I said to myself that if Mayo lost this final it would be a massive setback because they were so good and well prepared, I now feel that they are certainly capable of going further – but not unless they can unearth a forward or two that could be ranked in the top 10 [sic] in the country.
Eugene McGee, Irish Independent.

Interesting, isn't it? McGee isn't always noted for his sympathy to Mayo, but the old buster is the only man for whom the penny has dropped about just how tantalisingly close Mayo were yesterday. Closer than even McGee himself realises.

McGee and the Bomber an the rest trot out this same old stuff about Mayo's lack of quality forwards every year, each man going to stable to take out the same old hobbyhorses for a gallop around the paddock. These are the same people – well, except McGee; he's always been very careful of letting Mayo support get big-headed – who've been telling us all summer long this is the new-model-Mayo, completely different from the one that went before. One game later, and it turns out to be same-old-Mayo all along.

But they can't have it both ways. They can't say that Alan Dillon has been the one shining light upfront for Mayo in ten years and then turn around and say Alan Dillon never had it. Alan Dillon just isn't big time.

They can't say that Mayo were crippled last year by the loss of Andy Moran and then say well, you know, Andy Moran has never been a top-ten forward.

The greatest mystery of all is that of Cillian O'Connor. Cillian O'Connor has racked up 6-22, an average of eight points a game to make him the top scorer in this year's Championship, and then turn around and say that Mayo don't have one marquee forward. If the top-scorer of the Championship isn't a marquee forward, who in God's holy name is?

The argument, insofar as an argument exists, is that many of O'Connor's scores were put up against children of a lesser god; that is to say, that they were scored in the Connacht Championship.

You don't see anyone holding their noses when James O'Donoghue scores 1-3 against mighty Tipperary or when Cork's Daniel Goulding pops five points past hapless Limerick. Tipp and Limerick? Titans of football. Galway and Roscommon? Bums and makeweights. As for why O'Connor's 3-4 against the All-Ireland Champions themselves doesn't count, your correspondent really doesn't know.

But it seems that football pundits just don't care. When it comes to Mayo they are only interested in taking the hobbyhorse over the jumps rather than looking at what's just happened.

If the Mayo full-forward line yesterday wore any jersey other than the green above the red, they would have been given the benefit of the doubt. People are second-guessing James Horan on his substitution of Alan Freeman, but look at the choice he had picking his team during the week.

Horan knows that there are issues with the form of the wing forwards, that Keith Higgins is marking a man who doesn't need marking because he doesn't attack and that Andy Moran and Cillian O'Connor are both walking wounded.

All of that is bad enough, but then the one man who is in form becomes ill during the week and there's now a question mark over all six of the Mayo forwards. Every blessed one of them.

What could Horan do? He did the only thing he could. He danced with the ones who brung him, and hoped for the best. Is he given any credit for it? Does anybody say it's a medical miracle that Cillian O'Connor played at all? Does anyone say that you can't start a totally new inside line in the All-Ireland final of all games? That not even Kerry could do that?

No they don't. Same old Mayo, they say. If Lee Harvey Oswald had been a Mayoman, JFK would be alive today. Ho ho ho. Giddy-up there, hobbyhorse.

Fair enough. It's all only paper talk, after all. Perhaps the real proof of the pudding was in McHale Park last night, where eight thousand turned up to see the minors and seniors come home. That's what football means in the County Mayo.

People are saying that Mayo will never come back from this. We all believe what we must but reader, if you are from outside Mayo think on this; any team with the two O'Sheas starting in midfield will have a fifty-fifty chance in every single game it plays, and the O'Sheas have a good few years in them yet. Mayo go away? Dream on. Mayo are only starting out.

FOCAL SCOIR: Best of luck to Dublin manager Jim Gavin in his attempt to become the fourth member of the Après Match team with his post-match comments about the referee on Sunday. This sort of zaniness is just what tickles the Irish funny bone. Roll on Brazil '14!

POSTED BY AN SPAILPÍN AT 9:00 AM

Quote from: BartSimpson on September 24, 2013, 11:10:04 AM
Few of our stars in the forward lines didn't contibute a lot either, Kilkenny and Andrews and Connolly and Mannion, were either below par, or just awful. If any of these had of been up to their usual standards it couldv've been curtins earlier.

Christ that s smug.
Nah. The lads you mentioned were in rude good health but just didn t perform because they were not let. Forget about the hype. Mayo forwards are not as bad as mentioned in dispatches and Dublin s not as good. Dublin s forwards were handled well by the Mayo defenders. End of. That is why they looked below par. And Mayo defenders managed to do this 1 on 1. There was no blanket defense - not even a sweeper. This was not an ultra defensive side they were playing. That needs to be factored in when considering the overall brilliance of the Dublin forwards.

Congrats to Dublin, better team on the day.

I'm still gutted, can only imagine how the players & management are feeling.

Have just watched the match over again and this is one we really could have won.

It was lost on the back of some bad misses - handy free missed by COC, miss from 20 yards from McLoughlin -, the dublin kickouts - we never seemed to be alive to this, credit to Cluxton & Dublin for this - and that little bit of luck that's needed to win the all ireland - MDMAs 45 that wasn't, Cluxton flapped at a long ball in but there was no Mayoman there to take advantage.

Roll on 2014